We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put this on your "must do" list while on the Crystal Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Grille

Island Grille
401 Money Island Dr, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
252-240-0000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Eastern Shore of Virginia, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Put this on your "must do" list while on the Crystal Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Mondays and Tuesdays are BOGO meal free nights. They are a bit pricey so try to go one of these two nights if you can. In any case, they are definately worth it! we both had the swordfish with yukon mashed potatoes and squash and topped it off with their homemade spice cake. This is a five star restaurant from the service to the presentation of food and of course the meal was fabulous. i suggest making reservations because the place is quite small.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    64
    29
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I wish I could give a higher rating, but only the food is wonderful. I tried swordfish, which I didn't think I liked, and loved it. It was blackened and served with gorgonzola sauce and green apple relish. Lovely combination! My friend thought here flounder was delicious. Food is great, but the restaurant is very small and very crowded. Nice servers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Monday/Tuesday Bargain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Two for one offers on Mondays and Tuesdays are a real bargain. Food is excellent with a nice presentation. Wait staff are friendly and efficient. A lively and inviting restaurant. Highly recommended on any day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Monday and Tuesday night deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a small bar-like space. It is expensive but great cooking. I particularly like the way the match sea food with fruits and vegetables. They also have a good selection of affordable wines that compliment their creations. Monday and Tuesday nights you get a second entree for free. The two-for-one dinner deal makes the restaurant a little expensive but affordable for special occasions.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a very small restaurant with great ocean views. We went on a weeknight and there were three other tables occupied. The waitress, Megan, was friendly and attentive. I had crab cakes and my husband had shrimp and grits. Both were very good. They have a good selection of craft beer. We also had chocolate torte for dessert and it was very rich and decadent. Overall, this was a great experience. I can imagine this place is quite crowded in the summer, but worth the wait.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Grille also viewed

Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Island Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.