We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Grille

Island Grille
401 Money Island Dr, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
252-240-0000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
fearrington village, n.c.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Memorable Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have been disappointed the last two years with six different seafood restaurants in Beaufort, Morehead City area but the Island Grill is outstanding, far and away our favorite. The shrimp and scallops grits was worth the trip alone. All of our fellow diners had high praise for their own choices. We will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    63
    29
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Go for the hamburgers and a fantastic selection of microbrews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Went here last Friday as reviews on Yelp looked good.
Sat down and opened menu and both my son in law and I saw beers by the bottle that we have never even heard of or didn't think that a restaurant would have the beer.
What a pleasant surprise and how good they were.
On top of that they have a hamburger that was the best one we have ever had. Ground rib eye and steak topped with smaked Goda chesse and borbon soaked onions plus bacon. We have eaten all over the world and the best burger ever. Yes is $18 but you will not regret spending the money.
We also ordered the shrimp,scallops and grits. The seafood especially the scallops were outstanding but the grits were very flat with hardly any taste. Very unfoutunate.
Any way stay with the burgers and the beer,

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“incredible hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Small, intimate restaurant. Great menu items -- unusual but delicious entrees. Tues. is buy one get one free (incredible!). Can see the ocean from the restaurant. Never disappointed here.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Atlantic Beach Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Ok it is what it is... A small boutique restaraunt with a great menu and food and so-so service. The wait staff is ill prepared to cater to a full restaruant+ bar, I don't know if the slow service is meant to add to the experience or not. Overall it is an unassuming little corner beach restaraunt with good food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordonsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We went on a Tuesday at 5 - make reservations - Buy one get one free night is Monday and Tuesday - but still be prepared to drop some $$ - The food is amazing - loved the tuna!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Grille also viewed

Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Island Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.