We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1000% Satisfied Repeat Customer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sand Dollar Motel

The Sand Dollar Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sand Dollar Motel
101 Henderson Blvd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Atlantic Beach
Farmville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“1000% Satisfied Repeat Customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you're looking for a great place to stay at a very, very reasonable price, then stay here! The Sand Dollar Motel is one of those "gems" you find and once you find it, you'll be coming back again and again. Sam told me he and his wife Trish have owned this place for about 10 yrs. and you can tell they really take pride in their motel. I just love the way they've fixed up the rooms and you won't find anywhere cleaner than here. It's not "The Hilton" by any means, and if that's what you're expecting, then get ready to shell out $200+/night and mosey on down the road. But I can tell you this....If you're looking for a clean, comfortable room to stay in while you're at the beach, that won't break the bank, then give Sam a call. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you some much positive review. We appreciate your loyalty by always staying with us when you come to the beach. It makes us feel good when our guest are satisfied, that is our goal!
Look forward to see you again.
Thank you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    8
    2
    4
    5
See reviews for
23
18
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just got home from Atlantic Beach, NC. Owners - Trish and Sam - are the best. It is always nice to be able to ask for information about restaurants, fishing etc. and get an answer that you can depend on. This motel is immaculate - can't wait to return. This is the place I would love to runaway to!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review.
I glad the you got to do some golfing and shopping.
We really enjoyed having you and the Adkins stay with us.
It was a really pleasure meeting you both.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here this past weekend with my boyfriend. We were thoroughly pleased. No complaints. Everything was smooth upon check in. Tricia even stopped by once during our 3 night stay to see if we needed more towels. It's SUPER affordable and while it is not the ritz you are not paying ritz price. Better than what we expected. And like every reviewer mentioned, this place is clean clean clean! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review. So glad that you had a nice time.
Your are right we are not the Ritz but we are clean and try very hard to please our guest.
Hope to see you soon again!
Thanks for staying with us.
Tricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at the Sand Dollar in Atlantic Beach for the weekend, and were pleasantly surprised at what a great place it is. The owners were friendly, and very accommodating. We stayed in room #7, and it was a clean and cozy place.The room was nicely decorated. The beds were comfortable, loved the ceiling fan, and remote controlled A/C. The motel has cable TV, nice to be able to restart shows we missed while out during the day. I thought the beds were comfortable, loved the tile shower and the peace and quiet at the motel. We were very impressed and plan to return to the Sand Dollar again soon. Thanks for a great stay !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks you so much for the VERY nice review. We will appreciate it.
We are so glad that you had a nice stay. That is always our goal with all our guest.
With the stress of daily life we want everyone that stays one us to have a relaxing vacation.

We hope to see you again soon.
Thanks again.
Tricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I came down from NH on local business for a couple of days in mid September and the area
was great, a bit mellow this time of year but the hotel is fine. A short walk to the beach, local
amenities, food, bars, etc, all a short drive away(try Jack's in Beaufort)! The accommodations
are simple but clean and affordable, that's the whole point. The Liptrap's are fine hosts and
for those of you who fish, you came to the right place, bring a boat you can launch at the
Marina across the street.....

Room Tip: They're all pretty much the same from what I could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for the nice review and for choosing us to stay with during your visit.
We enjoyed our conversations with you!
We hope you will come back to stay with us.
Thanks again and Sept is a great time to visit !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stay a the Sand Dollar at least one a year, and we're never disappointed! The rooms are clean, the owners are lovely people who are always there to help, the rates are reasonable, and it's close to the beach! Atlantic Beach is just a real gem; the atmosphere is very relaxed, and we always feel at home. In fact, if I could pick anywhere else in the world to be right at this very moment, it would probably be the Sand Dollar. It really is my home away from home!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for the nice review.
We as always enjoyed having you stay with us and being a loyal guest.
Our goal is to always give our guest a clean affordable place to stay.
Thanks so much for staying with us, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I have stayed here for a number of years now. Sometimes just my girls and I go, sometimes one of them brings a friend. My niece came and joined us part way through the week another year. I have never had a single regret about coming here, other than having to leave to head home! This year, we had our meals all planned out and midway through shopping for our groceries, we changed one meal out for another. I didn't even consider that I needed a bit of flour to make the new dish, and didn't buy any. We figured it out on the day we were making the dish, and asked Patricia if we could have 2 tablespoons of flour... she was so kind and brought back a bowl of flour! Where else are you going to find such hospitality? (She's even offered to have more flour for us next year!!) This is one of the few places that used to line this road, but I'm so glad they are still around, and we look forward to visiting them for many more years to come. We are always treated well and enjoy conversation each day as we see the owners taking care of the place. Checkout day is the only day I have ever not liked there! :)
Always plenty of fresh towels, kitchen is well-stocked, parking is great, and location is fantastic. But the owners make it all that it is and we come back for them as much as the place.
Hope to be back in 2013!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for being such a loyal guest.
We always enjoy you and the family. I love talking to our guest and getting to know them.
They become family.
I could not let the girls go without their Mom's mac and cheese!!!!
Hope to see you next year, at you home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sand Dollar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sand Dollar Motel

Address: 101 Henderson Blvd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sand Dollar Motel is a small family owned motel.We are on the beach side with a short walk to the beach.Quiet and safe area. Mile and half to main intersection of Atlantic Beach. We have regular rooms with 1 or 2 double beds.All rooms have a small fridge and coffee maker. We also have apartments with full kitchens, separate bedroom. Great for families. We try our very best to make our guest comfortable and enjoy their stay with us. We have clean and affordable rooms with a family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sand Dollar Hotel Atlantic Beach
Sand Dollar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sand Dollar Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Sand Dollar Motel to your Saves list