We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toast of the Coast Promotion Delivered Great Eats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amos Mosquito's Restaurant and Bar

Amos Mosquito's Restaurant and Bar
703 East Fort Macon Roadaa, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
252 247-6222
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Welcome to Amos Mosquito’s Restaurant & Bar – or more affectionately known by locals as “Skeeter’s”. Established in 1999, Amos Mosquito’s offers a family friendly environment with a menu of fresh seafood and a wide variety of creative entrees. While in our first location on the Morehead City Waterfront, and here in our present location on Atlantic Beach overlooking beautiful Bogue Sound, we’ve had one primary goal in mind – to create the most unique, fun, and high quality dining experience that can be found in Eastern North Carolina. We have a seasoned staff of chefs, servers, and hosts who are passionate about making customers happy. Although we specialize in local seafood and offer at least two varieties of fresh fish every night, our menu also features chicken, pork and Sterling Silver beef.We make all our salad dressings, sauces and desserts in house and have a great children’s menu loaded with fun games and mosquito facts.Thursday nights are sushi nights at Amos Mosquito’s. We offer a full menu of fresh, made to order sushi in addition to our regular menu.Amos has a full bar and a wonderful, reasonably priced wine list.Reservations are not accepted, but you may call us to place an order for take out.
Nags Head, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Toast of the Coast Promotion Delivered Great Eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

While attending the NC Seafood Festival, we asked a few locals we came across a good place to eat. Three different people recommended Amos Mosquito's. We knew there'd be a wait on a Saturday night. Got a drink from the bar and sat down to wait. Great Mojito. Nice people. Took first available seating in the bar, which was fine. Knowledgeable server - Junior. Special Restaurant Week promo of Toast of the Coast which meant 3 courses for $25. And they were all great. Soup, shrimp & grits & chocolate torte for me; salad, crab cakes & chocolate torte for my Husband. No missteps in anything. Even left with three t-shirts (name makes for nice T-shirts). Thanks for a great evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    295
    97
    40
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The food and service was great but get there early during the peak tourist season because the wait can be upwards of an hour.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amos Mosquitos ... You gotta try it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I just returned from a delicious dinner at Amos Mosquitos - shrimp & grits for him and meatloaf for me. Our waitress, Sunshine, made entree suggestions, kept our glasses full and put smiles on our faces with her pleasant personality! We will definitely return on our next visit to Atlantic Beach!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I used TA to find this place and all the positive reviews are dead on! Parking is the only drawback to the entire experience because it is so darn busy. All the staff there are super friendly and knowledgeable about the entrees. My wife and I had the warm goat cheese lobster dip as an appetizer and it was over-the-top! My yellowfin tuna entree was cooked perfectly and presented with flair. The have a fairly decent selection of beers and wines but its certainly not their strength. They also have a fortified wine license so you can have a port with your dessert. Amos Mosquito's has one of the best key lime pies I've ever had anywhere. I prefer my key lime pie tart and it met the requirement nicely. Prices are very reasonable. We will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We ate at Amos Mosquitos on a Saturday night in late September. Short pleasant wait on porch with rocking chairs, 15 min. they don't take reservations. Crabcake appetizer was tasty, not as crabby as we would like. The fried flounder and scollops were excellent, lightly battered and fried just right. The key lime pie was also excellent. Had an attentive and happy server, Junior. I really doubt it is her name.... Enjoyable evening and good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amos Mosquito's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Amos Mosquito's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amos Mosquito's Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.