We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection of food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Channel Marker

Channel Marker
718 Atlantic Beach Causeway, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
252 247 2344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: Dessert, Seafood, Steakhouse, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A staple in the community since 1981, The Channel Marker Restaurant is the largest restaurant on the island, also offering the largest outside seating in the area. Open daily for lunch, standing by our motto - "Don't take a lunch break. Take a mental break..." Come and enjoy a relaxing lunch right beside the waterNightly drink specials from our bar staff and ever-changing chef features by our Executive Chef!!We offer limitless options for catering, either off or on premises! Our desserts are made in-house by our award-winning Pastry Chef, so make sure to leave room!Looking for a wedding or special event cake? Look no further! We are able to provide "just dessert", with competitive pricing, uncompromised flavors, and the "wow" factor. Contact us for more information!!We're giving you a whole new reason to come to the beach...
Lewisberry, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great selection of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had She Crab Soup and salads(large) and everything was great including the tangerine cream cake that we split(yumm). Our only complanit was they advertised a Mascoto wine on special but when we ordered it they told us they were out of it since the weekend. Not sure why they still had the sign up then.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    108
    51
    23
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Faison, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This restaurant is right on the water at the foot of the Atlantic Beach bridge. The view is fantastic with outdoor seating. If it is windy or a little cool, you might be more comfortable sitting inside. Their seafood is excellent and very fresh. I tried the Shrimp and Grits, which were different from any I have tried before. The grits were in a fried grit cake. Crunchy on the outside, creamy on the inside. Others tried the Grilled Scallops, Mixed Grill and the Stuffed Flounder. Prices ranged from $20.00 to $25.00. It sounds a little high, but they were in line with other good restaurants in the area. The wait staff was very attentive. We eat here every time we visit Atlantic Beach. It is always good and they always make us feel at home.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great seafood, pleasant atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We ate at the Channel Marker and had great dinners. My husband got the shrimp & grits (with a large grit-cake centered in the bowl of shrimp, etc.). I got the grilled mahi-mahi. Both were excellent. Service was good, but not stellar. However, the chef stopped at our table to make sure everything was to our standards.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just Food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The food was OK, the prices a little high for what you get. I have dined here 3 times and each time the service has been below par...they are always shorthanded, apparently. the wait has always been 30 minutes or more. The view is Great, but without great food and great service there are way too many other really good restaurants to waste time and money here.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect! What Else Can You Ask For?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Between my job and our trips, my wife & I eat out 200 times a year. Ruth's Chris, Fleming's, Angus Barn, etc are some of our favorites. I can honestly say this was the best dinner we have had in ages! Larry did a great job serving and the chef made table visits which we appreciated. The Mermaid Skillet with Shrimp was PHENOMENAL! The Caesar salad was one of the best I've ever had. The deck seating was beautiful and comfortable. I can not imagine a better meal. I didn't find it particularly pricey, as the Skillet was about $20, and we shared it and had PLENTY of food. I expected 10-12 shrimp in the dish and there must have been 25+ and the shrimp was cooked perfectly!!!! I would not have changed one thing about this meal! This will be our new place to eat each time we visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Channel Marker also viewed

Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Channel Marker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Channel Marker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.