We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
2717 West Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thanksgiving Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Check in was quick and the front desk attendant was very helpful. Cookies were soft and warm. Got to the room and it was very clean. I found it odd that all the staff is wearing jeans but most of them walked through the halls with their head down and made it seem like they were unapproachable. Most of them just walked by and didn't say a word or ask how my stay was going and didn't even smile. Great menu for the holiday in the restaurant. Prices were reasonable and good options to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We apologize that you felt our staff were unapproachable and we assure you that this has been communicated to management and you will not encounter this again during your next stay. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    127
    106
    64
    24
See reviews for
203
133
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cary, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great views and wonderful and helpful staff. Food at the restaurant was quite delicious, indoor pool was a little over chlorinated. Mollys was closed for the season, but looking forward to returning next summer. Having my 2 grandkids with me, I reserved a Suite and it was well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We're incredibly pleased to hear that our hotel was able to make your trip with your grandchildren everything you had hoped and we look forward to seeing you all again during the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavík, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our experience from the minute we walked in and untill we left was very pleasant. We were welcomed with the warm cookie, the room and view were very nice, breakfast was great and fast check in and out. The hotel is located in a beautiful place. I would love to come there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We're incredibly pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our hotel and we hope you'll choose to stay with us again during your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The ocean front was worth the view, friends (many rooms for the USMC ball) stayed in ocean view and looked at the parking lot. The rooms were ok but for being recently remodeled we expected more, it seemed like an older hotel. The bed was very comfy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know what you thought. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our DoubleTree beds. We hope to see you again next year for your ball.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Me and my husband recently stay here on November 15 to the 16th and we enjoyed ourselves. The room was clean we had a oceanfront view and I have no complaints. We had a balcony and it was very private. You can't see into anyone's patio and they can't see into yours. I would stay there again and I highly recommend. Oh and they are pet friendly as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We're glad to hear that our pet friendly, oceanfront rooms were exactly what you were looking for and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville NC, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a great time. My kids went fishing, and they caught fish. We are diamond members, and I requested and received a room upgrade to oceanfront. The breakfast buffet has many hot and cold choices, and the staff work to assure it is clean and fresh. We plan on using our Hilton Honors points for stays at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We're glad to hear that our hotel and staff were able to provide the hospitality that you expected and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed at this property back in August for a one night getaway, i was pleased with the check in and out process, the hotel itself is a refurb from a Sheraton that was flooded when a Hurricane hit the east coast. Newport Group has attempted to turn this property back into the gem it once used to be. I was slightly dissappointed that the whirlpool did not work during our stay. I had a running toilet which they fixed promptly. I was a little irritated that we had a ocean "view" room that was a bad view from the porch, but it is what it is. We also were located by the stairwell, and people were constantly coming in and out slamming the door which kept us from resting well. I loved the fact that there were beach chairs and it was near the pier. Molly's was a great place to grab a drink and an app on the run.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairwell
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our newly remodeled hotel. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know your comments and concerns. We appreciate your honesty and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront

Address: 2717 West Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.