We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING RESORT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
2717 West Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Atlantic Beach
New Bern, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING RESORT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Excellent experience...Susie (front desk) Kelly and Lisa (hskpng) Clea (chef) Cammie (server/room service) all went above and beyond to make this birthday get away from my dgtr an outstanding experience...hotel was very clean as was our room...no sign of wear/tear at all...food at Molly's and the restaurant was amazing...can't wait to go back with the whole family...indoor and outdoor pool areas were very clean and well maintained...beautiful/large indoor hot tub area was spotless....Please keep up the great job...will return soon as this is an exceptional resort with an outstanding staff!!!!!

Room Tip: Some are ocean front...most ocean view....no bad view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We're so happy to hear that we were able to make your birthday everything you had hoped! We look forward to having you and your family visit us soon and please let management know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    57
    36
    19
    9
See reviews for
87
72
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

It was nice to have an oceanfront view, and both their indoor and outdoor pools were nice, but the rooms weren't what you would expect for the price. The woman who checked us in was in a bad mood when we got there, the balcony door didn't want to open, the tub was old and yellowed, and for $200 a night, you wouldn't expect to find hairs in the bathroom. Also, a big complaint of mine is when you can't get a cup of coffee from the lobby in the morning ... those one-cup, "tea-bag" style coffee makers make colored water ... not coffee. And after paying $200 a night for the room, you would think you would get a complimentary cup of coffee rather than have to pay for a pitcher of coffee ($6 for small; $10 for large). I will say, however, that the bed was comfortable and it was a beautiful view (once we got the door open), but I've read that the Clam Digger Inn, which is just down the street, has good reviews and is about half the price, so we plan to stay there the next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments and concerns about our hotel. We have addressed the front desk and housekeeping issues that you brought to our attention and we thank you for letting us know about them. We strive to please and we're incredibly disappointed that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. We do hope you'll give us another chance the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Okay, so I have always taken the view that hotels on the beach age very quickly. This is the case with the rooms at the Double Tree.

The public areas, main lobby, dining room, and pool areas are all very nice. Molly's is a snack bar with drinks and such which is nice to have if you are hanging out at the beach.

The hotel provides chairs and umbrellas on the beach which are FREE if you are a Hilton Honors member.

The room itself wasn't too bad. Clean, updated, with a small balcony with a nice ocean view. But I must have had the same room as Barbara B. because the AC was very loud and noisy when it came on, and the toilet did run every ten minutes.

But like I said in the beginning, Hotels on the beach age quicker, they get more use, and need to be maintained constantly, but we would stay there again.

Room Tip: I don't know about other rooms, but room 715 was next to the elevator shaft, and the AC was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you thought about our property. We do apologize for the issues with your toilet and AC and we assure you that we are working to improve these problems. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you during your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siler City, NC, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Food was great. Hotel was out of service for two years for rennovations. Looks modern and in great location. Nice experience...glad to see you back in business. I'll definitely be back but for vacation next time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again during your next trip :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paris, United States
1 review
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I expected a whole lot more from Doubletree!! You have to pay for breakfast, not what I am used to. The view is gorgeous, but you have to pay to sit on the beach or under shade. The room is clean but no microwave. The room is cool but sounds like a hurricane when the air conditioner turns on. The toilet ran every 10 minutes, refilling. The only way to get WIFI in the room was to be an honors member. I have been vacationing at Atlantic Beach for 20 years and have stayed at this hotel when it was a Sheraton. Someone from Hilton really needs to visit this hotel and get it up to Standard. It has a long way to go but the location alone makes it worth the effort!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know your thoughts and concerns. We are still working to improve our hotel daily and we appreciate your suggestions as they will help us to make sure that it's better for your next stay. Thank you again and we hope that you'll come visit us and give us a second shot the next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

You may not get the room you reserve. I made my reservation for an oceanfront room two weeks before my trip on Doubletree's website. Check-in time is 4 pm and when I arrived at 5:30 pm, they pulled up my reservation and then said we don't have a clean oceanfront room ready for you. After expressing surprise at how they could still have rooms that weren't cleaned at 5:30 pm, I thought we'd just go get dinner and come back. After clicking on her computer a bit more, she then said she didn't have a room for me at all! She said she had ocean view rooms but no oceanfront even though my reservation was in the system. Apparently there was no room number assigned to me. According to her, various other websites also book rooms and they oversold the hotel for that weekend. Nice. She had an ocean view room available and did reduce my nightly rate accordingly and gave us free breakfasts for both mornings of our stay. The ocean view was okay but the balconies were tiny and you couldn't fit chairs on them. We were just disappointed that we did not have our promised oceanfront room. Overall the hotel was nice and clean and all of the staff was very friendly. Still rating them at very good but if I stay there again, I will definitely call and make sure I have a room number "assigned" to me before I arrive! I'm just glad we weren't the poor folks with reservations who rolled in at 8pm and had no room at all! If they were oversold, that had to have happened to someone unless there were lots of no-shows!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know how your stay went. We sincerely apologize for the mix up with your room and we thank you for bringing the issue to our attention. We do not stand for mistakes like this and we will work to ensure that it does not happen again. Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope you'll give us a second chance the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel was very comfortable, low key, but provided everything for a quiet relaxing get away. There were indoor and outdoor pools. The beach front access included chairs and umbrellas for a very reasonable cost. Pet friendly, good access for people in wheel chairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront

Address: 2717 West Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Venere, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.