We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location/Average hotel experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2717 West Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Raleigh, United States
1 review
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location/Average hotel experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The location of this hotel is great with the added benefit of having direct beach access. Outside of that, this is a fairly average hotel. The restaurant is nothing special and not worth a repeat visit from my family. I did like the pillowtop mattresses offered by DoubleTree. A comfortable stay, but not amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We're sorry to hear that our stay wasn't everything you had hoped. Please take the time to let management directly at the hotel know what we can improve on. Thank you again and we hope you'll change your mind about not staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    166
    123
    72
    26
See reviews for
237
179
19
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel suite was very comfortable. We however noticed that the window was't closing properly, so I spoke to the reception desk, who were very polite and said that they would send someone to look at it. Withinn minutes two of the maintenance team came by and checked it out and showed me how to shut the window, which was really very appreciated.

Room Tip: The lower floors are better, as the access to the gym and swimming pool is an advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We're pleased to hear that our maintenance staff was quick to respond to your issue and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is on the beach with great amenities and the staff are VERY friendly. Everyone treated us like family and had great recommendations for dining and activities in the area. Great place for a relaxing beach retreat!

Room Tip: Oceanfront has the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We're pleased to hear that our staff was so kind and helpful and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel was nice enough but hot tub had a smell and not up to the Double tree standard. Bar on fishing pier was cool and fun. Room was good but not excellent.
Outdoor Swimming pool was very clear and clean but indoor lacked a bit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We're glad to hear that for the most part you enjoyed our hotel. We are always working to improve our property so we hope you'll come again soon to check out all the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel and staff members the hotel says ocean view and ocean front rooms and they actual have outstanding views unlike the Hampton Inn across the way that advertises ocean view rooms. Right on the beach was great for me and my family but also they have a great place to get a shrimp burger and/or cheeseburger called Molly's. Also the hotel has a excellent small and cozy bar with great cocktails and outstanding service. The bartender with the accent in the inside hotel bar is great. The restaurant is very nice and cozy as well with great cuisine with great service from Wendi. The only 2 negative thing I have to say is the rooms need more decorations or in need of an interior designer they are very bare as a birds nest for $299.00 a night. And also the older lady at the check in counter at 1:05 am is very rude and not friendly. Have the restaurant young lady Wendi help her with how service should be for paying guest.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed our hotel and we also appreciate your suggestions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, NC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Newly renovated hotel. This is a brand new Hilton Property and it looks like a million bucks. Stayed her eon business and would definitely come back and will bring the family next time! Terrific location on the beach, easy access, great amenities. This area needed a first class hotel and now they have it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We're glad that our hotel was accommodating during your recent business trip and we look forward to you and your family coming to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Love this hotel! Nice clean rooms, great beach, indoor and outdoor pool and indoor hot tub. My favorite part, the pool/ beach bar. The food was great, the staff were friendly and view is amazing. The hotel restaurant was really nice, the chef even came out to our table to check on us. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We're so happy that you loved our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront

Address: 2717 West Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.