We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing & one of our best vacations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
2717 West Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Atlantic Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing & one of our best vacations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had our anniversary here / getaway before he deployed. We had the best time here! Everyone was so nice and the rooms were amazing! Our view of the ocean was amazing to say the least. We walked to dinner one night which was beautiful. We spent a lot of time on the beach which was right there! It was also super nice that they had a pool area you could lay out at if you got tired of the salt water. The bar/restaurant they had there was amazing as well because they services you with drinks / food while laying out at the pool! I loved this place !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We're incredibly pleased to hear that we were able to make your anniversary as wonderful as you had opened and we hope you and your boyfriend will come visit again once he is back :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    109
    81
    53
    18
See reviews for
166
109
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We checked in without problem, very friendly front desk staff. I mentioned that we had 2 consecutive reservations, the first on Honors points for 4 days, the second a paid reservation for 1 day. The person checking us in saw the notes but asked me to check back later in the week because there were sure to screw it up. I checked back to keep the same room and all was pre-assigned to the same room. The next day at noon we were locked out. They screwed up the reservation and never moved the reservation to assigned.
We had breakfast buffet tickets for Honors Gold Level. The food needs work. By 9:30 AM, whatever was left in the warming dishes was hard, dry or greasy. The waitstaff is friendly but
if there are more than 10 customers they become flustered.
The common theme throughout the hotel is" I am sorry". I am guessing that this is the employees only training.
On Friday night they forgot to turn off the music by the pool until midnight. This made it impossible to sleep if you left the oceanfront sliders open.
Management visibility is non existent other than a gentleman in a suit yelling Good Morning to us from the front desk when we got off the elevator.
Doubletree, please do not respond to this with the normal form letter you send signed" social media coordinator. Room 701, arrived 7/22, departed 7/27

Room Tip: Room 701 was oceanfront king
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We sincerely apologize that your reservations were not handled properly. We thank you for letting us know about the issues you faced during breakfast and with the music during the night and we assure you that management has been made aware. We use all comments and suggestions constructively and we hope that you'll choose to stay with us again the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburg, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The price of our stay was comparable to almost any oceanfront hotel we have ever stayed. Check in was fast and easy but don't let the renovations in the lobby fool you. Rooms aren't as nice. We had a queen ocean view room. Room was clean. It was newly painted with newer furnishings, that's the extent the remodel went for the rooms. Bathroom is small, crack in bath tub most likely causing leak in room below. Either the toilet was set improperly or floor is unlevel, but toilet leans to one side. Must have leaked cause there was a 3 inch parimeter of caulk around toilet, very DIYish. AC is so loud you literally need ear plugs! We met a nice young man who was a beach attendant on our first night there. After asking him how we go about reserving chairs and umbrella for the next day, he politely took our reservation. Big mistake! When we arrived on the beach the next morning, the attendant had no record of our reservation, and told us the attendant from the night before was not supposed to take it . Reservations are only to be made thru the front desk. and he was completely out of chairs at 9 am! We apparently were not the only ones in that situation, as person after person was turned away due to lack of chairs and improperly taken reservations. We ended up sitting at the pool instead of on the beach, where we saw the state of disrepair of the outside pool. it had several tiles missing from it, and some kids kept kicking open the lid for the skimmer basket. Every staff member we met was nice and polite but completely unable to do anything about any of the problems we had. All they could do was apologize. Cleaning service did not arrive until after 4 pm with fresh towels. We asked for additional coffee, since I am a big coffee drinker in the mornings and were given 2 single service packets. A bit stingy I must say. The other problem was parking. Being a beach town, and most people know how limited beach parking is, this property has opted to rent parking spots for $10 a day to any one wishing to park and go down to the beach. This is great, except for the fact that they take the parking spots from actual people with reservations to the hotel! if you leave for any reason, you may not have a parking spot when you come back. I don't know if I will go back or not, the staff is very friendly but they have a long way to go. Hilton would have been better served spending money on actual renovations of the guest rooms, amenities, and beach chairs instead of on the over priced lobby reno.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know how your stay went. We're pleased to hear that our staff was friendly. We apologize for the mixup with the beach chairs and we assure you that management has been made aware.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, NC
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have to say that this is a great improvement over the Sheraton. It has been completely refurbished and the rates are much more reasonable.

The highlights are the location and the friendliness of the staff. It's hard to beat being right on the beach! Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. Rushanna, our server at breakfast, went well above what would normally be expected. She was excellent.

The rooms are decent sized, very clean and most have an ocean view. The bed was comfortable. WiFi was reliable and fairly fast.

There are a few negatives that stop me from rating them higher than three stars.
-- The changes to the elevators were only cosmetic. They are slow, creaky, crowded and not sufficient for the number of rooms.
--I don't believe that the glass doors to the beach/pool area were cleaned during our entire stay. They were covered in hand prints and smudges and were kinda nasty.
--They either don't have a no smoking policy in the pool area or if they do, they don't enforce it. Again, nasty.

All in all, we had an enjoyable stay. This is a good place for a beach weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We're glad that you chose to spend your vacation with us at the DoubleTree. We thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed everything and we hope that you'll stay with us again the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the special treatment that we received while staying @ the Double Tree in Atlantic Beach. Staff went above our expectations & we'll look forward to future visits!! Location was perfect! The only minor complaint was our balcony was a little dirty, but nothing that we couldn't live with. Loved everything about our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We're glad to hear that our staff worked hard to make sure your anniversary stay was everything you had hoped for and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We tried to book this trip as the first booking we had done with TripAdvisor. some how the "booking" did not take from your website so we called the Double Tree direct, Our experience was a disappointment. The room AC sounded like a Harley motorcycle. TV would not work. Gave us a new room. Glasses in bath room unwashed (lipstick). Dinner and breakfast mediocre and very expensive. Steps to beach is dangerous condition. we were not happy campers.
TripAdvisors showered us with email ads. Please unsubscribe us.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize for the loud air conditioners and we assure you that this issue is being addressed. We hope that you will give us another chance the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

hotel was overpriced. rooms not ready at check-in. plumbing problems. rooms not cleaned after first night stay. key cards de-coded after one night. safety issues---uneven pavement on sidewalk and mold issues that would be terrible for allergy sufferers. had to call for extra towels since the rooms were never cleaned. afraid to try room service and restaurant because everything else sucked. hotel is not ready for guests until management is replaced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are incredibly disappointed to hear how unhappy you were with your recent stay. We are a newly opened hotel and will use all of your comments and suggestions to better our property. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront

Address: 2717 West Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.