We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B Minus” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Resort to your Saves list
Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Resort
715 W Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512   |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia
1 review
“B Minus”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

This is a nice facility but the customer service is horrible. Maybe it was because the facility was in the process of going through a transfer of ownership from Equivest to Festiva but I have never had such poor customer service. No one answers the phone when you call a number. You get an endless ringing phone or a full mailbox. When you get someone, they don't know the answer to your question. If you ask for extra hand soap, you never get it. They ignore your requests. They have a small number of beach umbrellas and people literally fight over them every morning. I felt like I was completely abandoned the week I was there. The indoor pool is anything but - its just an outdoor pool with a covering over it. It would be nice to have a true indoor pool to escape the searing heat. If you like staying at a facility and don't need any help from the place, then this is a good place to stay. If you need anything extra, then skip this place.

  • Liked — It was quiet.
  • Disliked — Customer service was horrible. Worst I have ever experienced at a resort.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    52
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
53
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

We just returned from a week-long visit at Atlantic Beach Villas. We stayed in building 32, one of the newer buildings. The villas are situated across the street from the ocean, however keep in mind that Atlantic Beach is mostly vacation homes, so there was no commercial junk blocking our view of the dunes and a bit of the ocean.
The best thing about the villas is the layout of the rooms, and the ability to cook your own meals. With small kids in tow, this made for really easy mealtimes.
I do, however, think that they forgot to install insulation between the units. We stayed on the 2nd of three floors, and normal walking around above us (and opening cabinets) sounded like there was a heard of elephants (and at times I could swear someone was chopping wood up there). We could also hear normal conversations on either side of our unit. Oh, and I also felt the need to vacuum and sweep as soon as we arrived. The carpets and floors were a bit sticky, but that's to be expected for beach lodging.
I would definately go back to Atlantic Villas, simply because of the spacious accomodations and location. I will bring earplugs, though!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

We just returned from spending the weekend at Atlantic Beach Villas, aka Peppertree Resort. The location was good, just a short walk to the beach. Our suite was just okay. The buildings are older and we could hear every step the people above us were taking. There was also quite a bit of hair on the bathroom floor, vanity, and also in the bathtub. That's a huge turn-off for me! We arrived at 3:40pm, with check-in being at 4. I understand that these hotels have to follow rules, but we were in the middle of a strong thunderstorm and were hoping to be able to check in a few minutes early. The receptionist informed us that our room wasn't ready yet (20 min. before check-in!) and we would have to wait till "around 4". Since our child was scared of the storm, we decided to wait in the office. Lo and behold, 10 minutes later, our room was miraculously clean. (Besides, most of the suites on our floor of the building were unoccupied over the weekend, so I doubt very much that there was an issue with getting our suite cleaned.) I must also add that the person in the office was NOT friendly in any way. We would not stay at this resort again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of clean bathroom; unfriendly office staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport WV
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

We have been to the Crystal Coast many times and stayed in many hotels and by far this is the best yet. You can rent an apartment for a very resonable price and get alot for your money. The location is very conveinent only 10 miles to the aquairium and a Food Lion is practicly across the street if you need groceries if you are staying in one of the apartments. Also there is Fort Macon down the road and many beach bum shopping stores nearby.
Its also only a 30 -45 min drive and a real awsome boat ride to a practicly deserted island where the Capelook out light house is, I recommend this to anyone who is interested to see what an island looks like with virtually no houses or building on it.

The rooms were very clean, the kitchen and bathrooms were clean and they had good water pressure for taking a shower, sometimes some hotels near the beach don't have good water pressure which makes it hard to get sand off of you, so this was a plus to us. Room service however doesn't come and make your beds and take out trash but if you dont care about doing simple stuff like making your own bed or taking out trash from time to time, then its no big deal.

The hotel has its own private walk to the beach and during the day you can barrow umbrellas and chairs, so you dont have to bring your own, and if you prefer they have three pools one of which is indoors. There are also a few laundry facilities through out the Hotel and were clean as well.

I highly recommend this hotel, because it was conveinent, quiet and clean and a great place to bring the family.

  • Liked — Quiet, Clean, Convienent, Relaxing
  • Disliked — Nothing Really
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, LA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

My family and I stayed here in August 2006. This place is awesome. Expected a hotel room and got a whole apartment! We were a five minute walk from the beach. The apartment was clean and had everything you could possibly need. I was very pleased with my overall experience and highly recommend Atlantic Beach Villas to others.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — no
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2006

We stayed at Peppertree for a week in unit 13B with my husband and 3 kids ages 3, 7 and 10. I read reviews from this site prior to going and it really helped me. When we arrived the room had an odor of cigarette smoke. I called the office at 9pm and they sent someone up within 20 mins with an ionizer machine. We had to leave for about an hour, but when we came back the odor was completely gone. I was very impressed with the quick service. We had absolutely no problems with service. Everyone there was extremely nice and helpful. The Recreation dept was very helpful- I would suggest going to the Monday morning meeting to find out what is available to do in the area. They have loads of board games that you can keep (up to 3) for the week.

The beach was very close about 5 mins and very nice. The pools were very nice and clean. The tennis courts were nice and got much use from the people that stay. Our unit overlooked the tennis courts and one of the pools. The playgrounds are outdated, but my kids did not care. My 3 year old loved the sand box and my big kids liked the see saws and swing. There may be a playground in the newer section that is probably nicer, never got there.

Here is my only beef with the place... the room. It was ok. They are obviously doing a lot of work to the place- adding elevators and new windows, which by the way was not noisy work. Units 1-25 are older. Our unit had a decent kitchen with nice appliances and was nicely decorated, but it needed some work. We had the old windows. Our bathrooms needed to be redone, our shower door did not shut properly, old sink fixtures, etc. The jacuzzi tub was big, but older, my older kids loved it after the pool. I could hear the people above stomping around and could also hear every time they opened up the sliding glass door from the bedroom, which woke me up several times one night. ( i guess someone was a smoker and was going outside?) Also, the breeze was gorgeous when you opened the windows, but at midnight the water treatment center next to the housekeeping would "turn on" and it was quite noisy. I had to shut my window. By the last night I slept right through it though. It was a mediocre room that needs some work, which they are doing. My guess is units 26 and up are gorgeous, would have loved to have seen them.

Restaurants- Best was Loughry's Landing- best food and most reasonable. Watermark very good too.

I would go back, but I would definitely shoot for the newer units 26 and up.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
law123_8, an owner of 2 units here at Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2008
This review stayed here in 2006. I own unit next door but I toured 13 B that she wrote about. It is absolutely gorgeous and I have pictures of that specific unit. (2008) It would be very misleading to people to only take higher numbered units now. peppertree is a very very nice place and no. 1 or 2 on my list of the 8 units I own from Va beach to Myrtle. She gave a good review of place in general but I tried to add pictures for people to see and was unable. Even the pictures on your page are old or not like any room I have seen there. I will try and add pictures again. There are also elevators there now and I noticed another review was prior to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2006

I rented what I thought was a hotel suite through hotels - we were SO pleasantly surprised to arrive at this property and find that we received a very spacious one bedroom APARTMENT. This is all timeshare apartments that are rented out. It's a really nice property, the apartment was wonderful with a cute balcony you could even sit and eat out on. It was so worth the price and I wish we'd stayed longer. We didn't use many of the amenities, but we did overlook the indoor pool and hot tub, both of which looked wonderful. It is a 5 minute walk to the beach, but it is very pretty once there. There was some construction going on during our stay, but the only issue with it was that we had to enter our building through a different entrance and it was a bit of a trek. Do note that there are NO elevators or luggage services - so be prepared to lug your stuff! We were very happy with our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Resort

Address: 715 W Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Beach is the oldest of five resort towns along the Bogue Banks of North Carolina's coast. Known as the Crystal Coast, it's the kind of place that remains in your memory throughout the year as a peaceful vacation oasis. Walk down the boardwalk from your villa to the white, sandy beach where you can rent a chair and umbrella for the day. Once you've soaked in the sun and splashed in the sea, wash the salt and sand away and head into the surrounding communities for delightfully fresh local seafood. Whether you like to swim, bask in the sun, sail or fish, Atlantic Beach is the perfect spot for a family trip, a romantic escape, or a beach bum's ideal vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Hotel Atlantic Beach
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Atlantic Beach Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.