We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family beach retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Resort to your Saves list
Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Resort
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   715 W Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful family beach retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We traded our timeshare to stay here, and had a great time. Our unit was probably as far from the beach as you could get but it was still only a 5 minute walk.
Our unit was huge for our family of 4 so we enjoyed spreading out. The building was a little older but well maintained. We used the indoor pool which was nice. There were no slides or anything but it was a refreshing break from the sun.
At the activity center we borrowed several games and skipped the movies due to the cost and used red box instead.
The water in our unit looked yellow or green in the tub which I thought was alarming, so I called facilities who came right over and assured me the water in that area was like that from lime in it and it was safe to use. We didn't drink it but we did shower in it.
Overall, the beach was great and we were very comfortable at the resort and had a wonderful family vacation. We hope to go again someday.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    56
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
56
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King George, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We've stayed here for 7 years; previous 6 all in Feb/March off-season (to visit family), and last year in August (because kids wanted to go to beach). The rooms are clean and functional; not a luxury resort, but it is not intended to be. The beach is close and good; the staff have always been helpful and friendly. Only 2 issues: it is the only timeshare I've ever been at that wants you to bundle up all of your towels and bed linens (isn't that what housekeeping is for?), and we were asked to go to a sales presentation where there would be breakfast and a play area for the kids, and there were a few doughnuts and no place to occupy the kids (so we've avoided the sales staff ever since). But the location is wonderful, and the recreation center has lots of activities for the kids. The first few years we stayed you had a lot of stairs to climb; however, now all buildings are accessible by elevator so you don't have to haul everything up and down. This last year a new children's splash play area was built next to the center outdoor pool (my kids loved it) and they added a basic mini-golf course (nothing fancy, but fine for a 7 year old).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were in a 2-bedroom non-oceanview unit. The accommodations are comfortable. The grounds are well kept, with lots of shade trees, charcoal grills, hammocks, etc. available. The beach is just a short walk from any of the units (some of which are oceanview). Staff is helpful and a minor maintenance issue was promptly resolved (even on a Sunday).

Room Tip: Look at the resort plan, decide if you want to be near the tennis courts and children's play are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I recently stayed here on a family vacation for a week with ten other family members. We had two 'villas' as they were listed. We had previously called the property and made them aware that a few members of our party had a baby so they would prefer a first floor room, however our parties did not arrive at the same time, and they checked her in (baby in hand) to a third floor room. We then received the first floor room, which they failed to mention was handicapped. The rooms were nice, one was much more up to date than the other, for sure. And in the third floor room there was a very strong mildew smell. Other than that the rooms were great, there was everything we needed to live for a week (plus more upon request). They offered a replenish/laundry restock for the room also upon request which was nice. The hotel is located about a 3 minute walk from the ocean, which was a private beach for our hotel. so that in itself was wonderful. They also had a very warm indoor pool, an indoor kiddie pool. Two outdoor pools which were large and fantastic, and an outdoor hot tub which was nice; when it worked. Upon check in we were given a list of activities taking place that week, however, we were given the wrong week; and also a bit of an attitude from the front desk when we asked about pricing for those events. The front desk staff as a whole was what ruined it for me. I would call several times in a ten minute period receiving no answer. When I finally got an answer, it was a man, who was more than rude to me when I expressed my concern for the broken hot tub. He even went as far as saying it wasn't that hard to figure out so for him to be getting a second complaint was pure stupidity on someone's part. The place was in walking distance from all your typical beach stores, a grocery store, fast food, liquor store, local bar. Overall, the stay was great, if I had just never called the front desk, it would have been fantastic! :)

Room Tip: ask for a more up to date room, seems like some are way more clean/up to date than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stayed at Peppertree Atlantic Beach at least once a year for about 10 years now and we have never had a bad experience. The accommodations aren't luxurious by any means, but as a person that goes to the beach to soak up the sun, I don't spend a lot of time in the unit. The newer buildings have more updated furnishings, but are further from the walkway to the beach, so it's a tradeoff.

One thing I love about the resort is the water aerobics every morning in the indoor pool. The class is an hour and you get a great amount of exercise during the class, plus you get to be in the water while doing it.

The location absolutely cannot be beat - it's about 2 miles off the causeway into Moorhead City and about a 25-30 min. drive to Emerald Isle. Another good place to visit, Beaufort, is about 15 min away. I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The weather was wonderful. Just warm enough to enjoy the sun and bike to the nearby Fort Macon. We did get a couple of days that were beach weather. Even though it was April, there was enough to do in the area that we had a good mix of activities and down time. We took a ferry from Beufort to a barrier island and spent the day shelling.

Our unit was a ground floor unit next to the indoor pool. No views of the ocean but that's fine with us we are not a "sit and stare at the ocean" sort of family. We like to actually go to the ocean and get sand in our shoes and it was a short walk across the street to get to the ocean. There was almost a constant wind off the ocean so we bought fancy kites from Kites Unlimited across the street and had a blast flying them. The indoor pool was nice and the boys enjoyed that it was open late so they could go for a swim after dinner.

The unit was perfect for a family of four. A large master bedroom with king bed and a smaller bedroom with two twins. The boys enjoyed having their own TV in the room. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we could want. And the living room area was spacious. The only ding was the outdoor chairs were not for lounging, they were good for eating dinner but bring your own chair if you like to sit outside and read. There is one hammock on the property. They have a nice pavilion with gas grills you can sign up to use at night if you don't want to use the charcoal grills outside the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The wife and I stayed here for a week in July. We traded in our DRI timeshare to stay here. After a 10 hour drive from Pa. we arrived around 2:45 pm. Check in was less then 5 minutes and the girl at the front desk was very friendly but our unit was not ready and check in was not suppose to be until 4:00. So we walked around the resort to check the layout. Their are 2 good sized outdoor pools along with a large indoor pool. Their were basketball courts, tennis courts, shuffle courts, miniature golf. Their was also a recreation center where you went to rent beach chairs and umbrellas along with getting the equipment for the various activities and sports games. We also noticed an arcade and ping pong table at one of the buildings. It also seems like their were coin op laundry facilities at most of the buildings. The grounds are well kept and clean with a lot of barbecue grills through out. After about an hour we got our room key and proceeded to our room which was in building 26 right next to the indoor pool. We were on the third floor which was no problem since their was an elevator. We had a one bedroom unit which was very spacious and very clean. You could definitely fit a family of four with no problem but since it comes with one bathroom 4 adults could be an issue .It also looked like it had been recently updated with new rugs, paint , etc.. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you need for preparing all your meals. So if you want to save some money and eat in for all your meals you will have no problem,their is a real nice Food Lion supermarket less then 5 minutes away so stocking up on food is no problem. If you would rather eat out their are plenty of restaurants and pizza places close by.The furniture that comes with the unit is pretty basic nothing elaborate and their is plenty of drawer and closet space in the master br. We did have noisy neighbors but wasn't sure if this was because of thin walls or the fact that they were just plain old noisy. They were quiet between 10pm and 9am so this didn't bother me too much. I did get a chance to use the whirl pool tub during the week and it worked just fine. The ac in our unit worked real well along with the tv's and other gadgets. We got to try out the beach the next day, it was a walk of about 5 to 10 minutes with our building being the farthest point away from the beach entrance. The beach is nice, very sandy and not very crowded but I recommend you bring your own beach chairs and umbrellas if you can since getting these things from the resort can be a problem. We also used the indoor pool a few times which was nice and clean and not crowded The resort and our unit was very nice, the staff except for housekeeping very friendly. The people at the recreation center were very helpful with helping you find things to do in the area.But nothing is perfect and this resort did have some issues that bothered me.

1) The resort has a real nice policy where you can rent a large umbrella and two loungers for the beach that cost 15 dollars for the day and they will set it up and take it down for you. The only problem is for a resort that holds 270 guests when full which it is in summer only has 25 umbrellas. They rent 15 of them ahead of time so if you want one of these you need to put in your request when you check in for the week or forget about it we had to put in a request on Sunday to get one for Friday. The other option is with the other 10 it is first come first serve but their are people lined up at the recreation center to get these before they even open at 8:00 am. 270 guests 25 umbrellas are you kidding me.

2)WIFI in our unit pretty much non existent

3)As in most timeshare units you will not get housekeeping services everyday like a hotel. This is the way just about all timeshares operate so I'm fine with this since timeshare units have more room then hotel rooms and I like staying in them and its just the way they operate and your not gonna change it. But most timeshares have what is called trash and towel Wednesday where they come to your unit replace the towels empty the trash restock toiletries and give a decent cleaning and for the ones who don't do that you can at least call them up for towels and toiletries and a housekeeper will bring them up for you. Not here. If you need towels and toiletries on Monday,Wednesday or Friday you need to take the dirty towels to the housekeeping building and exchange them. On Tuesday and Thursday call before 11 make your request, leave them out front of your door and they will drop them off in front of your door between 11:00 and 1:00. Seriously.

4) Usually when you checkout of your timeshare or hotel on the last day you just pack your bags and just leave. Not here. Check out procedure is as follows. Clean all dishes and utensils then put back in cabinets,clean out refrigerator, take all dirty towels and put in laundry bag, remove all bed linen from bed and pillows, and take out the trash. I have stayed in plenty of timeshare units and never had to do all this.

Its a shame but if they could fix these problems I listed this could be a really nice resort instead of a little above average. I tried giving it 3 1/2 but it wouldn't let me and I wasn't gonna give it a 4 or 5 even though it has potential do be a 5.
Except for the listed issues it is a nice resort right on the beach, nice people, spacious rooms, and things to do. The surrounding area of Atlantic Beach is real nice with very friendly people, plenty of places to eat not too touristy. I saw signs for fish charters and jet ski rentals in the area. If you get a chance go to Fort Macon and then another day take Calico Jacks Ferry out to Cape Lookout to see the lighthouse and horses on Shackleford Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Resort

Address: 715 W Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Beach is the oldest of five resort towns along the Bogue Banks of North Carolina's coast. Known as the Crystal Coast, it's the kind of place that remains in your memory throughout the year as a peaceful vacation oasis. Walk down the boardwalk from your villa to the white, sandy beach where you can rent a chair and umbrella for the day. Once you've soaked in the sun and splashed in the sea, wash the salt and sand away and head into the surrounding communities for delightfully fresh local seafood. Whether you like to swim, bask in the sun, sail or fish, Atlantic Beach is the perfect spot for a family trip, a romantic escape, or a beach bum's ideal vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Hotel Atlantic Beach
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Atlantic Beach Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppertree Atlantic Beach, a Festiva Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.