We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wide variety with daily specials” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monkey Bar & Grill

Monkey Bar & Grill
1010 W Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5318
252-726-2552
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Macon, North Carolina
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Wide variety with daily specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Had the Reuben at both visits and served with chips and a pickle was very good. My wife ate a hot dog and onion rings her first visit and Hamburger the second time with fries. Service was prompt and friendly and the food was quickly served. It's typical lounge-type food,but tasted quite good,and the prices were very reasonable for a lunch. Did not eat dinner so can't comment on full meal. will return next time in the area..

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    30
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lunch was pretty decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Ate here for lunch today. Was pretty good. Had Oriental salad. Very yummy. Husband had nachos. He said they were pretty good as well. Price was decent. Ambiance was great. I love all the monkey's around the place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
1 review
“great burgers!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

walking by the window we noticed a huge awesome looking salad on someones plate so we decided to give it a try and we were glad we did!! the burgers were excellent, oinion rings were delicious!!! it was so good we went back for dinner the same night!!!! we come to AB every year and I am sorry we havent been in before but we will surely be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great hot sandwiches. Good lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Had a great lunch here. Good hot RB sub. Nice atmosphere, sports bar. Good menu selection. Nice, friendly staff.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good, simple food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our first experience was in July 2012. when we walked in, it seemed busy and the staff seemed harried. We were approached by a server who was very honest and admitted they were understaffed and she would do her best. That right there scored points with us. I appreciate honesty from those in the service industry so we stayed. I like to give local businesses the benefit of the doubt and we were not disappointed.

As it turns out, the service was excellent. The food was good and the beer inexpensive. Our server was friendly despite how understaffed they were. My wife had a steak hoagie and I had a meatball hoagie.

We visited again three weeks later and the same server waited on us and even remembered how my wife liked her hoagie. I tried the lobster ravioli and was impressed.

Give them a chance and support the local economy

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Bar & Grill also viewed

Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Monkey Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkey Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.