We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia 23

Magnolia 23
23 South Fayetteville Street, Asheboro, NC
(336) 672-2300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Asheboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Asheboro, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great home cooking and super friendly people. Can't wait to go back to Magnolia 23. Lots of wonderful vegetables to choose from like grandma would have served up! Great prices also. Plenty of parking behind the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    11
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern US
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“THIS IS A GREAT PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This place is truly a gem. I have had the pleasure of eating meals all over the world. Mag 42 has a lot of charm. Try their collard greens!!!

The owners are very social and appreciate all visitors. Parking is easy near the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Now That's Home Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My two sisters and I were visiting in Asheboro, NC (coming from Charlotte, Raleigh and Wilmington, NC) and we dined at this absolutely jewel of a restaurant called Magnolia 23 located in the downtown area of the city. TripAdvisor reviews ranked Magnolia 23 as number 1 and now we know why. The prices are great and the food is s-o-o-o delicious! We ate home cooked chicken dumplings, pork chops, candied yams, Crowder peas, lima beans, mac and cheese, collards and cornbread. We even received a sample of the fried chicken, mmmm good. You will love the owner's southern hospitality and the friendly experienced staff. This restaurant was an enjoyable place to eat, socialize and have a great meal in a relaxed family atmosphere. We will definitely be return customers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dinner like Grandma used to make!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stumbled on to Magnolia 23 while looking through an Attractions book for the Piedmont region of NC. What an absolute gem we have found! The restaurant is located in downtown Asheboro in the historic district, surrounded by antique stores and coffee shops. The building is small but quaint, like a neighborhood eatery should be. The menu is limited to authentic home-cooked meals like Grandma used to make, including pork chops, spaghetti, and pan-fried catfish! The prices are very reasonable, with the portions being generous. The waitress that served us was very attentive and cordial. Being this was our first visit, our waitress informed the owner and he brought over a sample of the pan-fried catfish and it was delicious! Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Magnolia 23 in Asheboro, NC has the best chicken salad sandwich I have ever had. The chicken salad is made from scratch. The owner of the restaurant provided the group I was with a sampling of their homemade chicken noodle soup. It was delicious. Their homemade brownies are "to die for".

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia 23 also viewed

 

Been to Magnolia 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia 23, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.