We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Chinese - Japanese Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asian Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Asian Grill
2635 Hendersonville Rd, Arden, NC 28704-8527
828-651-8801
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 53 restaurants in Arden
Restaurant details
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Good Chinese - Japanese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We eat here quite often as we are local. We come from New York where you can't swing a dead cat without hitting a Chinese food restaurant. Tried several others in the Asheville area but the food here is the best we have found. We usually get a sushi roll, the Hibachi Steak (yum-yum sauce), roast pork lo mein and their won-ton soup is very good. The atmosphere is a little funky but we usually take out anyway. We east here once or twice a month. Very consistent quality, reasonable prices...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    1
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love to food!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Like MOST Chinese, one place always has something better than another one. Most of the food is great. Not impressed with their fried rice, they were one of VERY FEW that did make (think it was called coconut shrimp/chicken??) but, for some reason they quit making it! It was the only place I have been able to find it in years!! Now, no one serves it!! But, love most of their food!! Very good service. They stay BUSY, like the booths but, the tables...gets so crowded it's hard to move around some times!!
LOVE to call in and pickup!!! CHICKEN CHOW MEIN!!!
One more thing too...LOVE their Crab Rangoon's. MOST for some odd reason are making them a little sweet...NOO, Crab Rangoon's are NOT SUPPOSE TO BE SWEET!!! THEIR'S ARE GREAT BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT!!!! Take note other Chinese restaurants!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Diverse menu, wonderful sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The menu is huge and may be underappreciated by the locals.
The restaurant was not crowded at all. The hot and sour soup was excellent. We had a Blue crab/tuna/roe sushi roll that was also excellent. My wife had the kung pao which she thought was good, but average. I had the sea bass which was excellent and a bargain for the price.
The service was great and the ambiance was great also. They put a lot of money into the decor.
If I was local I'd eat here at least monthly.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Thought it was a Japanese steakhouse. Or at least a Mongolian BBQ. Just plain, old average Chinese food. I was disappointed.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This place had good sushi and large portion sizes! The building itself lacks a lot of character. The plants are over grown, they still have a Mother's and Father's day message on their sign and a Christmas wreath hanging above the door that's half burned out.

A little pricey for what you get, but tasty.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian Grill also viewed

Arden, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Arden, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Asian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.