We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious German selections” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Forest

Black Forest
2155 Hendersonville Rd, Arden, NC 28704-9742
828-687-7980
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Arden
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Delicious German selections”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Traveling near Asheville, NC and saw this restaurant option in a brochure. Cute style building with German decor. Friendly staff and excellent chef. We had the 2 German pancakes as appetizer despite the basket of delicious homemade light and dark bread. We shared the German platter that gave us plenty of food and nice selection including half brat, half knock wurst with grilled onions, bone in pork chop, sauerbraten, jaeger schnitzel with a a yummy mushroom sauce. Sides included red cabbage, sour kraut, and spatzel. We skipped the many beer options. Enjoyable choice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    28
    16
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great German Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was my second trip to Black Forest, and it was as good as the first. You have to try the marinated olives - they're delicious. For my meal I had schnitzel, spaetzel, and German potato salad. All were very good, even though I'm not a big fan of German potato salad. Our server was very attentive and friendly, and she was patient with those in our party who didn't speak English. My only complaint is that the restaurant was a bit cold, but I think they turned the heat up halfway through our meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Well rounded menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I was very impressed by the extensive selections of German dishes. We had the sauerbraten which was excellent. The red cabbage side was the best I've ever eaten. The German potato salad was not very distinguished. I would certainly go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quaint, Casual, Nice staff and Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Have lived in Asheville my entire life and have not gotten to try the German food at Black Forest. I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality. It was quite good. Very heavy, but that's what you're asking for with German food.

Appetizer - escargot. Very good hollandaise sauce and the rye bread/spread is fantastic.
Jaeger Schnitzel and the German sampler were great to share. We had to take it home in a doggie bag. Very large portions.
Great drinks, wine, beer.
Waitress was attentive and informative.
All in all, a great experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent New Years Eve Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We decided to go out for dinner on New Years Eve. We made a reservation and were seated within 5 minutes. The atmosphere was festive and the Christmas music played as a nice backdrop to end 2013. The menu was extensive and we had trouble choosing an entree. The veal oskar was delicious and my husband had a platter with lamb chops, pork chop and duck. The sides were good as usual. The server was personable and attentive. I would totally recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Forest also viewed

Arden, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Black Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.