We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected pleasure! Thai at its best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wanpen Thai Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wanpen Thai Restaurant
2292 Hendersonville Rd, Arden, NC 28704-2741
828-684-2777
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 53 restaurants in Arden
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure! Thai at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We were on our way to Hendersonville as out of towners and stumbled our way in.
The family owned restaurant makes you feel you are part of the family! The lunch combination is a veritable feast with an egg roll, spicy or mild chicken soup stocked with tender chicken! We had broccoli with brown noodles and gravy- yummy! The chicken
Pad Thai was one of the best. The sauce was lighter and more delicate than most Thai restaurants. Lucky are you in the area- I would be there on a regular basis!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    14
    2
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb Thai food, family-run restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The food at Wanpen is always outstanding. Fresh vegetables, meats, soups, and noodles with luscious sauces. Not much to look at - don't expect anything fancy.
The food is the star here - Tom Yum Gai soup, Pad Thai, vegetable LoMein, hot chicken wings, all yummy! Owners are always onsite. The talented husband does the cooking, while the very charming Wanpen herself runs the front of the house. Visiting Wanpen is like going to a family event. Her customers are very loyal and she knows most of them by name. Love goes into the food and it's all good. Not to be missed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Try the Crispy Duck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have been customers of Wanpen for many years and have to say that it is the best Thai we have eaten. It is the standard by which we judge other Thai restaurants. We believe it to be authentic and an excellent value.
As others have mentioned, the atmosphere is not polished but it is clean and kind'a campy. Very much a neighborhood restaurant feel.
We have had the Namsod, Pad Thai, all variations of curry, and Mango Rice dessert. All excellent! However, the 1/2 Crispy Duck, while a little pricey, is phenominal!
Give Wanpen a try. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice Little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We're not big on thai, but our friends are, so we stopped here for lunch. The food was very good and we enjoyed the outdoor seating. Plenty to pick from, but it appeared that there's only one menu, so no true lunch specials. Because of that, it was a little pricey for lunch.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Great food.Buffet is awesome. My favorite reswyaurant in town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wanpen Thai Restaurant also viewed

Arden, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Wanpen Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanpen Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.