We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best we've had. A repeat for us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twelve Bones South

Twelve Bones South
3578 Sweeten Creek Road, Arden, NC
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #7 of 52 restaurants in Arden
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the best we've had. A repeat for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We first tried Twelve Bones during our move to SC and loved it. The portions are good and the taste is among the best we've had. They serve brisket, which is difficult to find here.

This is now a mandatory stop whenever we are driving through Asheville!

The hours are a bit limited.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    10
    7
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Make No Bones About It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The ribs are every bit as good as the Asheville restaurant which means delicious. Just like Asheville, the line was out the door but the line moves fairly quickly and is worth the wait, at any rate. Also, there is more parking and indoor seating than in Asheville. If you have never been to either restaurant be sure to try the jalapeno cheese grits side dish. The mac-n-cheese and corn bread are also excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay away.....drive to Art district in Asheville”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Once again, why? The menu is the same....customer service sucks and the food actually tastes like lil pigs bbq

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy blueberry chipotle bbq ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Twelve Bones, a small shop in Asheville (with another location in Arden), has very good ribs and brisket. We were pleasantly surprised with the delicious blueberry chipotle sauce that was used on the ribs - not too sweet or vinegary, with a pronounced blueberry flavor and a slow burning smokey flavor. The sides were pretty good, although everyone really liked the jalepeno grits. We did not care for the mac n'cheese or the greens.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twelve Bones South also viewed

Arden, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Arden, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Twelve Bones South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twelve Bones South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.