We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade Onion Rings!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JD's Tavern

JD's Tavern
800 W Williams St, Apex, NC 27502-5203
919-629-7285
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 110 Restaurants in Apex
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Homemade Onion Rings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have been here twice now, both times were great! They get their bread from Neomonde so it is really delicious. We have had the grilled wings (yummy), the reuben (the marbled rye bread was to die for), fish and chips (crispy and fresh tasting fish) and burger (the brioche roll was as good as the delicious burger. We have eaten inside and on the outside patio....both very nice! JD's is in a small strip center, but a restaurant well worth trying. Oh...and the sanitation grade was 97 ( a very important factor for me). We will frequent this place again often!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and friendly casual dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I live pretty close to JD's and decided to finally check it out. We went for post-work drinks and appetizers (buffalo shrimp and grilled wings) The staff made us feel welcome and taken care of.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“TERRIBLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Don't believe the false ratings. Small portions, poorly presented and prepared foods. Big ripoff. We've gone two times and each time was a big disappointment. the one good thing is the bartender makes great drinks.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, NC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A great go-to place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Love that this place is close to home and the wait staff is really friendly. They could have a better variety on their menu, especially for starters, but everything I've ordered has been great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great local food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Outstanding cheesesteak and the ranch on the salad is pure bliss. Loud sports bar atmosphere at times, so expect it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JD's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JD's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.