We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Beach & Pool , dreadful food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay

Save Saved
You added Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kizilagac Koyu Gerenkuyu Mevki Bodrum Merkez, Yaliciftlik 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Yaliciftlik
Surrey, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic Beach & Pool , dreadful food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

For crystal clear swimming, be it in the pool or sea, you cant fault this place. Views are lovely , and a huge cordoned off sea area with no jelly fish ( what a change!) makes swimming in the sea a real treat.
Food on the other hand is dreadful. Olives restaurant is dreary , and standard package tour vats of processed salad etc. You eat better on a sunsail holiday than in Olives.
The Italian is in a lovely setting but the food is poor and I suspect largely frozen- certainly the shape of the chicken parmigiana suggested it had not come directly from a chicken!
The drinks are also ridiculously priced. Whilst the sunbathing areas are truly delightful, the price of drinks is soooo dear it takes all the fun out of being holiday. Net result- bars are deserted and lack atmosphere.
The sunbathing and swimming nearly make up for the lousy food , but it would be great if the management could actually bother to change the standards of food and thereby create a true 5* hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gizem O, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your constructive comments with us, all of which have been seriously taken into consideration. We would like to hereby let you know that, we have been seriously reviewing the necessary measures and taking actions for a better Food and Beverage experience.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel, and creating much more memorable experiences for you.

Kind regards,
Gizem Oflazoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    97
    38
    19
    8
See reviews for
120
199
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was very impressed with this property it sits on a hill surrounded by water therefore it has great views .I was also upgraded to a suite the size of an apartment,the bathrooms are quite spacious and the terrace was a haven.Having said that the resort is in the middle of nowhere you need a car to get to Bodrum on a dark narrow road.I never swam in the sea the beach was far and low you need an elevator or a golf cart.The pool grounds and service were excellent .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gizem O, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your nice experience and thoughts with us!

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards,
Gizem Oflazoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location sitting high above the bay is stunning. The facilities are superb. From the outdoor pool to the spa - everything is as you would expect from a 5* establishment.
My wife and I arranged a joint hamam in the spa and would thoroughly recommend it.
We used the (empty) spa pool every morning before breakfast - made easier because breakfast is served until midday.
The staff were pleasant, attentive without being overbearing, and extremely well trained.
One downside would be the prices in the bars and restaurants - we felt that it was unnecessarily expensive. OK, it's a 5* hotel, but we felt the prices were over the top.
All is not lost, however, because the local bus stops at the hotel gate and will take you to Bodrum town for all of 5TL.
We will absolutely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gizem O, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your nice experience, with such nice words. Your valuable comments have been shared with the whole team, which is highly motivating. Last but not the least, your comments regarding our Food and Beverage prices have been taken into consideration, and shared with the relevant department to be further reviewed.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Kind regards,
Gizem Oflazoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This resort is well-located with wonderful views and good 20 minute drive from Bodrum harbor, we went when it was very quiet in early November for half term, we had great relaxing few days but for children it was too quite ,kids club was closed and all the water sport activities were shut, but the hotel itself is very nice, spotless and wonderful, The indoor and outdoor pools are great. The service is amazing. most resturants are closed apart from one due to the low season.

love it

Room Tip: ask for sea view rooms it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gizem O, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your nice experience, which gives us motivation and puts a smile on the face of the whole team!

We will be looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards,
Gizem Oflazoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idf
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The view on the bay and the sea is magnificent . We were upgraded to a huge suite which was very nice .
However one should know the beach is a pebble beach .
More sad the staff is generally unhelpful be it with concierge who failed to send us a car at airport pick up and could not recognize his mistake until I complained to management or be it with who ever sits at water sports center ( absent , on a life long siesta?)
Hotel is big and needs to get used to it to find your way .
Interesting choice of restaurants.
very nice pool and nice spa
Hotel is far from anything but very good to just stay there and relax.
Beach restaurant is very nicely located , nice sea food and very pleasent and helpful staff

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gizem O, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time in sharing your experience.

Being very sorry to hear that some of the aspects of your stay have not been up to your expectations, we would like to assure you that your comments have been taken into consideration, and have been shared with the relevant departments for necessary actions to be taken immediately.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in our hotel,
Kind regards,
Gizem Oflazoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Location: Best location in the Bodrum Peninsula. Located on the southern side, isolated from the wind (the northern bays get more annoying wind). 15 minute ride to Bodrum downtown, easy access to all other bays (Torba, Türkbükü etc.). Fantastic beach, great views from ALL rooms. Compare that with Türkbükü (overcrowded, hard to get to) or Torba (ruined by Voyage ETS); or the quasi-suburbia of Yalıkavak and Gündoğan. Or the far away and isolated Gümüşlük.

Service: The service level and the professionality of the staff are top-notch and unmatched in Bodrum. Great training, great customer focus, very prompt in all requests and they all go the extra mile to make your stay a pleasant one. The Front Desk is especially great, kudos to them - very warm welcome and accomodating all requests with a welcoming smile...

Food: La Luce (Italian) was great, yet I thought Saigon (Asian Fusion) was below that level. Olives (open buffet) is a very good choice - great mix and great cooking on all fronts...

Room Service and Housekeeping: Always prompt and professional.

Spa and Fitness Center: Very good spa, I recommend the Hamam Massage. The jacuzzi water should have been warmer. Indoor pool will accomodate you in cold/rainy days...

Overall, I'd say the Barbaros Kempinski is by far the best choice in the Bodrum Peninsula.

Room Tip: Standard rooms do have a seaview but with a slight angle. Go for the Deluxe rooms if you can - fanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gizem O, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time for sharing your experience. We have been delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us, and happy that our attention to details you have mentioned has met your expectations. Your comments regarding Saigon and the jacuzzi pool have been taken into consideration and been shared with the related departments for necessary actions to be taken.

We will be very much looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel,

Kind regards,
Gizem Oflazoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This resort is well-located with wonderful views over the Aegean sea. It is well indicated for scuba divers (of which we are), wakeboarders (of which we are), swimmers (of which we are) and spa aficionados. Of course, if you like city life, this isn't it, and Bodrum, a highly touristic place, is 20 minutes away and cannot count as a centre of Urban Life. We were there in October, the hotel was almost empty the first days, which was nice. Then it filled up and of course you get a little les attention and more crying kids (they do have an 'adult only' beach, but only in high season. The restaurants are good (especially Saigon) but surprinsingly expensive in proportion to the room prices.

Room Tip: Rooms all have a vie of the sea, so the higher, the better. All room categories have sea-view, the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gizem O, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for taking your valuable time in sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you have had a pleasant stay with us. The comments you have pointed out, have already been shared with the team, in order to be evaluated.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Kind regards,
Gizem Oflazoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay

Address: Kizilagac Koyu Gerenkuyu Mevki Bodrum Merkez, Yaliciftlik 48400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Yaliciftlik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Yaliciftlik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letting time stand still, escaping to be pampered in a place where the blue of the Aegean and the cobalt sky merge seamlessly into infinity, that’s a luxury not everyone gets to experience… Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay brings you an oasis of serenity, kissed by the pure sea and caressed by the gentle breeze, where you can luxuriate in the world renowned Six Senses Spa, lose yourself in daydreams on the private beach, or discover 3,000 years of history that feels like yesterday. At Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, you will discover the luxury of making time stand still…Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay has been awarded: by Condé Nast Traveller amongst "Condé Nast Traveller, amongst “Best 10 Hotel Spas in Europe, Asia Minor & Russian Federation” - 2012GeoSaison, amogst “100 Best Hotels in Europe” - 201210 Best Hotel Spa in Europe, Asia Minor & Russian Federation" - 2011, by Condé Nast Traveller as the "Favorite Hotel Spa in Europe, Asia Minor & Russian Federation" and selected amongst "The Best 25 Spas in the World" - 2010, by World Luxury Hotel Awards as "World’s Best Luxury Coastal Resort – 2009", by Senses Magazine as "Best Beach Resort in the World - 2009", by Condé Nast Traveller as "Best European Hotel Spa – 2008", by Condé Nast Traveller as "One of the Sexiest Beaches in the World – 2007". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Yaliciftlik
Kempinski Resort Yaliciftlik
Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay Turkey/Yaliciftlik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.