We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampering, family like service & breath taking nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hapimag Resort Sea Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hapimag Resort Sea Garden to your Saves list
Hapimag Resort Sea Garden
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yali Ciftlik Mevki Bodrum, Yaliciftlik 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Yaliciftlik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pampering, family like service & breath taking nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Super service, enjoyed every minute of 10 days we spent. Stayed at the hotel side, hammocks under pine trees were so good.

Minibuses leaving from the hotel to Bodrum town center were very handy (we used it twice and didn't wait more then 15 minuets when we arrived to the bus stop, very economical too, 2-3 Euros one way)

Once you learn the campus map, walking from on side to other turns into a pleasurable nature walk (I heard some guests moaning about the walk and insisting on waiting for the shuttle service, I thing they were missing the opportunity to enjoy the nature)

We will be back : )

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    130
    70
    23
    23
See reviews for
215
103
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Slough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We travelled with Mark Warner to Sea Garden in mid Sept for one week with our 3 year old son. I did a regular check of all these reviews before we left dreading the food situation, particularly as I don't eat meat but I am pleased to inform you that I needn't have stressed. The variety and quality is really very good. We decided to use both our vouchers for the Turkish nights as they were so good, although the one on the Monday night was better than the Thursday one, simply because there was more food stalls open. We had also heard so so reviews from other holiday makers for the other voucher offerings so we didn't bother. But the Laguna, down by the beach and the Amphora are both very nice. The waiting staff are also brilliant and as long as you can forgive some delays in clearing plates and replacing cutlery (not all the time, and they do get through a high number of covers with each meal time) then the dining experience is great.
The best part of this trip though was the relaxation and child care. We have never travelled with Mark Warner, to be honest I was always under the impression that it would be out of our price range, but as we travelled during term time the cost was surprisingly good value especially as it was all inclusive. The MW child care staff are excellent and our son settled into his afternoon Mini Club straight away. The activities they get up to are varied, educational and fun and we had no fuss from him going off there every afternoon which meant that the hubby and I were free for three hours to relax, read our books and top up our tan by the beach.
As it was term time we never had much trouble finding tables in the restaurants and loungers on the beach or pool areas. However, breakfasts in particular did seem to get quite busy in the Laguna, so I can only imagine this would be worse in the school holidays.
Unfortunately neither of us sampled any of the sailing MW activities and our son did more than we did, but that was just the way we wanted it. We had a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable time in a resort that was all I had hoped it would be.

Room Tip: We staying in Block 2 which was good as we were near the Laguna restaurant for breakfast and the kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I'm sat waiting for our flight home so thought would write a review. Having read reviews like you now before booking I wasn't sure what to expect re negative reviews even though the resort gets four out of five. Overall it's a great place with a few niggles like any place which most reviewers make a fuss about and over exaggerate as if they were expecting a stay at The Sheraton. Ignore the moaners here's what it's really like:

Flight check in etc
All good and efficient, T5 on BA if traveling from Heathrow

Rooms
Nice neutral colours and super clean, bed a bit hard but not to spoil things, good size bathroom and hot shower. Rooms in top floors or the sea view may need stairs - we had a baby buggy but it takes 30 secs to carry up so not a major issue - the whole resort is on a hill which makes for great views but some stairs so take a light buggy it's not a big deal. Prob wouldn't pay the 100 Gbp extra for sea view next time though

Pool and beach
Several lovely pools with great views and secluded beach. Pool water was cold but fine once in and cleared any hangover. Nice decked areas near beach sand a bit stony but water clear with fish for snorkelling. Good water sports area with friendly mark Warner staff. Great weather !

Child Care
Excellent both daytime which you must book in advance and free drop in eve crèche. I read a review complaining about having to walk up to the top of the resort for eve crèche but room at bottom - it's a 5 min walk so nothing to moan about and through lovely gardens

Resort
Lovely layout views and sunset. There is another resort other side with free golf club buggy transfer if you fancy a change with nice pool and good play area for young kids but not part of all inclusive. Sunset bar really nice. Inbetween 2 resorts is mini Bodrum street with bars and nightclub and theatre, a bit Disney but very well done. Great gym spa and Hammam with peaceful garden to rest in. Staff constantly mopping and cleaning they deserve an award for cleanliness

Food
Pretty good overall it's buffet so not fine dining but good esp if you choose carefully. You get vouchers for 2 a la carte restaurants per week cha cha Mexican and pizza place good. Wine average but drinkable. I read a review complaining about flies around the food, there are some but that's what happens abroad get over it!

Value
Finally it is good value here. We paid for a week £400 pp oct 13 all inc 300 off rack rate with mark Warner plus £180 for 3 hours afternoon childcare per day plus free eve crèche . Spa treatment about £30 each.

Great place for a family holiday - I hope you enjoy it!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

3rd trip to Sea Garden with Mark Warner. Stayed 20/07 – 03/08. Flights from T5 a pleasure. Transfer is 40 mins and quite bumpy! Check in smooth and bags taken to room. Hotel facilities great. The rooms are a good size. We had a camp bed for our 5 year old and a cot for our 6 month old, the room never felt cramped. There are minor maintenance issues in the rooms, but nothing to spoil a holiday. Pools clean and a good gym. Lovely running to be had on the hills behind the resort, do not run after 9:00am or before 6pm, it is just too hot, don’t even kid yourself – the cool breeze in the resort will lull you into a false sense of security.

Sailing: Wind was good overall. There is little or no wind most mornings until 11:30 when it starts to build. The wind starts to die at 16:30 most days. There were a couple of very windy days when the wind was up at 15 knots at 09:00, the wind then built all day with gusts reaching 25+ knots. The gusts can be treacherous. The sailing area will suit beginners and early intermediates. Advanced sailors will feel restricted by the light winds, the relatively small (un-buoyed) and narrow sailing area. Overall the resort was not busy with people wanting to sail, however queues could quickly build as you have to wait for your boat to be rigged and to be shuttled to your boat as there is no beach launching

Mark Warner resort team were genuinely fantastic. Darren, Sarah and Jen were just amazing. Whist my wife was sick they offered assistance and showed genuine concern. They also dealt with other incidents with the highest standards of professionalism, compassion and discretion. Mark warner should be proud of them.

Highly recommend the resort for people with children over 6, see issue below though, hope MW can resolve some ready for next years.

Issue 1: block 1 is the only block with step free access. We requested a step free room on booking as we would be bringing a pram and 6 month old, we were put in a room in block 2 for the first 5 nights until a room in block 1 was available, carrying prams up and down stairs was a real pain. I’d suggest e-mailing the hotel directly as this is the second time MW have failed to get this right for us, e-mail: Bodrum at hapimag.com

Issue 2: there is mixed opinion on the food. I felt it was a little better than previous visits, though very boring after two weeks. My advice is to avoid bbq’d chicken on the bone, it is always undercooked. My wife had very bad food poisoning during our stay. The hotel were great and did everything they could to investigate and help. The executive chef came to meet me personally and offered to cook a special diet with light broths for my wife. This was greatly appreciated. In all honesty I suspect it was poor guest hand hygiene on the serving utensils that caused the illness.

Issue 3: the evening childcare has now been moved from the day-care centre (near the beach) to the main hotel building up the hill above Amphora. That means a whole load of traipsing up and down the hill between room, dinner, bar and childcare. In the end we settled for taking the children up for a later dinner at 6:45pm in the PJs and then straight to childcare at 7:30pm. We usually did not fancy walking all the way down the hill again for drinks at the sunset bar. This really impacted the social aspect of the holiday. This also means carrying sleeping children all the way down from the hotel at 11:00pm. For that reason we would not recommend Sea Garden anymore for anyone with children under 6, it is clearly excellent for older children though.

Issue 4: there is the usual problem of “boat parts waiting to come through customs from Greece” that leaves boats in poor condition or out of commission. This sometimes means that the boat you want is either not available or booked out to a private lesson, it is simply not good enough when parts are freely available in the UK and could be shipped on the chartered flights each week.
1 of 3 Dart16s was in service, the other two had no mast or rigging
1 of 2 Bahias was in service, the other one was waiting for parts
5 Lasers were in service (rigging variable quality, most tiller grips missing and replaced with tape)
11 Picos were in service

Room Tip: Block 1 for step free access. Otherwise if steps don't bother you then ask for an upper rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After weeks of holiday research we finally booked a very much needed and very last minute Mark Warner holiday to Hapimag Sea Garden near Bodrum. I must add I am a Mark Warner virgin and made the booking with much trepidation as Turkey wasn't originally on my list of places to visit either but given it was the first week of October I thought we would at the very least just get some much needed sun. Having paid such a good price for the holiday I was pleased just to be going away!

Mark Warner were brilliant when making the booking and throughout the holiday. The British Airways charter flight from Heathrow was an added bonus and we opted for an interconnecting room for our 2.5 year old son. We were met by MW representatives and travelled 45 mins by coach to the resort. Unbelievably however the weather upon arrival was colder than in London (some freak gale blowing from Russia) and the property did seem quite bleak initially. I believe the Sea Garden is one of their older properties (it isn't actually owned by Mark Warner but by the Swiss company Hapimag) and is built into a hillside. There are ramps and steps throughout which did make getting around with a toddler a lot easier however this is something you might want to consider before booking. Thankfully after the initial cold spell the weather was absolutely glorious with clear blue skies and sunshine for the entire week with temperatures peaking 33 degrees on the day of our departure.

Check in at the hotel was completely painless and our bags were taken to our room for us whilst we ate a late lunch. The bedrooms, although basic, were very clean, functional and spacious and we were so pleased we had paid for the two rooms both with ensuite which gave us so much space. The sandy and pebble beach although small is perfectly adequate and has a nice decked area and there are plenty of sunshades and beds. The sea is so clean and clear with large pebbles as you enter but perfect for our son to paddle about. Our rooms (block 2) were very close to the Toddlers Club, beach and main restaurant where breakfast and lunch are served which was great. The property is all inclusive which definitely has it's benefits although the buffets do get terribly monotonous despite the mountain of food that is provided at every meal. I would say that the food lets this property down more than anything else although they do try hard and the choice is endless. It is just rather bland. The service throughout the resort was excellent, smiles all round and nothing too much trouble. As soon as a child (or clumsy adult!) dropped anything someone swooped in and cleared away the mess. The children's high tea at 5.30pm was good too with plenty of selection to please even the most fussy of eaters! Included in the 'all inclusive' are vouchers for 2 dinners at 2 of the other restaurants however we didn't find the food any better than in the main buffet though it was nice for a change of scene.

For us the best thing about the holiday was the kids club and night creche. All the MW girls were FANTASTIC (Sarah, Chess, Leah, Tash...alnd all the others) our little boy enjoyed his 3hrs in the afternoon so much and they really make such a fuss of the little ones. The drop in night creche was amazing and completely transformed our holiday experience as we could drop him off at 7.30pm to watch a suitable film and tell them what time we wanted him in bed (they set up little camp beds in a makeshift dormitory, very cute!) and knew that he was in safe hands. We were never later than 10pm but the service is there till 11pm if needed. All of this was included in the holiday price which was just brilliant.

The resort has a few little shops and other restaurants in an area they call "Mini Bodrum" and there's nightly entertainment however we didn't go to this. Bodrum is a 25 minute minibus ride away which made for a pleasant change of scene and it was good to choose something we actually wanted to eat off a menu! The minibus service is very easy, runs every half hour and costs 5 Lira each.

My husband sailed every day and waterskied in the other bay (the village side of the resort where there is a really calm bay, waterskiing, children's playground and sandpit) at an additional cost. I had a Swedish massage at the beauty centre which was very good and very reasonably priced.

Check out, although easy, was far too early and seeing as most people there seem to have young children I think they need to address this. Our flight wasn't till 3.40pm however we had to surrender our bags at 9.30am and check out of our room by 10am. The coach transfer also left the hotel too early meaning the half day of holiday was really eaten in to. That said, although swanky and new, Bodrum airport is a joke; it took us 1hr 15 mins just to check in for the flight and they weren't even busy! I don't really understand why the hotel can't check everyone in for the flight seeing as everyone on the flight is staying at the hotel??

That said, overall we all had a really good week's break in a nice spot with some excellent weather and an amazing team in the toddlers club. I would like to try one of Mark Warner's other resorts perhaps in Greece which are actually owned and run purely by Mark Warner...just for the childcare!

Room Tip: If you have young children try and get a room as close to the toddlers club as possible then you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned from a week here as part of a Mark Warner holiday. The Mark Warner part was great. Really efficient transfers, excellent welcome staff and most importantly the childcare staff and program were 1st class. Special mention to Katie, Sara, Chess and Leah. Thank you for looking after the children so well!!

Sea Garden resort itself is pretty good. Rooms were clean and modern, the setting is nice and the beach was good.

On the downside, it could have done with a heated outdoor pool (probably not as issue in August), but mainly the food was pretty poor and the choice is limited. 3 of the 4 us got a dodgy belly at one point. The service in the restaurants was also very average.

Would I go back? If Mark Warner ran the place I definitely would. As it currently is - maybe.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We booked as a Mark Warner customer.

This is a Turkish hotel with a Mark Warner tag on of sailing and child care. It is owned by Hapimag so there are various nationalities.

The hotel is well kept, the rooms well cleaned. For the food there is great choice although anything after a certain length of time it becomes repetitive.

We spent two weeks - the first week the service was appalling the waiting staff had been reduced. In the Laguna on a 'fish' night there was one waiter plus maitre de to 100 people poor chap was so stressed.

The second week there was v much an end of season feel - food choice reduced, restaurant choice reduced but better staffing - stretch classes ect and volley ball stopped.

The hotel is situated in a valley of trees and the walking area is lovely great to get off site. You need proper shoes as the paths are v clearly marked but not easy going but well worth it.

We went on an excursion on a gullet - this would have been dreadful apart from the fact we moved last minuet down to the bow of the boat that had only 6 sun beds and met one lovely fellow MW couple - initially we had gone up stairs it consisted of probably 50 + sun beds side by side looking like a tin of rather white and off sardines - more than grim. I believe all 8 of us from the Sea Garden regretted it! We all would have preferred to pay more. Not sure the person who organises the trip is sensitive to her clients. As when asked if we enjoyed it, she advised us young kids love it! None of us I'm afraid are young kids!

The Mark Warner staff are always fantastic but the beach area compared to other MW is tiny and boat choice limited with some kit broken due to a hard summer.

The hotel is what it says BUT it doesn't have the fun relaxed feel of real MW resorts why MW is there I have no idea - i guess to fill rooms for hapimag. Not having the tennis, aerobics, cycling with MW staff lacked any enthusiasm and the local staff didn't remember you from one time to the next. Sitting next to other guests from various parts of Europe is great but unless you are a linguist is challenging and short lived in interest for all.

We have stayed at many other MW and other competitors resorts. Our children have worked for the company completing various seasons. They do it so well - why dilute a brilliant thing? We wouldn't return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hapimag Resort Sea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hapimag Resort Sea Garden

Address: Yali Ciftlik Mevki Bodrum, Yaliciftlik 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Yaliciftlik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Yaliciftlik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hapimag Resort Sea Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise where the dreams of water sports enthusiasts and families come true. Children can play and discover new sporting activities on the beach, teenagers get together on boat trips, while parents relax in the Knidos Wellness Center. Sample culinary delights from many countries or go on excursions into history. Bodrum has a dry, mild climate, making it an insider tip for winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hapimag Resort Sea Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hapimag Resort Sea Garden Hotel Bodrum
Hapimag Resort Sea Garden Turkey/Yaliciftlik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hapimag Resort Sea Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.