We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fair Review.....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alta Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Turgutreis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alta Beach Hotel
Save
You added Alta Beach Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gazi Mustafa Kemal Pasa Bulv. No:87, Turgutreis 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 60 Hotels in Turgutreis
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Fair Review.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My Partner and myself have recently returned home after spending a fortnight at the Alta Beach Hotel.
To begin with I feel I should say that we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday as we went with limited expectations as the holiday was extremely cheap and you do get what you pay for!
When we arrived at the Hotel, we were escorted to a three bedded room at the side of the hotel that was extremely small and with no view at all. There was no balcony and the door and electrics seemed extremely unsafe. As we were tired however, we did not complain until the following morning when without hesitation we were moved to a Family Suite overlooking the smaller pool which although in need of an overall, was sufficient.
The food at the hotel needed much improvement as not only was it never more than luke warm but there was very little choice requiring us to eat out on a few occasions.
However, i did not at any time witness the Staff being rude. They were always pleasant and eager to help us. I think that their English was extremely limited and this may have come across as being rude to some of the customers.
Another downfall of this Hotel was that the only places to sit in the evening was around the poolside or overlooking the marina. I did not witness any entertainment on any night other than loud dance music.
On a positive note however, the Hotel was in a great position overlooking the Marina and about a 10 minute walk from the centre. Buses were in abundance and ridiculously cheap. We spent some time getting out and about visiting other resorts which was well worth the effort.
Also the pool area, restaurant and rooms were cleaned on a daily basis. There were cats and dogs roaming around but this is what we expected in Turkey as there is an abundance of homeless animals. This never caused a problem for us as being animal lovers we were always quick to acknowledge and fuss these friendly animals.
Overall, I would say if you want 5 star luxury then pay for it, otherwise make the most of a cheap holiday in a delightful country!

Room Tip: Get a Family Suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    36
    26
    66
See reviews for
40
87
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Having just stayed 7 days at the Alta Beach Hotel I can stay I have never ever stayed in a hotel which was so poor. I know its 3 star but but it would struggle to be 1 star.

Major Points
The room 6202 which 1 of our party was put a dog would not be happy with MOULD EVERYWHERE, TERRIBLE SMELL NOT FIT TO LIVE IN
This was not the only room in very poor condition
Food cold and that's not just the salad very poor quality and comes in from a sister hotel
Majority of staff need hotel management training on how to treat paying customers. Manger very rude when he did manage to speak to you
Our room not cleaned very well in poor state of repair
Door security poor looked as if door had been kicked in several times
Patio door glass broken
View from patio wash a rubbish dump and a peeling whitewash brick wall could not use.
Pool areas in the morning dirty.

Good Points
None

I have not made these comments lightly as we enjoyed the area and the people we meet where very nice. We where even given a free breakfast at the ASLAM HOTEL just down the road and FREE FRUIT at the LAPINKINT on the beach (sorry if the spelling wrong) as they felt sorry for us.

If you are thinking of staying at this hotel I would look at bad comments, the people that are making them are making true comments and other guests said the same about the hotel.
This has been our seventh time in Turkey and would return but not at any of the three UZUN Hotels which ALTA Beach is one.

I have given a 1 rating for this hotel and I don't think it deserves that

Room Tip: Don't Go
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We arrived at 3/4am with our hotel transfer offering us money to NOT stay there describing it as 'the end of the world'. We laughed it off of course until we saw our room....

Hotel entrance ok,pool and bar adequate,4 'bed' rooms at the back of the hotel are not unlike a bedsit. Our bathroom was an open sewer but we decided to sort it first thing in the morning as we were knackered and our front desk guy couldn't speak English.

The next morning we were smirked at and told we should come back in two days for a room change. We decided to leave it as the rooms were exactly the same throughout.

If you are young girls also beware-we caught a local groping himself while watching us sunbathe by the pool and another bloke said he'd give a discount on a bag at the local market if he could cop a feel. Awful.

On leaving (FYI never been on a holiday where we wanted to go home!) we were not allowed a shower room to freshen up before our late flight,but luckily some girls we met were allowed one so we used theirs.

To summarise: pervy,unhygienic,poor food (we ditched the restaurant after 3 days as was mainly cold random meat and salad. So much salad!) please don't book here!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Arrived at around 4:00am, 3 adults and an infant, were taken to our first room, on the ground floor around the back of the hotel, where we noticed they put most of the English, staff left as soon as he opened the door, lights did not work, a very strange pink smear up the wall, poorly hidden by a shabby old chair, bits of the ceiling all over the beds, floor. Vile 'shower room' black mould all over the walls and ceiling. Bedroom had mould. Wires hanging out of walls, very unsuitable and dangerous for my 1 year old daughter. Moved rooms twice more second was better than first but third best out of all. Room 7303. Food absolutely vile, stood waiting several times outside restaurant for doors to open, only to still be greeted by cold slop. Greedy people so be aware and get your food quickly. Found out days before we left a rumour the food is brought in from somewhere else. Staff, well most miserable and unwilling to help, bar staff are pisstakers who make out they dont understand what beer means. Mohammed is a very nice man. Manager is very smug! Overall stay was crap, if it wasn't for all the nice people we met, who argued and slated just as much as we did, the scenery from our room and the main beach in the town centre, think there would have been an early flight home. I recommend lapacante (not sure if thats right) on the seafront. Ask for a man named ziki or curly, very lovely people.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

All the bad reviews are true We have just come back from the Alta Beach the rooms were filthy and the food was awfull Ok you expect things to be basic but clean I woke up one night with a huge cockeroach on my bed and then had to go to the supermarket to buy pest control to deal with the others we found then there was the security issue we were in a room three flights up with room door looking as though it had been kicked in patio door that wouldnt lock a telephone without a socket to plug into and people walking around on the roof in the night we eventually changed hotels which was lovely Olympic holidays has let us down badly no rep even though we tried to contact him a number of times we have come back feeling quite ill Turgutries is lovely the local people very nice but Alta Beach hell

Room Tip: Dont Go which ever one you book you wont get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnham on sea
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL AT ANY COST .......it is absolutley vile dirty shabby rooms....rude and ignorant staff ....cold "food" ( I wouldnt give it too pigs)....filthy dirty swimming pools......and to top it all cats and dogs living in the grounds it is disgusting. The best part of my "holiday" was the flight home !!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

It was love at 1st sight when my daughter arrived at the hotel-it is very pretty and well kept. Our room on the 2nd floor was simple and spotlessly clean and the cleaner came every day. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming and very attentive and the atmosphere was very relaxed and easygoing-perfect when you're on your hard-earned holidays! The pools are very clean and the surrounding area is well maintained with beautiful shrubs and trees. We were happy with the food too-lovely fresh salads,choice of 2 mains and lots of cakes and fruit. We ate out a few evenings at a local restaurant "The Codfather"-the food was very good and I particularly recommend the amphora kebab.We were well looked after by Arif,Jason and the lads who were so entertaining and charming and helped to make our holiday special. We would definitely go back to Alta Beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alta Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Beach Hotel

Address: Gazi Mustafa Kemal Pasa Bulv. No:87, Turgutreis 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 60 Hotels in Turgutreis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alta Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alta Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.