We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mix of good and bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rixos Premium Bodrum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rixos Premium Bodrum to your Saves list
Rixos Premium Bodrum
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torba Mahallesi, Heredot Bulvari, No. 15 | Bodrum, Mugla, Turkey, Torba 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Torba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Mix of good and bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Start with the bad... arrived and given an awful room. Half the hotel has these 'promo' rooms. The hotel is built on a cliffe and block 4000 rooms are at the top, next to the road, with hundreds of steps up to this level. 3000 level is as bad, so beware what you book. These rooms have no outside balcony or outside sitting area and most face blank walls.
Inside there is only one chair, the beds are very hard and the shower & toilet are combined, so that the floor is wet all the time, very dangerous when you go to the loo.

The All inclusive is a total mith, you have the use of the buffet ONLY in the evening.
If you wish to pay the $9 dollar per person, extra you can use any of the four 'a la cartes'. However, during the day, as well as the buffet, you do have both the pool bar and the Turkish restaurents for light snacks.

The noise is awful from two areas and we had to wear ear plugs during the day:-
1. From the building work behind the hotel, huge CAT diggers breaking rocks all day.
2. From the Blue Dreams hotel next door, which had very loud music all day.

The 'beach' is very small, just as strip of shingly sand.

OK now for the GOOD news. Comfy sunbeds on the three decks. Very clear sea, excellent for swimming, but no good for snorkling, nothing to see.
Water sport facitlities very good, canoes, pedloes, windsurfers all free and good wind.

The rooms 1000 & 2000 ajoining the main building are much better, big balconies and not so far to walk up to them. There are a series of hair-pin walkways for pushchairs.

The food in the buffet and all the restaurents is excellent, the staff are very efficient and friendly. The entertainment staff do a good job during the day, join in if you want, or don't.
The evening entertainment is excellent, with a mix of live bands and theatre shows.
Great cinema with good films. Spa facilities fantastic.

We eventually enjoyed the holiday because, after complaining to the Management, we received a suitable room for the money we had paid and we could use all the restraunts
in our All Inc package. Otherwise, it would have been a great disappointment.

So book with caution.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    118
    73
    43
    27
See reviews for
254
198
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

The Rixos is a beautiful Hotel of that there is no doubt. The room we had was particularly spacious with an extensive balcony. We arrived late evening to find the Hotel alive with guests. We were taken to our room by golf buggy (we called them Tuc Tucs). We were now, we later discovered 205 steps from the Swimming Pool with NO lift!! Communication with the Guest Relations desk was all but useless, our toilet flush went wrong and the y sent a man with a corkscrew,, he fetched a lady who brought toilet rolls.. she sent a person with a mug ( the latter being in response to a request for arepalacement for a badly cracked on... we gave up!! The mini bar was supposed to be replennished automatically everyday.. this happenned once only.. with out us having to ring guest relations!! The food... the cold Buffet was good, the deserts were excellent, the bread excellent... the rest very poor indeed. Most dishes looked as if they had been prepared the day before then reheated. Many dishes made from leftovers. Nice crispy whitebait reincarnated as Steamed Anchovies!! WHO are these people kidding Not me!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Have just returned from the Rixos Beach Hotel and can only speak as we found. It was a great hotel in beautiful surroundings and if you are fortunate enough to be going in the next few weeks make the most of the all inclusive as this is going to change to B & B next year which is a great shame.

The staff were great, good sense of humour all round and if there were any problems, some of which were only minor, they were sorted out straight away.

Whoever describes this as a Hi de Hi holiday camp must be very hard to please! We had a bit of loud music a couple of nights from the disco but it certainly did not spoil it. The food in all the restaurants was fantastic and drinks were served non stop whenever you wished to partake!! The beach is small but very private and always plenty of sunbeds to chose from. Sitting with your feet in the water and fish nibbling away at them was an experience people pay lots of money for in London! (New craze those at the hi de hi holiday camp may like to try)

All in all would definitely recommend and would love to return.

trying to please everyone.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel which has recently been updated and improved. Our room was clean and big enough but not massive. The bathroom was clean with the best shower/wet room i've ever had in any hotel i've stayed in. Toiletries and the mini bar were topped up daily and towels replaced daily. There was a safe in the room included which we've usually had to pay extra for, and ample storage space with dressing gowns and slippers included.
The food in the main buffet restaurant was good with plenty of choice and freshly cooked options always available and we had NO problems with upset tummys and didn't hear of anyone having any problems at all. there was always a fabulous sweet selection.The one problem we found was that the waiters,who were all very nice and friendly, were overworked and in a great hurry to clear tables so drinks and food could be cleared away before you were finished if you were not careful. Equally my husband's plate, who always finishes eating before me, would be cleared away whilst i was still eating. Drinks orders could take quite a long time to come so not really what we would class as 5star service. We tried only one of the A la carte restaurants but did have 4 vouchers to go to any of the restaurants during our 2 week stay. Again we felt rushed and there was a lack of choice so didn't bother going to any of the others as we were quite happy with the main buffet.
We usually ate at the pool bar restaurant for lunch which had a good choice and was a nice change from the main buffet. We could have eaten non stop if we wished so there was no reason to go hungry at all! The drinks choice was the best we have ever had on all inclusive even including cocktails of all descriptions and the house wines were very palatable. Anything that you wished to have which was not included was always charged at a huge premium!!
The hotel entertainment team and shows were the best i've ever seen at all inclusive. The shows were very professional with a fabulous stage, sound system, costumes and variety. The night disco was quite loud going on very late. It didn't bother us as our room was quite a way from it but i can see how rooms close to it would be disturbed so if you are not a disco person you should ask to be well away from it when booking your room preference.
The whole complex is built in a hillside which is very steep and consequently there are a lot of steps, we had 90, up to your rooms. This was not a problem to us as we are fit but worth considering if you are elderly or infirm. Also this complex is isolated with very tight security and 10km to the nearest town, Bodrum, on a duel carriageway, so you can't just pop out for a walk about on an evening wander if that is what you like to do.
The pool, beach and jetties all provide plenty of spaces to relax and are beautiful, but people do reserve sun beds with towels even though this is not supposed to be allowed. we never had a problem finding somewhere but we were out of main season so not sure what it would be like any other time.
The hotel has its own private island which has been recently reopened and is beautiful however we didn't always have access to this as the hotel seems to have a lot of very wealthy/important guests who seem to have priority over us poorer folks!! During our stay there was the prince of Kuwait and his family and body guards and then the president of Turkey and his guests and security guards so full access to all facilities were often restricted.
We heard whilst there that the hotel is changing to bed and breakfast next year. I suspect this is in an attempt to recoup some of the money they have spent on improvements. i fear that the cost of food and drinks will be very expensive as for example a moonlight dinner for two under the stars was charged at $350! Also i do not think that the hotel service is up to that quality so not sure how this will work out.
The indoor pool was freezing cold but the gym was excellent. The spa was expensive but we had a very good turkish bath and scrub on the last day after negotiating a 25% discount! The Cinema was a bit hit and miss films were up to date and shown in English with sub titles but we turned up a couple of times to watch an advertised film only to find they were showing football instead and it was very warm in there too.
Over all a great holiday but some issues which could do with being addressed we think to make it truly 5 star.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North yorks
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

we have just returned from a 1 week here, all i can say is we were over the moon that we had found a 5 star that we could return to a couple of times a year instead of going from 5 star to another 5 star in Turkey. Shame it is going b & b next year with all English tour operators.

the place is out of this world, i have been to alot 5 star and this is definatley more in the region of a 7 star, the staff were great, we did not have to move they were their waiting on you hand and foot, round the pool bringing you drinks every couple of hours, the food was great, we did not like the Italian restuarant but hey the rest of the food was great.

The rooms were lovely, the wet room was out of this world..... every where very clean and tidy, the pool games at mid day every day were a right laugh to watch. i didnt feel there was a hi de hi approach, i found the entertainment team none pressurising not like some 5 stars we had been to.

all i can say is i am very sad to not be returning to this hotel as it is paradise, loved the week and didnt want to come home.
The private island was lovely

the only downfall of the holdiay was Thomas cook airlines, as we had a 4.30hrs delay from newcastle going and 4 hour delay coming home with no apolgise from Thomas cook.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Just returned from our third holiday in 12 months here. We absolutely love it . Unfortunately not to be again! If anyone dosn't know yet ,or has booked all inclusive for next year already, it is stopping and becoming bed and breakfast basis only ! Thomsons are still advertising All inclusive in next years brochure !
Unless you will be prepaired to pay extortionate prices for every thing ,you also will not be returning ! You only need to look at the prices that they charge extra in the restaurants as a benchmark for things to come. It isn't like you can walk out to other bars and restaurants nearby ,as there arn't any for miles around!
We are really disappointed that we won't be returning , but I think that it will be out of many peoples price range ,especially the English !
SO WE ARE LOOKING FOR ' A GEM ' LIKE THIS ONE ! ANY SUGGESTIONS?





1I

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Remote location on a steep hill making it difficult to get about the hotel facilities if you have reduced mobility (heart, lung or limb problems). There is supposed to be a shuttle bus running every 30 minutes between 1200 to midnight from the beach to the rooms, but this was totally unreliable. Ladies forget wearing high heeled shoes, you will not be able to walk unless you are located in the main block.

Our room in block 4900 had been upgraded, looked smart with a nice bathroom, but the air conditioning did not work very well even after we asked for it to be fixed. At least we had something of a sea view, as many rooms back onto other blocks with no pleasing view at all.

The main reception in the hotel looks nice if bling is your thing. The main restaurant was very good with good quality food, a relaxed atmosphere where most people did not dress up for dinner. The themed restaurants are no longer part of the all inclusive deal and the fish restaurant on the island was closed. Staff were friendly although a bit rushed off their feet.

Entertainment has been cut back with no functions on the island. The Victory Day celebrations were held on the grass area between the pool and the beach with a short firework display from the jetty. Apart from the theatre and disco, there could have been more live entertainment in the evenings around the pool bar area. Usual pool games etc during the day.

The beach area is very small and overcrowded although the sea was nice and clear.

It would appear that this hotel will be going Bed and Breakfast next year (2011) with no all inclusive option, which will add to the overall cost of the holiday. As the hotel is in a remote location, there is no where outside the hotel to eat or drink other than in Bodrum which is twenty minutes away by bus.

Overall a pleasant hotel but not worthy of 5 star status. A good holiday hotel for young families with teenagers who could eat and drink as much as they like while it is still all inclusive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rixos Premium Bodrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Premium Bodrum

Address: Torba Mahallesi, Heredot Bulvari, No. 15 | Bodrum, Mugla, Turkey, Torba 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Torba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torba
#4 Family Hotel in Torba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torba
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Premium Bodrum 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bodrum Rixos Premium will provide the highest level of guest satisfaction and above the expectations of our guests will continue to live in a vacation.Our guests experience all the delights of international cuisine a la carte in restaurants, The body which is necessary for your health, including health and beautyproducts you can find everything in the Spa Center. 1 Indoor swimming pool, 2 outdoor pool area, kids club, water sports, diving school and lebanese-stylenightclub and restaurant.In case of need, medical consultant with the 24-hours clinical services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Rixos Premium Bodrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Premium Bodrum Hotel Bodrum
Bodrum Rixos Hotel
Rixos Hotel Bodrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rixos Premium Bodrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.