We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the pits - the worst place on the planet, dirty, flea ridden hole” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Etap Altinel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Etap Altinel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gazi Mustafa Kemal Bulvari no: 151, Torba 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 25 hotels in Torba
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
“the pits - the worst place on the planet, dirty, flea ridden hole”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

we had booked another hotel, but upon arrival told we had been upgraded to hotel with beautiful beach and location, as ours had been over booked the beach was ok but that was it. We went down a dirt track through a back door to the foyer, which stunk to high heaven, this was 3am in the morning so we thought we wait till morning to complain, rooms had filthy carpets and were old and smelly, breakfast was even worse hardly any choice, flies all over, nothing covered. They were constantly spraying with pesticides.
eventually managed to get transferred to our original hotel. (thank god), couldn't have stayed there. i wouldn't give it a 1 star rating. what a hell-hole...................

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    9
    10
    18
See reviews for
4
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stone, Staffordhsire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Upon arriving at the hotel we were impressed with the pretty location (pool beach etc) we had a normal room (not the annex which we heard from several other vistors is AWFUL) and the room was nice, (not 5* but we werent going to complain for having a reasonable deal).
HOWEVER this contentment with the hotel was short lived, 24hours into our 7day holiday my boyfriend became ill, and this lasted the remainder of the holiday. It even resulted in going to the HOSPITAL imid-week in which he spent a day in the hospital on a drip!!!!!
The doctor seemed sure it was food poisoning which considering we had paid all inclusive and with the hotel being in such a rural location was a massive concern.
We took our complaints to the hotel manager, (took a while to be seen to as we were behind another family of adults demanding to leave the hotel). His first reaction was to suggest my boyfriend to "go easy on the alcohol"!!!!!!!!!!!!! He hadnt had 1DROP of alcohol! we were greatly insulted at this remark and the hotel took no notice of our food poisoning complaint even though chat went around the pool of other people ALSO FALLING ILL or knowing someone who has.

We felt completely ripped off and conned by this hotel and I am shocked it is still running to be honest, certainly with such a manager who is happy to allow many people to become ill and refuse to take responsibility and suggest that those who are ill to be hungover!
This wasnt a holiday...it was a nightmare!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Our hotel was changed a month before we went to this hotel after reading the reviews we were not looking forward to arriving.
We arrived early hours of the morning as we arrived at the hotel we though this looks ok and the reception area was clean and new looking, check in was fast and we were shown to our hotel room which was down some steps when the door was opened we had a pleasent surprise the room looked freshly decorated and very clean. Our room overlooked the resteraunt which wasn't great as didnt feel like we could sit on the balcony but was nice.
Room was cleaned everyday fresh towels every day.
The food was ok something different everyday or I should say chicken everyday in a different sauce, the food wasn't hot though it was luke warm at best but neither of us got ill.
The pool area was very clean and the hotel has its own private beach the disappointment was the weather for us, had two days of rain and cloudy on another day.
You have to catch a Dolmus bus if you want to go anywhere as this hotel is off a main road, so if you like walking there isn't anywhere to go from the hotel.
The annex which is where some people said the rooms were awful, guests wern't aloud around there this looks to be an area for staff at the moment as they are doing some construction work by this bit. But the work doesn't disturb the holiday as it is in a seperate area.
To sum up I would say for the price we paid All inclusive £269 each for a week it is a bargain.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan ,uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

me and my partner went to the etap altinel in may 2008, we was told it was a 5* but as we only payd £250 each for a week alinc', i wasnt expecting a 5*. i would rate the hotel as a 3* and would of thaught maybe a 5* in 12-18months time, as there was refurbishments happening.(but didnt interfeer r spoil the hol) mostly paintin of the hotel.

the location was great, rite on the beach,the sunset was amazing!! the pier, deckin ares was great and new, all the sunloungers was new, and the pool was also great, pool was a lil cold but just wat u needed to cool off. the slide pool was closed. the entertainment wasnt great tho, only 3 times a week with music n dancing. but the entertainment staff do take u out to pubs clubs. (payable extra) the snack bar/anmertheater was none excistante as it was in refurb, the beach bar was not open to all the hotel guests. just the turkish who came for 1 nite stays. (i think that was because it was in need a refura aswell) . but all the staff was amazing especialy the bar n entertainment staff, 3 of which we r still in contact wiv,(facebook lol). the food was good, we eat there 6 nite out of 7, but only 1 buffet restaurante and not 3 as we was told.
Bodrum town is also great, good shops , pubs and the castle was a nice visit. a boat trip is a must!!!

me and my partner always said that we would go back to this hotel, as we did enjoy it, and to see how much good and amazing it wud be in a few years time after the refurb was complete. we thaught the standerd was looking realy good.
i dont understand how some reviews are saying it is shobby and in need of a refurb, as it was in the middle of refurb we i stayed there in may 08!! all the rooms the beach area reception, restaurante toilets and half the buildings had been refurbed and painted.
me and my partner had a great holiday and cant wate go bak to turkey :)

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

Okay, so we read the reviews on the Etap Altinel before leaving and so were prepared for the worst. We stayed there for 2 weeks arriving back in the UK on the 3rd Oct 2009.

We booked the holiday as a last minute deal 3 weeks before flying out and paid £500 pp for two weeks icluding transfers.

We arrived at the Hotel at around 1am turkish time and were offered whatever room we wanted. A porter then showed us to our room and set up the air con for us (we had our air con free - i have heard they do charge some people for this though) the room itself was lovely. It was all newly decorated, very clean (we had maid service everyday) and very modern in it decor...after reading some of the reviews we were left wondering what the big problem was!!

We spent most of our time on the gorgeous beach which was so peaceful in it's location, perfect for a relaxing break. People moan about the 'shabbyness' of the sun beads but we have never been anywhere before where we have had lovely wooden sun beds. The cushions are a bit worn and scruffy but are so comfy...and to be honset if you have cream cushions on a beach then they are going to look worn out. The pool area had all brand new furniture and the pool was lovely and big. Would agree that the cracked windows of the pool into the sauna need replacing.

We went for a turkish bath at the resort....fantastic value for money and would definantly reccomend :o)

The food is what you can expect from an all inclusive menu. I went with my Mum and unfortunantly did suffer from the tummy upset, my Mum however was fine....I know as we were leaving that some people were really staring to suffer quite badly with their stomachs but i don't know what the outcome of this was. We tended to venture out in the second week and got the bus into Bodrum which stops just outside the Hotel and is quite cheap. The times of the last bus tended to change from day to day though as it was nearing the end of season. The cost of resturants in Bodrum is amazing value for money and would definantly reccomend 'the place' which is along the front of the harbor.

The entertainment was ok, once you've seen it one week it's the same the week after. I think the entertainment team finished for the season on the 30th Sept.

The cat baskets are lovely to sit in if you can bag one of them and the staff honestly cannot do enough for you.

We would probably say that the latest you would want to be going out there is the end sept as they really do start shutting down for the end of season.

Overall this Hotel was honestly great value for money, we had a fantastic time and would say that your holiday is what you make it :o)

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

I put off writing this review as we are both waiting for our results to come back from the doctors to find out what caused our diarrheoa. We got this on day 4 of our holiday after being warned on the first day that food poisoning was going around the hotel, thought it was the rice I actually think it was every thing you eat or drank, the water bottles were filled from the tap along with the jugs on the tables. We stayed for a week and we never saw a cleaner in any part of the hotel and they never came in and cleaned the room, we only had a maid that replenished the toilet rolls and changed the towels, providing they hadn't run out which they did on two occassions.
The 5 stars they give themselves is self starred because they had their stars taken away from them, this says it all.
I must say though this was the most friendly holidays ever, I think because 80% of us all had something in common, FOOD POISONING, The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them, it is a shame the cleanliness of the Hotel lets them down.
Never had a Turkish Bath in this Hotel as it was filthy, a breading ground for bacteria, overheard many guests moaning about the cleanliness of the showers. The swimming pool had windows in the side that looks into the Spa area but these were cracked and could give way at any time, flooding the area where guests are meant to relax.
We never had our complimentary A La Carte meal as you had to have a minimum of 30 people and seeing as the majority of guests in the Hotel had diarrheoa we were pushed to get 6 people interested.
I don't think we will be going back to Turkey for a very long time. I will now trust peoples reviews on trip advisor.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

this hotel is the worst i have ever stayed in dirty, smelly, genrally run down in need of a complete make over the setting is wonderful but boy do these people need to get their act together the food is awful and i, like many have left with food posioning, the drinks are watered down and choice is very limited, the bedroom smelt and the bath was disgusting, towels clean but thread bare, how this can be sold as a 5star all inclusive deal is beyond me, if it was in this country the trading standards would have a field day.
this hotel could get back to its potential but not until the owners / management give it a complete make over and then put people in charge to run it with the ability to take care and offer a service that customers expect and deserve . bodrum is not a cheap holiday resort so unless they start uping their game, like spain they will lose customers to other destinations . avoid at any cost.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Etap Altinel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Etap Altinel

Address: Gazi Mustafa Kemal Bulvari no: 151, Torba 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Torba
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Etap Altinel 4*
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Altinel
Etap Hotel Torba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Etap Altinel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Etap Altinel to your Saves list