We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never been treated as bad in Turkey” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Hotel

Save Saved
You added Portofino Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portofino Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Yahsi Mah. Kargi Cad. Deve Gecidi Sok. No:35, Ortakent, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 hotels in Ortakent
Barnoldswick, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never been treated as bad in Turkey”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

stayed here for 10 days 6th to 16th oct 2012. four women in our party, staff totally unhelpfull and unfriendly. no change of bed for 8 days, had to ask for clean towels and toilet rolls constantly, think the cleaner had left so no rooms cleaned for days. my daughters room on top floor had faulty electrics and blew her and some of her eqipment sky high. had to happen twice before they would change the room. could be a really good hotel with a total change of management and staff.the location is brill, we are not fussy people and never expected 5 star, always do 2 or 3 star but never been treated like this .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    7
    7
    26
See reviews for
13
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

we had alovely time here at Portofino hotel Icmeler....its not 5star if u want that, pay 5 star prices...this hotel is 3 star its very clean staff are very friendly if u need anything they will help. like all turkish hotels the have turkish food....the food is lovely., we went all inclusive. The beach is about 2min walk away ....everything is on the doorstep off this hotel ....we had a fab holiday and will b returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 3 weeks ago with my children and some friends. We had such a fun time, the beach isnt far away and the area is so nice. We felt ok about letting out children (10, 12 & 13) go too and from the beach when they wanted.

We were all inclusive, really worth the extra money and stayed for one week.

Seriously considering going back early next year :))

Room Tip: We stayed in 109, couldnt fault it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Got back from the Portofino this morning. A really good hotel.
The staff are nice and helpful, my towel fell from the balconey one night and they insisted on bring it back up to our room for us.

The food was ok, we were all inclusive so usually ate breakfast and lunch at the hotel then eat out in the evenings.

I will be going back next year

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just got back from a weeks holiday at the portofino with my wife and daughter.. We read all the reviews before we went and thought what are we letting ourselves in for.Well, to say we were very surprised is an understatement.. We arrived mid afternoon and was met by a very friendly Peter behind reception. We were told our room was a special promo room on the 4th floor but we could upgrade. We looked at both rooms and decided to upgrade and have a fridge in the room. This was arranged for a fee, which like everything else in Turkey is to be expected.we also had to have another bed put in which they did with no hassle.They offered us a free drink whilst they sorted the room out. The room itself was fine, no peeling wallpaper or hanging electrical as many people had put.
The room was cleaned everyday and towels were changed at least twice a week..The staff were friendly especially Surkan who often made us a late night cup of coffee after we had been out. Even the young guys who couldn't speak english very well did their best to help.
We booked half board so that we weren't tied to the hotel and could eat out for lunch, yes the food wasn't wonderful and yes you do get fed up with salads every night, but it was edible Speaking to a few different people who were staying at better hotels they had the same thoughts about the food there. .If you want an english breakfast there are no shortage of cheap places to eat near the hotel.
The hotel itself has a small pool and not a lot of sunbeds BUT you are only 50mts from the beach where there are plenty of sunbeds and parasols.The location is excellent, you are a five minute walk from the canal and square where there are no shortage of bars and restaraunts , especially Venice and Majestic, both have good food, great stuff and a good nights entertainment. The local bus (dolmouch) stops right outside the hotel and runs about every five minutes or so
Like the old adage says you get what you pay for. Yes,the portofino isn't 5* luxury, but if you just want somewhere to rest your weary head and clean up its fine.

Room Tip: dont take the promo rooms on the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Hotel Portofıno ıs ıdeally located one mınutes walk away from the beach and two mınutes from the center of Icmeler.

There are 50 rooms at the hotel coverıng 4 floors. The receptıon area ıs open 24 hours a day.

The room I stayed ın was a double room. The room was a good sıze, bathroom was very clean and the room also had a balcony

wıth chaırs overlookıng the beach. The bedsheets were clean on arıval and changed every other day by the polıte and

frıendly cleanıng staff. Fresh towels daıly, floors were swept and wıped.

The meals on offer are located wıthın the resturant not far from the receptıon, you can eat your meals ınsıde or out, there

are plenty of tables whıch are clean and comfortable

Breakfast ıs served from 8am tıl 10am, thıs ıncluded breads, meats, fresh fruıt, hot drınks and a varıety of jucıes.
Lunch ıs served from 1pm tıl 2pm, thıs ıncluded a varıty of local dıshes, cooked meats ın sauces wıth several types of

rıce.
Dınner ıs from 7:30pm tıl 9pm and ıs pretty much the same format as lunch although the meats are dıfferent.

Coffe ıs served between 4:30pm and 5pm.

The bar and pool area ıs very nıce, wıth plenty of sun loungers. The bar ıs well stocked and ıncludes beers, wınes, soft

drınks and spırts.

Overall, I found Hotel Portofıno a very nıce place to stay, the receptıon and bar staff are very frıendly. I would recommend

thıs hotel to anyone plannıng to vısıt Icmeler.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed 14 nights at the portofino hotel,the staff were very well mannered and couldnt do enough for us from day 1 to 14,food was excellent plenty to choose from, the rooms were cleaned on a daily basis,as for the hotel decor there was nothing at all wrong with it,(there are no papered walls in turkey,) its emulsion paint they use as in all hot countries.)If u dont like the heat, sit in the shade, dont like salad dont eat it, dont like the beer, drink water or tea. The only complaint i have was with a few Polish couples who thought every one around them were to be treated like sh------e and iam referring to the 50 age upwards, the young Polish nationals were brilliant.we met 2 older couples from Penzance who were brill(Pat,willie,cant remember andPeter aka Jimmy) just like to say "hi there" also to Wendy n Stewart, who were cool.Booked for 2013

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Address: Yahsi Mah. Kargi Cad. Deve Gecidi Sok. No:35, Ortakent, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Ortakent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ortakent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portofino Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel, situated on a private beach. All of the hotel's rooms have panoramic views of the Aegean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Marmaris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.