We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre...at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NOA HOTELS Javelin Beach Club & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added NOA HOTELS Javelin Beach Club & Spa to your Saves list
NOA HOTELS Javelin Beach Club & Spa
Kargi Koyu, Ortakent, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Ortakent
brighton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mediocre...at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Where do I start?! This hotel could be absolutely fantastic, but it simply isn't (or can't be bothered) and should be downgraded.

There are a few positives which are mainly the location of the the hotel and the lovely restaurant and bar staff.

Upon our arrival around midnight, we were met with music blaring from one of the guests rooms overlooking the reception area. Check-in was OK, nothing special, it was suggested we go and get a drink from the bar around by the poolside. When reaching the poolside we were greeted by the sight of an arguing couple. So overall first impressions of the hotel were not great!

When we were reached our room, although it was lovely and spacious it was also filthy! I have never seen a bathroom like it in all my time of staying in even the most basic of hotels. Rusty shower, dirty toilet (to name but a few). My husband and I had luckily packed some cleaning wipes (after reading some other reviews of the cleanliness of this hotel we thought it best!) and gave the bathroom a good scrub. There were also no bins in the room, the TV didn't work and the air conditioning was not functioning properly.

The following day we addressed this with our rep who promptly spoke with the Manager who explained he had only been at the hotel for 10 days and was working on the overall problems of the hotel and he would make sure our issues were rectified by the end of the day. Well needless to say this never happened and we had to push to get anything rectified by the following day.

For the duration of the holiday the room was never sufficiently cleaned; we sometimes didn't have enough bath towels (and when we did they were old). The bed linen had holes in it and the floors were clearly never mopped because everyday our feet were black and it felt dusty. Glasses were not removed from our rooms as part of the cleaning process and we also constantly had problems with the lock on our door and had to keep on getting Reception to come and sort it out - which bearing in mind we were a good few minutes walk (up hill) from reception became slightly annoying!

The sun bed situation wasn't too bad but on a couple of occasions we found our beds had been taken whilst we'd popped for a drink at the bar, despite the fact we had our own towels on them!

The food at the hotel is VERY, VERY bland, there is almost no flavour to the dishes and food from the previous night appeared in some pretty random salads the following lunch time, it reminded me of a bad canteen and certainly not 5 star. The cakes served in the afternoon were very quicky taken by many of the guests who would insist on piling their plates high and then not even eating it - such a waste.

The animation team quite frankly were a bit of a joke and unprofessional - I think they thought they were on holiday too or at the very least thought they were entertaining the club 18-30 brigade! The music pumping poolside every day was enough to make your ears bleed and this really spoilt our plans for a quiet relaxing holiday. A number of guests complained about the music levels but this was never toned down. Thankfully for a couple of days the music system broke and so the atmosphere poolside was lovely. The team were also quite difficult to identify - most hotels we've stayed at, the animations teams have been in some kind of uniform. You were lucky at the Javelin if they were wearing a tag that identified who they were. They also seems to be out to please themselves -and some of them had quite an attitude, for example when my husband asked which country one of team came from he was met with an aggressive 'why do you need to know that' when all he was trying to do was make conversation! This is certainly no way to treat guests!

So in summary, if you are happy with a beautiful location but a very mediocre hotel then this place is for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    24
    17
    18
See reviews for
43
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

me and my friend recently stayed at the noa javelin beach club for 10 nights, before we had even come home we had booked another weeks holiday there for august we enjoyed it that much. we are huge fans of turkey but have never been made to feel so at home and so looked after as we did at this hotel.
on arriving at the hotel first impressions were very good, beautifully lit and clean. reception is modern and spacious. check in was extreaely quick and easy and we were shown to our rooms in no time with help with our suitcases.
the rooms are amazing! extreamly large and spotlessly clean. the bed was laid out beautifully with flowers, an impressive welcome to our new home for ten days. bathrooms are also fantastic. decorated in a modern fashion. had a shower and bath for when you want to have a bit of extra pampering before a bit night out. the balcony was the biggest weve had at any hotel with panoramic sea views and of camel beach which is only a 5 min walk away.
the pool is perfect, not too large not too small and greatly welcomed when sunbathing in the blistering heat! we never once had to fight for sunbeds even in peak season as there were plenty to choose from. the javelin also has its on private beach with inflatables in the sea for the young ones......or adults :)
food...a wide choice at every meal time, we never had the same meal twice, there is something for every one and its all extreamly tastey.
animation team....well what can i say.....UNBELIEVABLE! hard working and always on the go. activities throughout the day for people of all ages. football, darts, volley ball, water polo, aqua gym, zumba, step arobics and the list goes on. all team members are very sociable, they make a point of speaking to every guest without been overbearing. shows in the evening are spectacular, ranging from crazy bingo to comedy shows, to expertly done dance shows. you can tell that each performance has a lot of thought and effort put in.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, any age, family, group of friends or couples after a relaxing get away.
cant wait to return to what feels like home from home.................

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed here for 10 nights in July, we absolutely loved it. It is located next to camel beach so it's 5 minute walk if you wanted to go see the camels.
Our room was beautiful, lovely modern bathroom, big double bed with a seperate part of the room with a sofa bed. The rooms a very spacious with a lovely big balcony and amazing views. The rooms got cleaned every day and got Clean sheets and towels every day.
The staff in the hotel are friendly and will do anything for you to have a lovely relaxing holiday. The hotel itself is very clean and spacious. The pool area is the perfect size, with it's own private beach just a stone throw away. We didn't have to go searching for sun loungers once as There was more than enough.
The restraunt in the hotel is nice not too big and not too small. Every evening we went for dinner and there was different variety every night, also a big variety for breakfast and lunch. We didn't have the same meal more than once.
Through the day there was poolside entertainment with the animation team, they also do mini club for the kids. They are such a lovely friendly team who makes every guest feel welcome and make a point of talking to everyone without being 'too much'. Every night the night starts with kids disco at 9.15 followed by the entertainment show, which I have to say is absolutely fantastic. They have a variety of shows such as, dance show, comedy show, king and queen of javelin and much more. After the show they carry on the entertainment at the poolside with music so you can sit back and relax. Then if you fancy abit of a dane they orgainise a disco tour. Taking you to the biggest clubs in bodrum/gumbet which i highly recommend!! Just watching the team for a short amount of time it is obvious they put so much time and effort into making your holiday fun.
Overall this is without doubt the best holiday me and my friend has had. We miss it so much we have already booked to go back in 4 week :-) highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Nine nights at the Javelin which is fairly remote, at the start of the holiday season was a good break. A couple of issues, as we arrived at 4am we paid for an extra night, we had to wait for a porter to get our luggage. Check in was easy, the staff member was friendly and helpful, but when shown our room we had to remind him that we had upgraded. So we had to wait for a room change. Our upgraded room was spacious and comfortable but smelt badly of sewerage. The tap water was brown. But a couple of days into the holiday this all disappeared.

The food was plentiful and was fresh with plenty of meat, fish, vegetables and salads. You could eat all day if you so wished. We were served ice cream only twice during meals, but the desserts were amazing. The restaurant and food serving areas were very clean and nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff.
Ice cream was not available to buy and the nearest shop was a few minutes walk along the beach to another hotel.
The Javelin hotel facilities were generally basic, the toilets were awful as they were dark and also smelled badly, the floor was often wet, and sometimes with no toilet roll. The paper towels were very basic, cheap and pretty useless.
The pool was lovely and the children have two of their own, one which is in the shade.

On our last day we had a shower in the health suite which is a few minutes walk from the main building but there was no soap or towels and no one told us this.

The hotel staff were all delightful and extremely keen to please.(apart from the reception manager who was totally miserable and not at all helpful)
The animation team were young and vibrant and tried their very best to entertain everyone and to get people active, this was all very well intended, but the hotel provided no real entertainment which was embarrassing. The music at times was too loud and not always appropriate for me let alone children.
Go there again..? For total sun and relaxation yes.. but 5 star comfort and luxury..No

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

I completely concur with the comprehensive review given by our Jersey friend below re the club. I was also there the same week

Having been a regular Sunsail customer (I must have done about 25 hols with them since it was YCA and I was the kid back in the 70s) the last 5 years we have had with clubs and flotillas have shown a steady decline in the ethos that we all used to cherish. Sunsail used to run small friendly clubs or flotillas staffed by intelligent, dynamic and fun staff who made you feel that the holiday was for the guests and you were a member of a "club", not a cog to be processed as part of a huge profit making organisation. First Choice and TUI have effectively blown the client and staff loyalty and this year the wheels appear to finally be falling off with club closures all over the place, including the Antigua one, so this is not just a Turkey staffing regs problem. The remaining clubs appear to be tending towards Mark Warner /Club med style resorts where the focus is on the beach and hotel with some watersports thrown in, rather than being on the watersports (with the beach and hotel thrown in).
Last year this was most apparent during our trip to the Javelin resort. Staff were the most unmotivated I've ever known them, the hotel was charging top prices for drinks and every extra and the magic had gone. There were plenty of old regulars saying this was the last time they would use sunsail, their patience having been exhausted.

The problem is, as mentioned above, where do we go now? What is the alternative to a sunsail holiday? Neilson are recommended by some but has anyone else heard of any breakaway groups of old staff setting up on their own yet? I would definitely return is I could rediscover that old sunsail style magic.

Interestingly Google “alternative to sunsail" as one string and NOT ONE entry is returned. How much are sunsail paying google (Alta vista and yahoo do produce a couple of results). Odd.

please help me find the new "old sunsail" !

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

Just returned from a week at Club Javelin - the penultimate of the season. Like the previous reviewer, I was quite worried about what we would find based on tripadvisor reports and Sunsail's own forum. So it was a great relief to have such a wonderful family holiday. Biggest thanks for this go to the staff - the Sunsail team are a lively, fun bunch whose obvious enthusiasm for their jobs is infectious. Look after them First Choice - they are your most important resource. The local Turkish staff were wonderful too particularly the chef and kitchen/waiting staff.

The sailing/beach side of things was fantastic. All of us (nervous beginner to expert) felt safe and confident at all times - the safety processes were brilliant.

Hotel was luxurious in terms of spacious rooms and incredible balconies with awesome views; stylish furnishings, and comfort (if you like a firm mattress). We Brits have become a nation of property developers, so there was much comment about the quality of the finish. Yes you would be disappointed if the black-and-white check pattern on your own bathroom floor went haywire half way across, and every fitting had had a few holes drilled in the wrong place first. But does it impact your holiday? I think not at the moment, but the hotel/company must be on top of running repairs right now, otherwise it will start to eg. they'll need to replace the baths pretty soon, metal fittings are starting to rust etc.

Lack of shade was a big worry that turned out not to be a problem (albeit in October sun). I think you could always find some shade - maybe not within 50cm of the poolside. Creating more windproof areas would be welcome.

Food was fab. Masses of salads and fruit - dips, pulses and veg with meat and fish. Real Med diet rather than international style buffet that I feared. If you are a fan of large slabs of meat you may well complain. A few folk said it was 'samey'. It was in the sense that you were offered vastly more choice every day than you could ever cope with.

I didn't feel too ripped-off. The shop was the worst culprit even with an end of season sale.

The only real negative was the seat pitch on the airplane (First Choice Airways). It was very uncomfortable - far worse than any of the low-cost airlines.

Apart from that a brilliant holiday.

  • Liked — Generous room and balcony with fabulous view
  • Disliked — Tiny bath that you couldn't lie down in comfortably
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

Having read previous reviews was a little worried about what we might find, but having won this holiday, complete with flights, had nothing to lose.

Very pleasantly surprised. Good apartment with sitting area and good sized balcony with superb views (all the rooms have sea views). Parents with young children beware - lots and lots of steep concrete steps - we had 3 flights to climb. Suitcases were delivered to door, and collected from apartment on leaving so that helped.

Food (half board), excellent. Good breakfast with huge choice from fruit through to cereal, hot dishes, individually cooked omelettes etc. Excellent kitchen and waiting staff and baker \(working outside), making flat breads constantly.

Our board included 2 lunchesand 5 dinners (including a welcome dinner on the first night as we arrived about 10pm). Buffet style but good choice including excellent salads, choice of hot dishes and wonderful desserts. Plenty of choice and no limit to portions. Wine (about £20 a bottle and bar very, very expensive) Best to buy wine in local supermarkets in Bodrum etc and drink on your balcony.
Punch party - beware - not included but good value overall as plenty of free punch.

Excellent swimming pool. Sailing and more sailing, if that is your thing. Lovely setting but a little isolated. Use the local buses for getting into Bodrum etc, from Camel Beach. About £1.50 each into the town. Hold onto your hats, but good fun. Good spice market in Bodrum (right bus station and supermarket). Visit the Castle - recommeded for about £5 each.

At the beginning of October things fairly quiet and closing down for the winter, but we enjoyed lovely weather with just a couple of rrain storms, and found the people friendly and welcoming.

If you take the local bus to Hotel Florida and get off there, you can walk along the seafront and loads of restaurants, cafes and bars, and a good walk (about 2 miles) back to Club Javelin. Gives you a bit more choice.

  • Liked — The large balcony and superb views
  • Disliked — Lots and lots of steps
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NOA HOTELS Javelin Beach Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NOA HOTELS Javelin Beach Club & Spa

Address: Kargi Koyu, Ortakent, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Ortakent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ortakent
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOA HOTELS Javelin Beach Club & Spa is located at one of the most beautiful costlines of the Bodrum Penninsula at the Aegean Sea, Ortakent, in Bodrum.Javelin Beach Club & Spa offers many activities and facilities to make you enjoy your stay. Our Supperior & Grand rooms are spacious with large terraces, which will make every family member happy. Our Standard rooms are all to the newest standards.The Beach right in front of the Hotel is inviting you to relax. The Pier with its evening A-la-Carte restaurant will welcome you with the most delicious tastes of the Turkish Cuisine.Children will have the best holiday, with many games and fun all through the day.Come and enjoy the Spa where you will find many relaxing treatments, such as Turkish bath, Sauna, Massage etc.ENJOY... NOA HOTELS... More than just vacation.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your NOA HOTELS Javelin Beach Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Club Javelin Resort And Spa
My Club Javelin Hotel Ortakent
Hotel Mgm Javelin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NOA HOTELS Javelin Beach Club & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.