We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carnt wait to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Queen Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Queen Resort Hotel
Gumbet Mah. Adnan Menderes Sok. No:46, Gumbet, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 116 Hotels in Gumbet
North tyneside
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Carnt wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Been to queens resort twice before and had a brill holiday staff are fab they work really hard to make sure you have a good holiday rooms were loverly and clean .cleaners were in every day and always put towels and petals on ower beds I went with me mam and 2 sisters and me daughter and we were really looked after even when we went out one of the staff came with us to make sure we were okay and never got pestered by enyone .carnt wait for may 6th to go back and see everyone again looking forward to going to bar street this time as we never went as me daughter was to young at the time she's 18 this time so we will be partying carnt wait .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    80
    45
    23
    14
See reviews for
104
142
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have been coming to this hotel for the last three years and we have always had a fantastic time
The apartments are always clean and of a very high standard and the pool area is always clean and well maintained. The bar and restaurant is of a high standard and the staff are always so polite, friendly and helpful. They work so hard to make your holiday a good one. There are so many repeat guests at this hotel which says it all. Turkish night is well worth the money. Gorgeous food and superb entertainment. Comments on here about bad experiences with the Turkish men harassing women and being raped are not a true picture of gumbet. You need to be careful in whatever country you're in, especially if you wander around the streets on your own. I have never had a problem with being harrassed. As long as you are polite and say no thanks you will be left alone. It's common sense that you stay with your friends and don't accept drinks from strangers. Never seen any violence from turkish bouncers in the numerous times I have been to gumbet. Would highly recommend this hotel. Can't wait to go again this year. Special mention to the staff especially Kadim for making our holiday fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been going to the Queen Resort for the past 4 years and can't praise this place any higher! The staff and locals are fantastic..always made to feel at home, part of the family.
The rooms are spotless, the pool area and bar area fantastic. The hotel is away from the bars, but close enough to stroll down for a meal or few drinks. Never feel harassed, if someone asks if you want to come into their bar and you don't, simply say 'no thanks'
Comments on here about locals harassing girls is crazy..I have never heard of any attacks on women, and the staff have not heard of this either. People like to have something to be dramatic about! Yet nothing was mentioned to the staff or the police! Perhaps a holiday romance has gone badly and now commenting on here to get revenge..pathetic.
We see the same groups of people coming year after year, the hotel is always packed, rooms are in demand and I can see why. Best holidays we've ever been on, can't wait for May and August to do it all again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

i went on holidays last summer with a group of friends from school.There was with around 5 girls and 8 lads. I feel very bad about the bad review as the hotel staff were very good and the hotel rooms were always clean. But none of this can make up for the area it is in. It just wasnt a safe place to be. It started off the first day when we arrived in the early morning. we dropped our bags in to the hotel rooms and decided might as well grab a cheeky pint before going to bed.we walked down the street and on the way down we turned a corner and the doors of a club burst open and a man came out backwards from it followed by two big turkish men who looked to be security and took to beating the man. They seen us and started shouting at us.we just turned and moved quickly back to the hotel.we told the receptionist and she just shrugged and said its the locals and told us not to worry. so we went back to the bar had on in the hotel and went to bed.we went out the next night to the night clubs as this is why we came and were told they were brilliant. Straight away we were set on by turkish men who would even go as far as push the lads away from there gfs. you couldnt have a conversation with the the girls as you had to be always on guard and constantly harrassed.If the girls were going shopping they were being harrasesed and had to have one of the lads with them to feel safe as the locals had them feeling very intimidated. we then on one of the last days got talking to a group of english girls who had lost a mate so we tried to find her. She turned up a few hours later and it turned out she had got talking to a turkish man in a club but had told him that she wasnt interested. she left the club but the man followed her and started herding her away then another man came as well and grabbed her and dragged her down a alley way and raped her. we were in shock when her friends told us the next morning which was our last day. we went out and the girls made sure they stayed in a big group with us. we were walking home that night after a stressfull night and found a young girl around 17 crying . she told us basically she had been in one of the clubs and had gone to the toilets and when she had walked back out she was looking around for her friends and a turkish man had approached her and told her that he seen her friends leaving as one was getting sick so she left and as she was leaving the man followed her and nearly a mirror image of the night before except she had managed to fight him off and run and thats when we found her. we got talking to a group at the bar in the hotel and they had been staying for two weeks and they had heard of 3 more rapes. In the middle of the holiday as well a taxi which all drive extremely dangrously for some reason(we nearly got hit twice by them) hit a moped. I didnt see it but asked the man in the restaurant wat had happened.He told me and when i asked was the driver of the moped ok he said ah it was only a tourist and thats when it hit me that a lot of the locals only viewed us as cash cows.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from either the shopping/bar street or the beach. when we first arrived there was a large group of us, about 19. There was hassle trying to find rooms for us as there was families with babies (tried to put them on the top floor). our apartment was grubby and i found myself cleaning stains from walls and i hope it was kiddies snots off the wall. bring your own scrubber for dishes and hand towel for dirty kitchen ware. and Clean out the filters in the Air conditioning , they are filthy. unless you want a stuffy nose in the mornings :) but they are only small,'clean freak' things...
we stayed in a room where we could pick up the WIFI from the restaurant (which was great). The Staff are fantastic, they were brilliant with the kids and loved having the banter with the people staying at the hotel. everyone got together and had fun at Turkish nights or simply watching a movie.
The pizzas and toasted sandwiches are delicious for an afternoon snack. they have two happy hours which was great fun.
if you plan on going on day trips then go to Margaret Tours and ask for Leo or his wife Margaret. they are the most genuine people you could come across.
oh and GET A TURKISH BATH... amazing!!! Turkey is a beautiful country, go for a walk up to the windmills there is beautiful views that will take your breath away and travel to Pamukkale and Ephesus on a two day trip.

Only bad things: if you are a woman NEVER go on the street on your own, always have your partner/Boyfriend/dad with you, have yere whits about ye, never get too friendly. i did get harassed a couple of times to the point of being uncomfortable.
one last thing... watch your money in your room, we had an issue but it wouldn't stop us from going back there again.

Room Tip: if you are up for it, top floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Recently visited gumbet in October with a group of 5 friends. At first the staff seemed very welcoming but I think that was maybe because we was a group of six girls on holiday at the end of the season. But as the week went on myself and a few of my friends began to get harassed by a member of staff who wouldn't leave us alone, consent grabbing and trying to grope us. In the end I felt uncomfortable to even walk to reception, the pool by myself as he would always be there and wouldn't leave alone. Now I would never return to Turkey after my experiences on this holiday.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We arrived late at night and were shown to our room which seemed satisfactory. I had requested certain things which had not been accommodated such as, pool view, double bed etc. If you wished to cook meals in the room i think you would struggle to cook any thing fancy. The hotel bar was open till very late at night and we took advantage of the happy hours, between 16:30 and 17:30 and again later 21:30 and 22:30. We stayed bed and breakfast, the breakfasts were good allowing you to choose anything from the menu. We found that it was very noisy at night with loud music from another hotel going on until 4 in the morning, hardly blocked out by shutting all the windows. The hotel itself is well situated, not too close to bar street but a nice little stroll, and close to the beach. The rooms were kept clean and the staff seemed friendly enough. My partner was hoping to use the fitness center in the hotel and quickly changed his mind on viewing it. It was a very small room with a tread mill and a couple of free weights. We used the hotels Turkish bath which was ok, we were the only ones in there and I found the whole experience a bit creepy. We got a discount as we were guests in the hotel. The pool was a good size and we didn't have any issues with getting a sun bed. Only the beds by the wall got the sun all day.
Our holiday was quite late in the season, before leaving I researched the most favored restaurants from trip advisor. When we got to Gumbet we found that only 2 of the 10 restaurants i noted were open. Over half of Gumbet was deserted and I wouldn't advise anyone to go so late in the season. We had our best meals at Divers, China Town and Saray Zefa. We struggled to find typical turkish food. All the restaurants served almost the exact same menu with lots of English/international type food with a few selections of kebabs. All restaurants seemed to serve English breakfast with heinz beans!
All in all we had a nice holiday but i wouldn't go back. Gumbet is aimed at the young party types and not my cup of tea. I would also advice that people don't go so late in the season as it really limits your options and the staff of everywhere seem fed up and disinterested.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Resort Hotel

Address: Gumbet Mah. Adnan Menderes Sok. No:46, Gumbet, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guest, Please note that there will be fancy dress party in our hotel every week during this summer. Please bring your own costumes. Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Queen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Hotel Gumbet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.