We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sun Club

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sun Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sun Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ayaz Cad. No:6, Gumbet 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 116 hotels in Gumbet
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday Nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Recently returned from what I can only describe as hotel hell. On arrival we were told that they did not have 2 rooms that we had paid for. I had to spend the first 2 nights on a makeshift bed in the same room as my parents. When I eventually was allocated a room is was right under reception area and next door to security. If you could call it that. The room was damp and in need of repair. The bed base looked like something retrieved from a rubbish dump. The food was ok if you liked chicken for every meal. The afternoon snacks were left over chips and noodles from lunch. The pol had no hand rail to assist access and egress from the water. My mum fell on her first try going into the pool. The staff were ok but the cleaners I would not pay with the holes out of washers. We were so glad when it was time to return home. Even on the day of departure the reception manager was to say the least quite rude. We advised we would like to keep a room as they did not have a courtesy room. My dad said in view of the inconvenience we suffered on arrival we should be able to keep the room without charge, so that we may shower and change as we were not being picked up till 6:30 in the evening. We were told the room had to be paid for or we could take a shower by the pool. I am not sure who rated this hotel a 4 star but I would not rate it with 1. I would advised anybody not to go to this place if you want a nice relaxing holiday because you won't get it. Across the road from the hotel there must be 5 or 6 six night clubs that start at 10pm and go on till 4 am. They all compete to see who can play the loudest music and because they all play different tunes all you here is the bass thumping away. I would say if you want to party all night and sleep all day you will love it here. I can quite honestly say that I have never been so happy to leave a place and will never return to the hotel hell.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    45
    36
    30
    67
See reviews for
63
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel is in best position in Gumbet,one side beach other side Bar Street. If you are going to Gumbet for nightlife Hotel is ideal but if you want a really quiet holiday do not stay here.(however you can hear Bar street from most accomodation in Gumbet!)
Rooms are basic but are supplied with kettle,hairdryer,mini fridge & free air con, cleaned every day with new towels.
Restaurant- most beautiful outside terrace over the beach. If you are going to Turkey for English food change your holiday to Blackpool!!!!! Great array of beautiful salads and fresh Turkish food every day.
Bar- self service juices,tea and nescafe coffee,never any queues for other drinks which were all good measures and good quality.
Some people previously have moaned about staff attitudes,(everyone really friendly especially Sergio entertainments manager) just give the staff small tip ,you are all inclusive and paying for nothing else and the occasional 5 lira here and there is not going to kill anyone!!!!
just repays the staff for their hard work and politeness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

my partner and myself had originally booked into he gumbet holiday beach,but on arrival were told it was closed down.THE HOLIDAY WAS BOOKED THROUGH HOLDAY GEMS.we were taken to the sun club but they didnt have a room available,so we were put into the baba next door for the night.the next day we got a ground room at the sun club.apparently 99% of the guests had the same problem being booked into the gumbet holiday beach..after hearing there stories i was quite relieved as i use crutches and a wheelchair so the gumbet beach wouldnt have suitable at all.THANKS HOLIDAY GEMS.well the sun club where do i start.looked ok till i started looking around.the shower was in need of an uplift and not cleaned properly.the sheets for the two weeks we spent there were never changed.the pillows were stained.sat tv lol just foreign progs.the room was NEVER cleaned .i went to the restaurant once after having to go inside to the front restaurant which was nothing to do with sun club as they had a staircase with handrails.i didnt feel it necessary to go up there again as the food was awful.the stairs outside were concrete and circular with nothing to hold on to.sitting near the bar one day the wall of the building which housed the restaurant fell down DANGEROUS the toilets didnt work and were taken out one afternoon whilst people were sitting around having a drink and having to put up with the stench from the toilets.the bar staff were rude and not clean most of the time.allways asking for tips.in the description for this hotel it says enjoy the spa facilities WHAT SPA AND WHAT ENTERTAINMENT.i dont mind where i stay as long as i can get around but i do like a clean bed and a clean room and pleasant people.if it was,nt for the other holidaymakers i met there my holiday would have been ruined.meeting some lovely people there made my holiday .

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

All i can say is if your hotel has been changed and you pull up outside Sun Club be afraid be very afraid!!
It became apparent that whilst i was there none of the residents were actually supposed to be there and everyone was equally not amused by this joke of a hotel!!!!!
On arrival my room had not even been cleaned beforehand so was told to go on a walk so they could sort it. However aside a disgusting room (which made my skin crawl) the experience also became about rude ignorant staff, excessively loud music from the main strip, crap food on a daily basis, being told to stop laughing on the way through reception through to the all inclusive bar and then having an all inclusive bar keep shutting when they want considering it was supposed to be 11pm!!
Turkey itself was amazing and this hotel nearly ruined it!!! The fact they even wanted reviews on trip advisor too is in itself beyond belief!!
NEVER AGAIN

Room Tip: avoid this hotel
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just got back from the Sun Club Hotel and have to say I was dreading it after reading some of the reviews on here. We arrived in the early hours of Tuesday morning and was put off by the loud music from the 'strip' of Bar Street. Our room was near the top of the hotel and was very loud but easily drowned out by having the tv (provided) on. The room itself was very basic but kept clean daily by the maids who gave us fresh sheets and towels every day. The location of the hotels is great for many different reasons. The beach is right at the back of the hotel and you can take drink and food from the hotel to the beach. The all inclusive food/drink is debatable. The drink is local vodka, gin, white (awful) wine, red wine, or beer and all soft drinks. The food is o.k., we always found something to eat and found a local place - The Mistral Bay- where you can have the most amazing meal for very little money. The hotel staff, on the whole, are polite however there are a few that let it down. One male waiter/bar in particular man openly asks for tips/money/cigarettes. Another took offence to my boyfriend thinking he was part of a lads group and this was reflected in the amount of spirit in our drinks, and on 2 occasions (after returning from all day excursions) being told we had had too much to drink. We booked excursions through the 'rep' and felt robbed! Boat trip and Jeep Safari are highly recommended but would shop about.

Room Tip: Do not take a room near the front if you want a sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The location of the hotel is in the centre of Gumbet, which is great as there are restaurants, clubs and shops on your doorstep. However the clubs are open until 4am and its very noisy as they are just over the otherside of the road. The service was not very good or particularly friendly on reception, but the waiters and bar staff were ok.
There is a great bus service that takes you to Bodrum, it's costs 3TL which is £1 and it takes about 20 mins. The buses run every 5mins or so. I would recommend going there.
The food in the hotel was OK. We went all inclusive. There was always plenty of salad options but the hot food was pretty much some sort of chicken with rice everyday and it was generally cold. You can eat out cheaply.
The hotel is right on the beach and the pool is lovely.
To be honest I would recommend Gumbet, but find a hotel further away from the clubs as it is too noisy! Also look into Bodrum as there are more shops and markets to look around, plus a lovely marina and castle.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

well this has to be one of the worst hotels i have ever stayed at the location is good if you want to go clubbing everynight and its great for the beech everyday but other than that the hotel doesnt have much going for the safes in the rooms are terrable and bolted down with one bolt that is done up finger tight so not very safe at all!! the cleaners do try hard to make sure everything is done but we found that they just made the beds didnt change towels when left in shower and didnt clean the floors so had to use flip flops inside the room. the food is not great no chips of a evening no bread rolls just loafs of bread breakfast is terrable aswell but the bars and resturants around are cheap enough but i would say bring extra money just incase you have to eat out everynight like i did. the drinks selection there isnt much either vodka,raki,gin,wine and beer.
i found most of the staff to be helpfull and poilite execpt one guy who i think is the manager of the reception a small guy with glasses he is one of the rudest people i have ever spoken to in my life he said that he would kick a couple out and there 10 month old baby because they complained about the food. overall if you get it for cheap and like nightlife you will like this hotel if your looking for somwhere to relax of a eveving book somewhere else..

Room Tip: down the bottem near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sun Club

Address: Ayaz Cad. No:6, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 116 hotels in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sun Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sun Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.