We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel with excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sunhill Hotel to your Saves list
Sunhill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gumbet Mahallesi Oramiral Kemal Kayacan Caddesi No:28, Gumbet 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 116 Hotels in Gumbet
Fivemiletown, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fab hotel with excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Just spent 10 days at this hotel with husband & 2 kids in mid May and throughly enjoyed it. Very clean, good selection of food, burgers/chips available every afternoon at pool bar for kids. Kids loved the flume & pool is very clean. Yes there are a lot of steps, hotel on top of a hill but the views are amazing & the exercise is good for you after all the food you eat! Easy access to Gumbet for shops and bar street. Staff make such a fuss of the kids and try to get everyone involved in the activities. We had a Turkish bath at the hotel and it was a wonderful experience, have 1. Would definitely go back to this hotel and totally recommend it to everyone. Some people are never happy & love to complain so I would ignore bad reviews and I definitely have no complaints about this hotel. My 8yr old son says when he grows up he is going to move to Turkey he loved it so much!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    61
    28
    26
    41
See reviews for
104
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

as most people do they read all the bad reviews before they read the good! me included... i was a bit unsure about the hotel even after i had booked it and was thinking ohhhhh no.. not lots of steps not rubbish food etc ...but let me tell u! the place is gorgeous the rooms are so clean, fresh towels, beds made, bins emptied etc,, they even assorted all my makeup in color coordination.

the food throughout the day is lovely, plenty of choice to choose from so don't listen to these people that tell u its crap because it isn't the meat is brilliant! plus there is lots of salads and cold food to pick which is refreshing as sometimes the heat can be unbearable. (there is also a bbq on the terrace every meal time with one of the staff cooking something different every time)

the pool is very clean and when it comes to shutting time it is cleaned thoroughly i have watched them do it my self on the way past, the pool is nice and cool which u are so thankful for as the heat is amazingly hot. (sunbeds do go pretty quick but as with alllllllllllllll holidays the early bird catches the worm)
the bars and restaurants around gumbet are lovely i especially loved coconut beach.

as for the steps and hills i watched a woman in a wheel chair go up and down most days so it really isnt that bad, just make sure u have a bottle of water on the way up ;) i was thankful for the exercise as i ate loads of food and worked it straight back off, its just people that are lazy or less mobile that moan about them.

all round brilliant holiday and will deffo be going back again i think the only thing i would have a little grumble about it the air con, the rooms are so hot the aircon is only in the bedroom and takes a while to become cold, but when it has really kicked in ur practically shivering which is GREAT! lol

each to there own basically :)

Room Tip: ground floor is the best ..........less steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Well... what can i say.
The group we went away in was 2 adults and 2 teenage daughters 15 & 16.
The hotel was perfectly stay-able. We were on the bottom floor. When we came in at night several staff would sit outside our room as we were next to there room. The maid never use to come until about 6PM, by then we were wanted to get in our room, shower and get ready for the night ahead of us.
There were spiders in our room, and the T.V didn't work.
Food choices - there wasn't a lot there, if you like chicken and rice you'll be fine. Chicken is on the menu every night.
We were there the same time as a stag party was, so at night they put a 1 drink per person per visit limit on the bar.which isn't good if you have to constantly get children up and down the stairs.
The views were incredible- the pool was a nice temperature.

A word of advice though - get there early for sun beads and try a get a concrete based umbrella or it'll fly away because of the winds on the hill.

Staff were very friendly.

China Town - this is just a 5 minute walk into the village, or a free taxi ride down there. the food is amazing, and it's nice to eat out once.

Bars were amazing, gave you free shots and cocktails to try and get you to stay there. they're not fussed to much on age as long as you let your teenager drink, they'll give you one.

Entertainment wasn't great but for young children the mini disco looked great fun. The girl that runs the kids club isn't great. many parents complained about her.

the only complaint would be the 137 steps to the bar from my room.

You get what you pay for really.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We spent the second week of October '11 at the Sunhill Suites and had a really good time.Food great.Something different on offer every day.Very pleasant and extremely hard working staff.Very clean rooms thanks to being cleaned every day.My kids loved the pool and the flume.Local bus stopped almost outside the gates.(Easy access to Bodrum) Definately worth the money we paid.It is built on a hill and has steps, so perhaps not suitable for less mobile visitors.However, it offers an extraordinary view of Gumbet Bay from restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

just got back from staying at the sunhill, i am a single mum wif 3 kids, 2 girls 17, 13 and a boy of 10, and we all enjoyed our stay at sunhill, food was good most days, althou it is mostly catered at germans or the dutch, pool was fab, entertainment was ok, we all enjoyed joining in the dances, staff were all very friendly, especially yeltsin and usuaf who were little darlings, i wud go again definately, the smallness of it makes it more especially, as we had friends staying in the wow hotel just down the rd, and there were ova a 1000 guests there,

Room Tip: lots of stairs,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Entertainment was non exsistant. drinks were so weak you couldn't even get tipsy. food was absolute worst I =have ever had in turkey. They turned off air conditioning in restaurant and opened the doors ten mins after iopening so you had to leave as quick as poss as the heat made you feel sick. The accomadation was diabolical,shower was yuk and no hot water for two days.The stench from the drains in the shower room made you feel sick, you had to get in and out as quick as poss. Sofa bed was so small and unbearable to sleep on. only two chairs and a single wardrobe. the room was not set up for 4 people. Our cleaner was bril. the worst thing was the noise..till 4 am every morning the music was absolutley deafing from the town below, I have never heard such a din. this is not a place for children. not even a kettle in the room, the travel rep talked rubbish..i have been to turkey 12 times and this is the worst place i have ever been. When we arrived the hotel staff didn't have oir booking or anything then miracalously they found it! they dont like thomas cook travellers. don#t book with thomas cook and don't go to sunhill or gumbet unless you like partying till 4 am

Room Tip: book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

we stayed at the sun hill suites for a week if you like poor food and poor entertainment then this is the place for you . but if you like good food with plenty of choice give this place a very wide birth . the staff are friendly the rooms are good .the swimming pool area is ok but if you have young children the shallow end of the pool is not very big .the water slide is fab there are lots and lots of steps and hills the town is not that far away but it is down a big hill that is not very well lit

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhill Hotel

Address: Gumbet Mahallesi Oramiral Kemal Kayacan Caddesi No:28, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 116 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhill Hotel Bodrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunhill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.