We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Akvaryum Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Akvaryum Hotel to your Saves list
Akvaryum Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   AsarlIk Mevkii, Gumbet 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 116 Hotels in Gumbet
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend paid £270 all inclusive. £270 is not a lot for all inclusive so you are not going to get a 5* palace!
The room is very very basic. It was cleaned every day. We had a problem with the shower. Reported it in the morning and it was fixed in the afternoon.
Air con was a bit dodgy. Went on and off, but wasn't a huge issue to us.
We didnt really use the tv do not exactly sure if and what channels there were.
The food is basic, but nice. There isn't a awful lot of choice and is pretty samey. No English food but you are in turkey!
The alcoholic drinks I think we're watered down. Only one type of beer and wine. The drinking water was in a massive bottle so wasn't easy to take water to your room. We just nipped over to the local shop and bought a 2l bottle of water for equivalent of 75p
I'm more of a coffee drinker and I didn't mind that it was machine coffee that you help yourself to. Though the coffee machine was broken on a few occasions but was fixed in a couple of hours.
The staff are ok and they do try to please. They don't speak much English but there again you are in turkey!
The location is at the bottom of a very very steep hill which is a menace to walk up!!
It has a pool which is smaller than advertised, but there is a beach both have plenty of sun beds and areas to sit.
The entertainment is ok. The entertainment guy also takes guests who want to go to the nightlife out at midnight. He does his best to find you and get you back to the hotel safe.
If I was on a budget holiday again would i return here? Yes I would!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
3
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Well its at the bottom of the steepest hill in gumbet I think.no good for the elderly or people with children in buggies.staff very ignorant. Only young girl at reception was helpful.food is ok.had worse.beds r like sleepin in coffins. They that hard. We turned air con on 1st nite and all black soot spewed out all over for bout 25 mins.shower was lovely.big and plenty of hot water. No 1 speaks english.overall it wud not be so bad ifit was near the town centre or had a shuttle bus yo take you up and down kikilimanjaro outside . everything else would have bin bearable. We have eaten out alot at Sandys bar on gumbet.top food there.and a friend from last year. Woukd nit ever consider stayin here again.too far out from every where.and need to get taxi s into town every nite. Not an enjoyable time spent here.maxine and jo from Leeds.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Was sold a package for this hotel.When we arrived it was not the hotel as these photos show.It was more of a pension type property.No fire escapes,food awful,and not cooked on the premises.Was bawled out for getting more drinks from the bar for other guests in front of other diners.To call it a bar,well! you have to seat in the restaurant to have your drinks and the tables are only plastic furniture along with the seats.Staff scared to put more than a quick shot of snide vodka in your glass in case they were bawled out by the restaurant gestapo one decent girl was in tears because of this.She was the only decent worker there.No english spoken,owners turned up with russian hookers.Cleaners ransacked through my wifes handbag,and stole cigarettes from our room,when I reported it was told not them and to call the police myself and hire an interpreter to do so myself.All inclusive no way! all exclusive more like felt totally intimidated and threatened.Other guests felt the same,us brits obviously not wanted here.STAY AT YOUR PERIL!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

list of things wrong....
staff rude and not one speaks english!
food was terrible! and got ill on more than one occassion!
aircon in th three rooms we slept in threw out ICE CUBES and poured out WATER!
restaurant manager was rude obnoxious and stared all th time!
all the rooms smelt of damp and th bathrooms of sewarage!
stepped on a pool paving slab and i went down a hole!!
fridge in any of the rooms were broken
COCKROACHES are in there thousands!!
toilets do not flush
manager doesnt care and makes faces behind any ones back when they were complaining which was everyone
no satellite tv as advertised u were lucky to get 2 turkish channels
english people were treated even worse than german and polish!
resturant was teaming with massive red wasps massive ants and cockroaches
we stayed for two weeks and asked to change 6 times!
room cleaning lady and man walked in on us 3 times t about 7.30 am without knocking!!! horrendous service and they didnt even care ! we heard over 20 people complain n not one was sorted!!! absoulutely put me off PEDA hotel chains! beware of these crooks what is advertised is dedinately not what you get ! appalling

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

just arrived back early this morning from here and had a fantastic time, went with sis in law there is nothing really for kids which is a shame but great place for adults,our room was very big but some rooms are small but ket clean every day, all staff were lovely except 1 the restaurant manager :( he never smiled, food is typical Turkish but lovely, lots of sunbeds and areas to relax and soak up the sun, for the young and energetic they party all night at the sister hotel just above up lots of steps so we only went once lol, we only booked 1 week before we went for 9 days and was pleasantly surprised, THANKS FOR A GOOD HOLIDAY

Room Tip: rooms at the back a little quieter and better sea views but all rooms have sea view, room at front n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Some rooms are dirty with molt in the bathroom and stains on textile. The breakfast and lunch are oke but de snack (plain pasta with mayonaise!!! or fries) and diner are bad. Only 4 choises of hot dishes like patatos meat or vegatables.
The staff is friendly and the outside is beautyfull. You can walk to gumbet centrum over the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Arrived at midnight and wondered what we had done! It looked very run down and some sort of ghetto, in fairness it did get better when you went through the reception. Highlight was the man with the cases! I've never seen anyone move two huge cases down the steps as fast in my life, it took all our energy to keep up and even then we failed miserably and he had to come back for us!!! The room was adequate but nothing more and the fridge didn't work. The beds were made and it was swept most days although talking to others this was the exception and not the rule. The breakfast selection was fine with a fair amount of choice but lunch and dinner could have been much better. The staff in the bar and restaurant were friendly and helpful. The trips which we did through the hotel.com reps were great and well worth the money, they were a little extra to the 'bargain' trips available in town but were well organised and well run.
We did however have a fantastic holiday due to the beautiful weather and the lovely people we met..............One word of warning however the Turkish bath in the hotel was our opinion definitely overpriced and the 'salesman' who pushed clients by the poolside was both crude and rude offering to do the younger women for nothing!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Akvaryum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akvaryum Hotel

Address: AsarlIk Mevkii, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 116 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Akvaryum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Akvaryum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akvaryum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.