We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful Hotel! 10/10” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Newport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Newport Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Newport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adnan Menderes Cad No:83 Bodrum Merkez, Gumbet 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 116 Hotels in Gumbet
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful Hotel! 10/10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

The 4* Grand Newport all inclusive hotel was one of the best hotels I have stayed in.
The staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was very nice, and different nearly every night. The bbq chicken wings were delicious and we really enjoyed the rice! Breakfast wasn't my cup of tea as was a continental breakfast but this was minor as everything else was faultless!
Theres a free gym too - i'd take advantage of that.
The views were magnificent from your room/the pool area! A great place to take photos.
The room and bathroom area were spotless and your rooms are cleaned/sheets changed every other day.
The distance from this hotel to the bars are a 10min walk and minutes in a taxi/on the bus. Theres a public bus that passes the hotel every 10 mins or so which costs 2.50lira each one way and you can travel as little as a few stops or as far as Bodrum on this, for the same price.
We had a fantastic time and will be returning in June 2011. Cannot fault, loved it.
Also, do go on the boat trip which is an all day thing and includes a meal - it was well worth the money!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    65
    46
    44
    29
See reviews for
66
110
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

To start with, I’d like to mention that we went to this hotel during the Ramadan and that may (or not) have affected the service we received due to the long hours and the food & water privation for the muslim staff.

The Grand Newport is a very nice hotel.
It has the potential to be a true 4 stars: nice big and comfy rooms, fantastic view, nice outdoor pool, sauna, Turkish bath, small indoor pool, …
However, it is betrayed by countless minor signs of bad maintenance / lack of standards which won’t kill your holidays but will definitely destroy that luxury feeling that the place aspires to.
Here are a few of countless examples: soap and shampoo not replaced every day in the bathroom (had to ask reception twice because we ran out of soap), shower not cleaned during your stay (had to remove my wife’s hair ball because it was blocking the drain), dirty table cloth not replaced during the meal (if the previous people leave, the table will be swept clean and re-dressed with the wet and stained cloth), heavily worn and damaged towels, only one large towel per person (so take one with you in your luggage or buy one locally to go to the beach), waiters not picking up food fallen on the floor, (… could continue for quite a long while).
See, nothing that will kill your holidays but definitely removes the 4 stars feeling.
In fact, if it was not for the food, I would recommend this hotel.
If you want for some extra pictures of the lobby area, look for “redstar jeans”, they took their summer 2010 collection promo pictures in the hotel.

The rooms:
We had a twin room with view towards the sea on the first level (there are some rooms in the hotel over the lobby then all the rooms are in small houses of 4 to 6 rooms gathered in 3 levels on the hill side, you need to go down the stairs from the pool / dinning area to get to them).
The room had plenty of space, lots of furniture to unpack your clothes, a good dozen hangers, a little safe, a small fridge with two water bottles in it (very useful since you can’t drink tap water, you can cool all your 50cl water bottles overnight), an air-con (relatively quiet), an outside terrace with 2 chairs, a table with 2 chairs, a little desk with a large mirror, a basic TV with local channels and a few English, French and German speaking channels (mainly news channels such as BBC news international).
The beds were large and strong, very good !
The bathroom is quite basic with toilet, sink and shower. The shower is good but the hot water is just warm at best (doesn’t matter, you’ll be begging for a cold shower with all that sun).
The room is fitted with one of these key card slots to activate the electricity but this can be bypassed easily by simply inserting any visit card instead so you don’t loose the air-con as soon as you leave the room (it gets hot quickly).
Apparently it is possible to smoke in the rooms since there was not visible no-smoking sign and there was an ash tray on the table (and a few cigarette burn marks on the carpet). The room did not have any cigarette smell though.

The “All Inclusive” (food, drinks):
The food was the one massive let down. It is the reason why we won’t go back there.
Firstly, the all inclusive is very restrictive in terms of food available and time.
Breakfast from 7.00 to 11.00, meal from 12.30 to 14.00, snacks from 15.00 to 17.00 (just some tasteless dry biscuits and nothing else), dinner from 19.00 to 21.00 (in fact waiters are starting to remove the food at 20.45, sometimes 20.30) and finally a late soup around midnight.
The number of tables available is limited and you may have to wait or end up on a table surrounded by smokers if you come at the wrong time (there is no non-smoking area outside).
The food is of basic canteen quality and even if the buffet is large and relatively varied it becomes very quickly “boring” since you will get the exact same food at every lunch and dinner (only 3 hot plates which are on a rota, the rest is cold buffet and it is always the same). We ended up eating out several times.
The only highlight of the week was the Saturday night, Turkish night, with excellent food, the one night you should not miss!
Overall extremely disappointed by the food, I’ve been in all inclusive 3 times in Turkey in similarly priced places and I can say without the shadow of a doubt that this was by far the worst food service and quality I’ve had.
The drinks available in all inclusive are: Beer, Vodka, Gin, Brandy, Raki, Tea, Coffe, Water, Cola, Lemonade, “juices” (squash like fruit drinks): Cherry, Peach, Orange, Lemon,(I forgot one) and any mix you may want to do with what is in that list.
Note that our stay was right in the middle of the Ramadan, that may (or not) have had an influence on the food.

The entertainment: there is none during the day so don’t expect the entertainment team to keep your kids occupied.
At night (9pm) it is poor, a 15-20 min show followed by one hour of music (the animator just turn it on with the computer and walks away to seduce the newly arrived girls).
We have had a musical quiz night, a bingo night (was 5 euros a grid!?!?), a break dancers show (really good), a cancelled show “because there was insufficient public” after a inappropriate rant about people leaving to town too early, a “rubber man” show (yoga demo, very impressive, was great !) and a Turkish night with traditional dancing and belly dancer (was really good as well).

The location:
The hotel is on the hill side in Gumbet. It is at a walking distance from the centre of Gumbet (30min walk) where all the bars and shops are (but Bodrum is a lot better for shopping).
You can walk to Gumbet centre by the beach if you leave the hotel, follow the street to the right for about 100yds and take the first street on your right which will take you down to the beach, you can follow it till you get to Gumbet centre. (if the guard of any hotel ask you, just say you’re at the grand Newport and you do beach walking). You could get to the hotel direct through the beach if it was not for the hotel next-door blocking the way with a wall.
The Dolmus (local mini bus) line Bodrum-Gumbet stops in front of the hotel, it cost 2.5 Turkish lira and runs every 5 min from 7am to 5am.
The hotel is only 40min away from the airport.

The pool / the beach:
Of a relatively nice size, it is 1.6m deep (5ft 3) at the deep end. There is a mini pond 50cm (1ft 8) deep for the kids as well.
The temperature of the water is a bit cold-ish in the morning but gets warmed up by the sun and in the afternoon it’s just perfect !
Plenty of sun-beds with 4 back rest positions; never had any problem to find a pair together. Plenty of mini tables and parasols as well.
The only let down was that there is no non-smoking area.
To get to the beach you have to walk down the stairs to the bottom of the hill (and coming back is quite physical, my wife could not do it in one go, had to stop at least 2 times before we reach the top). It’s not a sand beach but small stones. It’s not particularly nice either. You’re better off taking the free shuttle to the big sandy beach in the morning.
There is also a small indoor pool and a quite large sauna but cannot comment on these since we did not use them.

The staff:
They are very helpful and will respond to your requests immediately with the little English they have (if necessary they’ll get someone with better English to translate).
I think they are just not managed properly, their standards needs to be raised to shine that fourth star. They seem to work from 6am to 11pm ?!?

The positives:
Stunning view.
Bus stopping in from of the hotel going to the centre of Bodrum through the bar area of Gumbet (they run every 5 minutes from 7am to 5am, 2.50 Turkish Lira).
Nice rooms, very good beds.
Good variety of drinks available (ok I missed my whiskey but hey, that was good).
Committed and helpful staff.

The negatives:
No non-smoking area on the outside terrace (both for dining and sun bed areas).
Very restrictive food times.
No hot food available outside of the two main meals.
Exact same buffet at every meal and dinner
Lack of standards of the cleaning staff and waiters (even if they are full of good will and very helpful, must be cultural).

Finally some travel tips:
Don’t change your money to Turkish Lira before you go, you’ll get a much better deal there. Shops in Bodrum will take pounds, Euros and even dollars anyway (Prices are displayed in Euros, you’ll have to negotiate, it’s pretty easy to knock the original price down by 40%).
It is possible to get pound notes at the cash machines in Bodrum.
The travel agency representative will meet you on the 1st day and offer you some days out: he has a good deal to get in Hallikanos (the super night club in Bodrum) but apart from that, he’s a lot more expensive then what you can get in town direct from local agents (nearly double actually).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

fantastic holiday, great staff, spotless rooms but the all inclusive alcahol is on the`weak side to say the least.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I recently returned from my weeks holiday in this hotel and was actually there and spoke with the Square Pants family. I would agree with all their comments, and I also think it was one of the best hotels I have been to in Europe.
All staff were friendly and appproachable and certainly not rude as some reviews had implied.
With 2 teenage sons however there were very few British guests for them to befriend. This didn't bother them too much as they were entertained by the dancing skills of the young Turkish men.
I would end my review by saying that although nothing whatsoever to do with the hotel, I was one of the first travellers to get caught up in the "Gold Trail collapse". We were lucky enough to be the last flight granted approval to fly by the CAA , so a 6 hour delay wasn't all that bad.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Having returned from a weeks stay at the Grand Newport all we can say is WOW .. Having travelled to Gumbet 6 times before this is one of the best hotels i have stayed in by far, there were no fault what so ever the hotel was unbelievebly clean, the staff bend over backwards to help you, they even made a fuss of our young boys every single day, the steps were no problem even with 2 young children aged 4 and 6, the food was lovely all of us managed to eat well every single meal and was always full up, when there were not enough tables at meal times the staff made room for us by putting tables together and even fetched us drinks, when the tv in reception didnt work for the semi final of the world cup they ran around quickly to set up the projector screen in the hotels conference room, and the final of the world cup eptied the room to make it to a cinema room nice and cool with air con.
Drinks are no way watered down like stated in other reviews i clearly seen them breaking seals on vodka bottles, and the wine i drank was so strong like paint stripper.

The rooms were excellent and clean beds were comfy we had a family room and was lucky enough to have aircon in both rooms at no extra charge which was great... we requested extra pillows within minutes they were brought to us.

We had arrived at 6am in the morning check in was very quick and reception staff were very helpful even asked if we would like any food making and our bags were quickly carried to our room by one of the helpful staff.

At night the hotel was quiet enabling us to get a good nights sleep unlike some noisy gumbet hotels.

We all had a fantastic holiday met some fantastic people of all cultures and would definatly recomment this hotel it was amazing and we hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Hello,

Having read through most of the reviews for this hotel, I was left feeling extremely anxious about my stay and considered cancelling my holiday!

I am very pleased to say that my boyfriend and I had the most brilliant holiday!

Upon arrival the gentleman at reception was extremely welcoming, polite and friendly.

Our room was no different to those pictured and the only issue with the bedroom was that it needed a little airing as there was a damp smell in the bathroom.

Staff were constantly cleaning and busy.

The swimming pool area was beautiful in the evenings.

I would agree with others that have mentioned the volume of music coming from the pool area during the day, I think that you can just get over it though, or take some ear plugs with you if you are planning on reading a book. You will need to get in there early if you want to grab a sunlounger as they fill up pretty quickly.

We didn't use the free bus to the beach and instead walked down to the hotel beach. It isn't a beach! It is a jetty, which is decked out with lovely comfortable cushions and umbrellas. The walk back from this beach is a small pain. I wouldn't recommend going down there if you have small children and a pushchair etc as you may find it hard work as the hill back is an extremely steep hill which in the heat is a struggle. There is music played loudly through speakers here too.

Food was lovely and fresh at the hotel and as a vegetarian I felt accomodated for and even lost a few pounds - there isn't much variety though, so it is nice to eat out.

The biggest dissapointments were:

All inclusive alcohol, the vodka and gin at the hotel left me desperate for some real booze and I'm not even a big drinker. The beer was really nice though.

Hotel staff seemed to treat non English guests more attentively, despite our best efforts to speak in Turkish where ever possible (this is appreciated by most). We did start to feel that there was a small clique around the pool but we were out most of the time.
As an example, when we couldn't find somewhere to sit in the evenings we went and sat inside and when other people couldn't find somewhere the manager/waiters were falling over themselves to drag a table outside for them.

It's possible that we needed to be a bit more pushy but we're too polite for that!

If you want to drink have fun go crazy then go to Gumbet for the evening which is a short walk from the hotel/alternatively there is a good bus service. Personally we found it extremely full on and weren't there for that sort of holiday - it is full on tourism.

If you want real sand, less English holidaymakers and to chill out then head to Bitez - it is beautiful the people are lovely it's more chilled out and the food is ace, go to Vona Restaurant. They take your towels from you whilst you eat and find you a nice spot on the beach.

You literally walk out of the hotel turn left, walk down hill then take 2nd left, feels like third left because the 2nd one you come to is actually housing. It takes 15 minutes to get there and is well worth it.

Go to Indiana travel in Gumbet to exchange money and get a good deal on excursions, they are really nice helpful people in there.

Our room was cleaned pretty much everyday!

If you are going to Turkey do make the effort to learn a few phrases such as hello, thank you, please, your favourite tipple, you'll be amazed at the reaction you get as most english holiday makers from our experience didn't make any effort!

Definitely go to a market/boat trip and to see some of the amazing sights on offer it is a beautiful place.

We would go back to this hotel and it is most definitely worth 4*

Judge for yourself and do not let the reviews put you off its all personal experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Breakfast wasn't very good, lunch & dinner had lots of salad & desserts but only 4 hot choices, usually rice, vegetable, a meat & fish. Pool area was nice apart from the loud music, complained a few times as it was so loud, rooms were ok, staff were friendly & helpful but were funny with a couple of other girls in the hotel so keep your distance. The gym was rubbish

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Newport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Newport Hotel

Address: Adnan Menderes Cad No:83 Bodrum Merkez, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Newport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Newport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Newport Gumbet
Grand Newport Hotel Gumbet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Newport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.