We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“please read and believe hotel from hell dont go if your family with young children!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Palm Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Oramiral Kemal Kayacan Cad. No:27, Gumbet 48252, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 116 Hotels in Gumbet
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“please read and believe hotel from hell dont go if your family with young children!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

this hotel is dreadful it as never ever been a family resort and shouldnt be advertised as one because there is nothing for young children the playground is covered in glass and was for our two week stay and childrens pool empty also the childrens club lasts 20mins once a week then the animation team that are supposed to be looking after them walk off and leave them to join in with pool games which they are more interested in. this hotel owt to be advertised as a 18-30s holiday resort and nothing else from the moment you wake you there is banging music playing even while your having breakfast with a digusting choice of music playing with swear words all the way through it. as for entertainment if u like fire breathers (really rubbish one at that) you will be fine think it must have been on at least 6 times in are stay,also there is only one bar at night which is 4 stairways away so dont plan on getting drunk and you ave to pay for cocktails which i think is disgusting i always go all inclusive and have never had to pay for cocktails. also you will get mucked about with rooms thats a guarentee we even got sent to another hotel for our 1st night has they had over booked please please please consider this review before booking if you are a family with young children dont do it we hated every minute we were there. on our second week there was even a gang fight on our complex against the security guards about 20 to 30 blokes with batons and slabs of woods i have never seen anything like it in my life scared me to death!!!! (and yes it was that bad). also the big main pool is filthy you cannot see the bottom of it do yourself a favour and get round the quiet pool it improves your holiday and you have to get up around 6.30am to put your towels on a sunbed or you dont get one because theres not many and theres no spare 1s. the only good thing about this hotel is the food which i ave no complaint with it was edable you will need to take extra money to get out of complex we spent £1000 has we went out every night coz there was nothing for us see my pictures

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    127
    107
    90
    172
See reviews for
213
138
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Being students of a young age we're pretty used to slumming it, but this holiday we expected a bit more. Arriving at 11pm we were dragged up some extremely dangerous stairs above reception with no lights, and put in a room stinking of sewage with no working lights, no working fridge, one plug for four appliances, filthy floor and empty fag packets and tissues everywhere, stained curtains, and a FILTHY shower. When asking reception to kindly move us/fix the toilet which was broken they conveniently did not speak any english and were almost mocking and laughing at us. Demanding the toilet to be fixed and a room change the next day we had to go down four times before it worked again. The next day we were moved to a much nicer room however the toilet seat was completely broken and hanging off and then the air conditioning packed in. The door plan on the back of the door let us realise that the room we were dumped in wasn't even part of the hotel but we think the staff quarters with kitchen next to it -total disgrace. We asked the reception to send a technician before we went out that night and they agreed, when we got back it was so hot i was getting up about five times a night to splash my face with water. Outside was cooler than inside! We spent the next day ringing and being promised technicians but nothing - then asked "why are you in your room, they have a key?". TO MAKE SURE YOU COME. didn't come that day either so wasted it. Convenient again they didn't speak english. Technicians come, waved their hand in front and said it was fine and did that about 10 times when it was pumping out hot air. Said they'd come back at 7pm, 10am , nothing. Moved rooms for the 3rd time and was luxurious compared. EVerything fine and as soon as we moved the air conditioning was being fixed!

Our rooms were never cleaned apart from when we CHANGED rooms, towels weren't clean and the cleaner even took one and never gave it back! The bed made everyday but no clean sheets for weeks on end (and its pretty hot out there!) Really noisy neighbours.

The large pool was kept clean but was really really loud playing dance music all day. The silent pool was a lot nicer. Two burglaries occurred during the second week which was quite suspicious, and the hotel staff were unhelpful. The food was quite good, always lettuce, fruit, okay cakes, always some chicken but got the impression a lot was recycled as many things appeared everyday. The free snacks were chips and burgers and the burgers were awful! About the only hotel which served EFES beer for free if all inclusive, and always helpful with drinks.

Overall, better food than we expected but all the people we spoke to had the same experiences. Being woken up in the middle of sunbathing at least 4 times a day being sold things, staff rude, everyone seemed to be chucked in a disgraceful room to see how much they could get away with and some even a family of 5 in a double bed for the first night. Quite a dangerous place and smelly in some places (i think it was a sewage smell). TOilet outside was horrible, we walked into our room being cleaned with the man smoking. Our cleaner constantly hassled us for photos and put flowers on our bed which were infested with ants.

JUST STRESSFUL! Unhelpful. Wouldn't recommend it and wouldn't go back. WIll be uploading photo's for you to see, and definitely complaining to the people we booked it with. Surprised we didn't get seriously ill. And also, turkish computers have a straight line infront of an "i" where it would normally be. I suspect the positive reviews on here (most of them) are done on TURKISH computers from the actual hotel staff. Have a looky!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

we arrived 5am, room was not pleasant, got new room next day, food was good i am a fussy celioc, and resturant staff were more than happy to cook me mostly chicken, when i asked, bar staff very freindly, in fact all staff very freindly, i would deff go back, we think prob oct this year, met lots of very nice people. A holiday is what you make it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We had some problems with the A/C when we arrived at the hotel and they did not changed the room immediately. We had to wait for a tehnician to realize that the A/C had a serious problem, and could only be repaired by a specialized firm. They told us to stay in that room for the night but we refused and asked for another room. Finally they sent a hotel employer with us to visit other rooms(i would not recommend any room starting with 5xx). We finally received a good room. That was the only bad part (BAD MANAGEMENT) during the stay. The rest ,the food,hotel staff( animation, restaurant, cleaning) pool were very good. The water in Gumbet is not so clear but the hotel has a free bus to a beach near by (Bitez) with clear water. We had a car and visited Akyarlar (20km from the hotel) village where the water and the beach are superb.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

This could have been a great hotel and it has the looks of it. However after a couple of years of neglecting and bad management you get :
- rooms not proper, bathrooms with fungus, leakages, insufficient interior, things broken or not working.
- 4 days no warm water
- bad housekeeping (rooms not cleaned properly/no new towels or dirty ones/1 set of bedsheets in 12 days and no change).
- one day a cockroach visited our room.
- you have to pay € 3,00 a day for a locker
- towel service is being charged and even then you get dirty towels.
- food is not bad, but every day it's the same.
- when going to the restaurant you have to work you way to a sewer air. Luckily when your in the restaurant the smell of the food is stronger.
- ladies room at the restaurant : out of order during our 12-day stay (it probably still is)
- swimming pool is not or hardly cleaned. Surroundings of the pool are very slippery.
- toilet at the swimming pool : you really don't want to go there!
- very limited wifi connection range.
- watch out for one of the hairdressers : he heavily intimidates girls/women to get a haircut and can't get his hands where they should be!!

To write something positive; the boxsprings are good and everybody was very enthusiatic about for the animation team.

Despite the above, the hotel has a superb location and has a great view, but that's all.
For the money you have to pay....try somewhere else ! This hotel needs definitely to be renovated and upgraded first.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Great food and great cleaning service.
The hotel has no 4* anywhere but Turkey probably, but I guess you know that.
Some problems in the beginning of our stay, our friends' room was changed because the AC was not functionnable.
But otherwise, it was a great week out there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

the hotel has lots of steps ,but its built on a hill with spectacular views ,and you can get onto main street from rooms with very little steps to climb . The hotel have recently built loads of shops at the bottom of hill selling very good quality g star ,ed hardy abercrombie etc so not a problem at all ,very secure hotel with security quards stopping locals getting into hotel ,pool area very nice with plenty slip mats ,turkish bath well worth the money ,the hotel is definatley of 4 star ,rooms 3 star ,but rooms were adequate and cleaned every day with fresh towels ,just they were being refurbished and they were not all finished yet ,but if you were not happy ,they would easily change you ,we were with goldtrail who had went bust ,and was very thankful to the very helpful people in reception who let us use there computer and phone to find out what we had to do to get home ,they also phoned the airport direct for us to check that our flight was going ahead ,very gratefull ,the food was very nicely presented ,but with fussy kids we did eat out ,location 2 minutes from shops ,5 to beach with lovley restraunts ,swings go karts etc and 10 to bar street ,what more can you ask ..brilliant .looking to book for next year

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Hotel

Address: Oramiral Kemal Kayacan Cad. No:27, Gumbet 48252, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Palm Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palm Garden
Palm Garden Gumbet
Iskandil Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.