We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, disappointing service and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnific Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Magnific Hotel to your Saves list
Magnific Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gumbet beach Zengin Huseyin Sok. No:15 Bodrum, Gumbet 48400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 116 Hotels in Gumbet
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, disappointing service and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

My friends and I stayed at the Magnific for 10 nights over June/July. When we finally arrived at the hotel in the early hours of the morning after a 2.5 hour wait for the shuttle transfer, the unhelpful check-in staff explained that there were electrical faults in both the rooms we'd booked; broken air-conditioning in one and a broken overhead light in the other. We were told that we’d need to stay in a self catering hotel down the road for two nights until the problems were fixed, though we could still use all the hotel facilities and come and go as we please. COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE!! After almost an hour of trying to reason with the staff (and them practically laughing at us) we gave up and accepted our fate. We were taken to the hotel down the road only to find they’d booked us in to a complete and utter DIVE – I’ve never seen anything so vile in all my life. Seeing as we’d booked two rooms at the Magnific which is rated as 4* accommodation, you can imagine our disappointment when they chucked all four of us in one appartment in a two bob slum that we would NEVER choose to stay in ourselves. We had to laugh about it otherwise we’d cry. The next morning we went straight to reception to get it sorted as there was no way we were spending another night in that hell hole. As predicted, the staff were extremely unhelpful and said there was nothing they could do as the rooms still needed to be fixed, so we decided to call our rep who arranged to meet us in the afternoon at the hotel. After speaking to the reception staff, our rep informed us that miraculously two rooms had become available(!!) and they’d upgrade us to superior rooms free of charge. We waived goodbye to the slum and bought our suitcases over. Coincidentally, the air con was broken in one room and the overhead light in the other didn’t work...what are the chances!! We were given 6 bottles of wine as compensation for the inconvenience with the rooms (which didn’t get fixed throughout our stay) and some old fruit...just what you need in an all inclusive hotel!
 
Other than this set back, the rest of our time at the hotel was pretty much drama free and we had a wicked holiday :)
 
LOCATION - great location if you want to go out clubbing. We always started the night at Outback Bar which was only a few minutes walk from the hotel. Being so close to bar street does mean that you can hear the music in the hotel rooms until around 4am – so not really ideal if you’re going for more of a relaxing holiday.
 
FOOD/DRINK - the food was questionable. Some days it was ok and others not so nice, but it’s what you can expect for an all inclusive hotel…you get what you pay for. The glasses they give you for drinks are stupidly small which means going to the bar A LOT for refills. The wine is pretty rancid but mix it with some lemonade and Bob’s your uncle!
 
ENTERTAINMENT – the animation team are a laugh and try to get everyone involved in the daily activities, sometimes wont take no for an answer though which can get annoying. Evening entertainment included bingo, transvestite belly dancer(!), fire eaters, acrobats etc, the usual!
 
POOL/BEACH – pool area is kept really clean throughout the day, staff constantly collecting glasses and sweeping up etc. It can get quite crowded and sun beds are pushed quite close together but it’s ok. The beach is literally on the doorstep but can sometimes be quite hard to get a sun bed. Would recommend walking a bit further down the beach (turn right out of the hotel) until you get to the sun beds with the pink cushions.
 
BARS/CLUBS – would definitely recommend Outback Bar, the staff are all really nice (and fit!) and the music is good. Temple Bar at the end of bar street is wicked too. Also, check out Papas Pizza on your way home from a night out...best hangover cure ever!!
 
All in all it was a great holiday and I’d definitely go back to Gumbet, but not so sure I’d return to the Magnific!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    223
    108
    82
    78
See reviews for
147
247
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

dear all
Please read this review. You better dont go and dont waste money. Very dissapointed comapre to my any other holidays in 3, 4 or 5 star all inclusive hotels !!! I was reading some reviews on this website but for some reason i was worried a bit but we have booked it and i can say it was a mistake.

Please trust me as i know what i say i was with my wife and friends in a past few years many diffrent all inclusive places ( Tunisia, Gran Canaria, Egypt, Majorca/Mallorca, Morocco, also twice just BB otion (Greece Santorini and Mykonos and Portugal Algarve) all of them in very similar price as usually.

GOOD POINTS:

On the beach. Good dinner (but if you come at 8pm you will be already missing some food and will not be added more and dinner is served from 7:30pm and some food like chicken or other sometimes cold). Good cakes. Nice shape and good looking pool but unfortunately deep in all places. Good red and rose wines. Of course it depends what you do you expect ...possibly if you would go for the very first time for holidays maybe you would like it. Food nice but of course same everyday as you can not expect diffrent varietes. No more good points.

BAD POINTS: (more details below explained)

NO Entertainment .

NO kids Entertainment.

NO Animation team.

DEEP swimmimg pool

NO HOT WATER in rooms for most of the our stay. (not only our room)

HORRIBLE room CLEANING (not only our room). Rooms not cleaned on arrival. Reported but same cleaning next days.

Problems with selfservice coffe machines in the restaurant and by the pool.

VERY NOISY AND EXTREMELY LOUD in room overnight till 4am.

Problems with selfservice juice machines as above.

WATER BOTTLES 20L dispensers filled with tap water.

POOL BAR looks like ghost town apart from vodka, gin and ice nothing else, shelfs empty, 4big fridges dirty and also empty.

RECEPTION/LOUNGE BAR again empty and only probably 4-5 empty bottles on shelfs :)

MAIN POOL , of course only 1pool, unfortunately deep in all places so if you dont know how to swimm and fancy warmer pool water instead cold sea no chance of getting into pool apart from staying on mattress or just holding to the edge.

NO LUNCH BOXES so if you are going for a trip out of hotel for a day forget it to get one or count on some good breakfast ( 2 of of 3 times we did not get of course after reservation). Inside few olives,

ITALIAN AND FISH restaurant we did not go (as i have seen they served example same pasta as main restaurant and you have to pay for drinks)

KEBAB HOUSE for min 7days stay you are allowed to book 2dinner but of course out of maybe 50 dishes you are allowed to have only set menu like soup and kebab nothing else unless you pay for it so why they are saying that you can have 2dinner? Same thing is served at main restaurant.

MAIN RESTAURANT at breakfast quees likely for omlette of fried egg beside between at dinner time between 7:30-8:30 same thing for other food and not enough plates but food OK.

RECEPTION staff and managers ( ) useless , reported many times hot water problems not fixed untill last day and box lunches issues ...only said sorry or we have heard we are not allowed so just simply be prepared not getting anything.

I dont mind of having lunch somewhere else when i'm out all day but just for the rule if you order lunch box you should get one as you will get anyway probably some small bun,slice of cheese and ham and maybe some apple but NO she is telling you are not allowed it does not matter that you will not be eating at the hotel breakfast, lunch and dinner.

RECEPTION STAFF USELES and almost dont speak

VERY NOISY AND EXTREMELY LOUD in room overnight till 4am. We could not really sleep as the music from the club which was probably about 400metres away it clearly heard in room with even locked doors and our room wasnt even faced that way. I like it loud music but that just too much everynight. I can only imagine what people heard in their rooms facing main street as there were also 2 more bars with very loud music as well.

Basically NO Entertainment and NO Animation team as it should be. Durning our 10days stay 3times they have invited people for darts, no other games or anything else because of course no facillities so no anything waterpolo and and water gymanastics due to deep pool. Boring evenings...nothing to do at the hotel. Nice guys but Animation team does not exist of all our stay nothing durning the day apart from last 3 days afternoon darts, table tennis, 1 aqya gym in deep pool so you must be 1.70m height as min pool depth is 1.61m.

Very very very poor evening entertainment. Nothing at all or about 20 min shows like break dance (but that one was the best of whole our stay), belly dancer (guy), turkish dancers or something like this so very short and very poor.

Very dissapointed. not recommend it. We have choosen only because of price...it was mistake.

Thanks for reading

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the magnific every year for the last 5 years and have always have a great holiday and couldn't fault the hotel.......until now. I booked for a week in June this year and found a lot of changes many of which were bad. Firstly we booked and paid extra for a superior delux room but that was not what we got. The staff on the reception desk were unhelpful and rude especially when we asked to keep our room on the last day they point blank refused without checking and said the hotel was full which it wasn't. Turkish guests at the hotel were treat better and given service before anyone else in particular in the queue for the bar. I have to say as a regular guest of the hotel I was very disappointed with the overall customer service. It seems as though good service isn't important anymore which is why I won' t be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed at the Magnific from 28th June to 5th July. I too read the reviews in the weeks leading up to our holiday. I'm sorry but the people who complained need to get a grip. The hotel is fantastic. The rooms are clean and kept clean daily by the wonderful housekeeping team. All the other areas in the hotel are kept very clean. The food is exceptionally good as is the alcohol available as part of the all-inclusive package. The entertainment is the usual family stuff you see in Turkey and the animation team do their best to include everyone. We had such a good time that we will be returning for 2 weeks in October, If you want 5* then you have to get real and pay 5* prices, if not a holiday is what you make it and this hotel is exceptional value with good food and great staff. Enjoy, we did!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 149 and there were 3 adults and we managed just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

As a group of young girls, we had an amazing time at the Magnific. I would like to say with confidence that the holiday turned out better than expected for all of us! Of course there were a few downsides but this did not at all affect an excellent holiday! Although we arrived at the hotel in the afternoon, our rooms were not ready, which wasn't a good start. Also, there were a few technical problems i.e. the door locks and room telephone were fixed after we moved to our rooms. However, the rooms were moderate and cleaned daily and clean towels left every day.
The staff was very friendly and considerate and constantly asked if everything was alright on a daily basis which made us forget the downsides. They were very approachable and willing to sort out any problems we faced. The food was nice and a great variety of choice for everyone. Though one main problem was the size of glasses (incredibly small) and constantly getting up for refills!
The location of the hotel made our experience the best ever! It was only 10 minutes bus ride to the Bodrum centre and only 2 minutes from Gumbet bar street (one of the most popular night life resorts). As young girls, going out and enjoying the time was our main intention. The entertainment team took groups to these clubs every night and we felt very safe and taken care of. Many thanks to Hakan, Yunus and Yusuf for an amazing time and accompanying us! The music doesn't stop until 4am and you could hear this greatly from the hotel, therefore I would not recommend to those wanting a quiet, peaceful holiday. Other than that Bodrum is paradise and I will be going again soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIngapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

prejudiced staffs who look at your skin colours. Off handed young waiters who just cant wait to send u off your breakfast table cos they need to clean up early. Had food poisoning from the cold hams and salami. nice rooms and balcony but some of the staffs spoiled the whole package.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was our third trip to this hotel and you will not find a better location or pool in the gumbet area ,Great choice of food from the all inclusive buffet ,something for everyone ,if you do not like the hot food choices plenty of salads,breads and delish deserts,you would be hard pushed to not find anything you like.There is food all day long,Beer from a plastic cup is never nice but you get used to it,

My only issue this year is what they have done to the bar area,they have put up a fence blocking the amazing view that had always been there ,PLEASE TAKE THIS DOWN,It has changed the whole bar atmosphere,I also think bringing back the option of buying international drinks would be a great improvement.All in all a fab hotel ,if your not happy with your room they will change it,the type of room you get can greatly depend what company you travel with and where you fly from which we have learned from experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnific Hotel

Address: Gumbet beach Zengin Huseyin Sok. No:15 Bodrum, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnific Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnific Hotel Gumbet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnific Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.