We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff and responsiveness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbet Cove Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gumbet Cove Hotel to your Saves list
Gumbet Cove Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adnan Menderes Cad. M.Kasif Ertekin Sk. No 4, Gumbet, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 116 Hotels in Gumbet
Doha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best staff and responsiveness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great atmosphere, fun hotel to be in!
The owners are always there and very responsive to all requests which compensates for the number of stars!
Stayed there for a full week and enjoyed my time.
Could do better on variety of food and wi-fi in rooms

Room Tip: Closer to the beach for wi-fi access although you might have a pb with the beach bar noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    39
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
22
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

i was there in august 2011 for a week on half board basis and really i enjoy my stay The hotel is runned by a lovely turkish couple you feel yourself like you are at home.The dinner turkish buffet is great same is the breakfast.Beach is very clean Prices are affordable and the staff is very nice .I surely recommend it

Room Tip: higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seinajoki, Finland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I loved this hotel. Staff was very friendly and professional. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was very good every day and food was also different every day. Rooms was nice and fresh colours. View was amazing (seaview).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We had a great stay here in September 2011. We were very lucky with our room - situated on the top floor and with a pool view (and a tiny bit seaview). Nice new furniture in fresh colors and new curtains (extra plus also for extra thick curtains to keep the early sun out)
Newly re-decorated room and newly re-tiled nice (but tiny) bathrooms - only wish they had also replaced the shower "holder" and the showers curtains. The balcony was spacious for two and private and with nice Bouganville "decoration". Quite good soundproofing between the rooms - or maybe we just were lucky with our neighbours :) Great food and service! at both the restaurant/cafe and at the beach bar/cafe! And the staff there were friendly in a "relaxing" way :) Nice garden with great seaview and plenty of sun-beds and great shade from the pepper-threes if needed. Beach tiny and rocky - but nice and sandy once you get in the sea. And just 50 m to the side there is a more sandy and "larger" beach line.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with seaview/pool view! And a top floor room/apartment! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This is a nice hotel and it's well situated. The hotel has a cosy feel to it and never felt busy as there is a pool area, a garden area and a little beach.

We were a party of 4 that arrived on 5 August and were later joined by 6 more family and friends. on August 12. As we were such a large group we could easily see that the rooms do vary a great deal. Some of them are very small and some large and airy. The views did vary as well but as the hotel is well situated, the views rang from nice to lovely. As you have both a pool and the sea on site, you have the best of both worlds. The beach is however tiny and is literally only one sunbed wide which meant that we never acually stayed on the beach but could walk down from the pool in 2 mins to take a salty dip!

The hotels situation provides peace and quiet will no disturbances from traffic or bars, yet it is very close to everything. The centre of Gümbet is just a 10 min walk away and the local buses and taxi rank are just at the top of the road (3 mins).

The restaurant staff are lovely, and very proffesional and not 2over the top" as sometimes can be experienced in Turkey.. The food at the hotel was very good and reasonably priced. This meant that most days we ate lunch at the hotel. We even tried a few speciality dishes in the evening and were never disappointed.

Best cocktails were at Zetas restaurant on the beach front (happy hour = half price between 10pm - 4 am). We did try the food at Zetas one evening hoping that it would match the excellent cocktails, but unfortunately although the food was fine, it wasnt good enough to want to go back again for dinner.

The beds are unusually hard but this wasnt too much of a problem for any of us. The AC has to be paid for at the hotel, ca 10 Tlurkish lira per day.

Its a lot breezier in Gümbet compared to other parts of the coast we have been to in Turkey. This is nice but be warned dont forget your sunfactor, the breeze makes the heat and sun a little deceptive.

Hate to add anything negative but this review wouldnt be truthful if I didnt mention the few gripes we did have.
The cleaning was very poor, (its been fine to excellent in all other hotels we've stayed in during our 25 trips to Turkey. There isn't really anyone who takes care of the pool area and this needs to be corrected. As it is breexy there are flowers, leaves and insects being blown into the pool and cleaning once a day is insufficient. Also only half the filters in the pool wehree working and these were only turned on at night. They should be on at regular intervals in order to keep the pook clean. There was often a very greasy dirty film on top of the pool. and algae growing in some of the spillage vents on one side of the pool. We did point this out to our rep and during the last couple of days of our holiday they did make a bit more of an effort. We hope that they take this seriously because this is a lovely hotel with great potential, but these two things do let them down quite a lot.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011 via mobile

I think that most of the comments are pretty fair and obviously different people have different holiday experiences!
Yes the gumbet cove is a nice pretty hotel in a very good location but it doesn't come without it's problems! To be honest my biggest gripe was with the Dutch that swarmed around the swimming pool causeing endless noise and making a general pest of them selves!
Regarding the last post from svempaj it might be useful if you actually review gumbet cove instead of just uesing trip advisor to slate the British and vent any jelous issues that you clearly to have!!

Gumbet cove has alot of qualities! Good food, good location and it's clean and tidy. You can't really expect more from a Turkish hotel.
I didn't find the staff particulaly helpful or friendly but like I said peoples experiences differ . I'm sure you will enjoy your holiday and stay at Gumbet Cove!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We enjoyed our holiday at Gumbet Cove hotel very much. The location is the main attraction. Right on the beach and close to the centre of Gumbet.

Room Tip: Close to water (as the rooms there are newer)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gumbet Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumbet Cove Hotel

Address: Adnan Menderes Cad. M.Kasif Ertekin Sk. No 4, Gumbet, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 116 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gumbet Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gumbet Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbet Cove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.