We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sami Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Sami Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ayaz Cad No 10, Gumbet 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 116 Hotels in Gumbet
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

really enjoyed it. hotel was spotless and in the middle of shops bars and restaurants, we were b&b and loved the view on the beach while eating breakfast. flight pickup wasnt until midnight and we got to keep the room till transfer arrived which was great as i was pregnant lol

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    120
    76
    37
    41
See reviews for
82
146
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My partner and myself stayed at Sami Beach Hotel from 6th Sept to 20th Sept 2013. We arrived at about 2am and the whole district was lit up and operating on full volume. The following chain of events repeat throughout the Sami Beach reviews. We arrived at the hotel at 2am Sat morning to be treated off hand by reception with minimal English; shown to a “dimmly lit “room with an obviously urine stained mattress.
We stated that that we were NOT sleeping on THAT. They seemed surprised and said it was that or nothing. No rooms available. We insisted. They said they could place us in a room across the street.
We naturally accepted.
We were shown to a room up two flights of stairs that was above a night club and smoke filled from below.
The balcony sliding door didnt lock and accessed a shared balcony overlooking the main street Ayaz.
No prospect of sleep.
Next morning we saw the day manager who said they cannot let the rooms across the road for holidays for the reasons we had experienced.
He said if we returned 12.30 we could view 3 rooms that were being vacated at 12 noon.
We found a room on the ground floor.
We saw out out holiday from this room. The noise from the bars, which ceased at 4am, built onto the Sami Hotel wall, meant special measures to sleep were necessary.
Temperature 30 to 37 deg C.
Till 4am we had to shut the windows tight, put on the television, one of two English news channels, switch on the air conditioning for both air and background noise.
At 4am I had to get up and reverse the above process.
We came home exhausted.

We were hustled in the dining area, we were half board, at every meal to frequent the Sami other restaurants. Breakfast and evening.
The highlight was Yusef Shen, he serviced the room to a super standard, smiled and was great throughout.
This is a brief resume of the horror, dogs roaming freely throughout the beach area day and night, the cats throught the eating areas, the deafening noise and the constant and insistent hustling.
Sami Beach Hotel is is in desperate and glaring need of refurbishment
Example of the overcharging in the Hotel a bottle of Efes beer 500mm in the hotel 9 tl ( £3) 100 mtrs down the beach 4/5 tl. -Bandits.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

just had 2weeks at sami beach, after reading reviews about the hotel before i went i was'nt looking forward to going on holiday, but i need'nt have worried as it was a brill holiday, hotel bit dated but very comfortable an staff very helpfull and friendly, we were in room 345 so it was quiet and we had a sea view. would go back to this hotel....

Room Tip: don't be afraid to ask for a quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just back from another wonderful holiday in Sami Beach. Really like the location of this hotel and only a few steps to the beach. Had breakfast every morning here and can't find fault with it, had dinner on the beach 3 evenings and really enjoyed it. We went to other places for drinks each evening but always came back to Sami Beach for the last few.

All the staff reception, cleaning, bar, restaurant are great and can't do enough to help

But please Sami Beach do not go All-Inclusive as it will ruin a wonderful hotel. I think it will stop a lot of people who have previously stayed here returning. After all we all like to try out different restaurants and bars when on holiday and not get shoe-horned into the one !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Arrived at the hotel around 5am. Check-in was slow. Everyone got a wrist band for B & B or Half Board. There was a young man there to help you with suitcases also.
We were in the main building on the second floor. We had a view out over a terrace (I think our room was above the kitchen/bar), we could partially see the pool & then the sea was the opposite side. Balcony was tiny but we could have sat out (just a bit tight). Room itself was small, basic & had dark furniture but very clean & adequate for our needs. Also, we didnt find it noisy at all.
Breakfast was up until 10am. Had breakfast on the first morning and there was a choice of fruit, cheeses, meats, bread etc. There was a man cooking omelettes also.
Pool area was quiet in September so there was no need to be up at 7 to put towels on sun loungers. Same with the beach area. Big mattresses on sun loungers and very comfortable. Everything was around you but yet it was very relaxing.
Staff "Pepsi" is very attentive asking do people want drinks etc brought to them.
Food in the beach bar is very tasty. Turkish Pide was delicious.
We ate in the restaurant (on the beach, beside the sea) on our first night. Starters were fab but I think we both picked the wrong main courses as they were bland.
Yes "The Captain" will be around to offer you the boat trip but I told him I get very sick on boats so he left us alone. Once you are nice enough about it, they dont mind.
Definitely have the turkish bath in the hotel & opt for the full body massage. Very reasonable in comparison to other hotels in the area & a great experience. Note that if they offer you refreshments they will charge you extra (this doesn't normally happen in a proper Hammam).
Evening entertainment in the bar was very good, something different every night. Would be great for families. I found the staff ok, not too pushy but a few did ask us out to Bar Street.
The hotel is located right on the beach. On the other side (at reception) there are shops right opposite. If you turn left as you come out of reception it will lead you to Bar Street or turn right and it will lead you to some shops, restaurants & quieter bars.
I did hear a rumour that this hotel was going all inclusive next year, if thats the case I wouldn't be returning. If they offered B & B again I would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

just back from a week in sami beach hotel, bar staff were very slow and less than useful, rooms were basic and nice (no kettle though) it was the noise level that got to me most. there is a bar at both front and back of hotel so no matter where you got a room the boom boom noise could not be avoided. it started at 10.30 at night and continued till 3am. if you are out partying for the night its not a problem but if you are travelling with little people DO NOT stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: if you want sleep do not stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

nightly entertainment good place to go if your travelling with kids. we wernt staying here but went to play bingo, watch the football and the x factor, plenty of tv screens and different football matches on so you wont miss your team. lovely location just on the beach, good service, lovely staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sami Beach Hotel

Address: Ayaz Cad No 10, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sami Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sami Beach Gumbet
Hotel Sami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.