We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Asarlik Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Asarlik Beach to your Saves list
Royal Asarlik Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asarlik Mevkii, Advan Mendres Cad, Gumbet 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 116 Hotels in Gumbet
Airdrie
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not what I expected!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I can't say my trip here was much to write home about. The food was much the same day in day out and the advertisement that there are numerous restaurants within the hotel is a con. Basically only one or two of them will be open each day which you have to book and good luck with that! Suffice to say I found it all a bit too claustrophobic and won't book all inclusive again. To top it off all of my party suffered from food poisoning during the vacation which pretty much sums it up. I wouldn't rush to the resort again either as it is all flashing lights, counterfeit produce and locals that chase you along the street!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalAsarlikBeach, Yönetici at Royal Asarlik Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

it makes us a great pleasure to be able to read your review on Tripadvisor. Thank you for spending time for writing and sharing your opinion with other Guests.
We try to do our best according food,service, variety and taste to satisfy our Guest. Surely sometimes we have weak points which we immediately look for.
Feedbacks from our guests are very important to us, these are ways that lead to improvement.

We hope to welcome you again in our Hotel to spoil you once more. If we can do something in advance please let us know.
Much greetings from Royal Asarlık Family to all of you, with warm regards.


Kindest regards,

Roayl Asarlık Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    275
    181
    76
    50
See reviews for
281
448
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hi Everyone!
i stayed in this hotel with my brother on june 2013.it was the best vacation i ve ever had.You should go there and see what happens.Cuz you dont even know unless you dont visit there even my comments.Plus when i was there,i celebrate my birthday party and it was really awesome.Thanks to the team and please fix up the gym room its like coming from 1987 lol awful :)
See you this summer again for rockin it in Gumbet guys!;)

Room Tip: Get the outside room visitor !;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalAsarlikBeach, Yönetici at Royal Asarlik Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts and concerns on your recent stay.

We are pleased to know that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We value every single experience and opinion of our valuable guests.We have taken note of your constructive feedback and appreciate it truly as this is the only way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve the luxury service we aim to provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Royal Asarlık Beach Hotel.


Sunny regards,

Royal Asarlık Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hotel in September, which was sadly an agonising two weeks. The staff were unhelpful and service was very often poor at the bar, reception and restaurant areas.

The rooms were filthy the majority of the time, even though cleaners had been in. Our bathroom was constantly flooded from the leaking shower and mini bar / bed sheets hardly even changed or stocked.

The noise from bar street was unbearable. It kept us awake most nights. We had no a/c for 4 days despite constantly calling reception to ask for it to be fixed!

The corridors had dirty plates and cutlery in along side cleaners carts with used linen. Nice.


The food was awful, resulting in us having to eat out most nights even though we had booked for an all inclusive.

We booked through first choice and have written a lengthy complaint about our stay and quality of the hotel.

I would NOT recommend anyone staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalAsarlikBeach, Yönetici at Royal Asarlik Beach, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Nathan,

first of all we would like to thank you for writing your opinion and saving time.

It makes us sad to read that you were not satisfied with your stay in our Hotel.We want to inform you that much things changed after your visit. We have done many diffrent renovations , renewals and muches of trainings for the stuff.

It will be a pleasure for us to show you again our hospitality , to welcome you again and to pamper you .

With kind regrads ,

ROYAL ASARLIK BEACH MANAGEMENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here with other members of our family in September although we had booked separately through Thomas Cook. This hotel is rated as 5* inclusive but there is no way it should be. Having read some rather derogatory comments about the hotel we were a little sceptical but other members of our family had stayed there before and liked it so we went with an open mind. The room we had in B Block was a little "tired" in décor but adequate, quiet and with a lovely sea view. The food in the main restaurant was good in the main with plenty of choice although if the weather turns bad, as it did whilst we were there, be warned, there is very little in the way of inside eating area. The four specialist restaurants were very disappointing though. These are billed as "Al la Carte" and you are only allowed to eat at each of them once during your stay and have to book early in the morning of the day you wish to eat and there were only 2 of the 4 operating on any one day. We had expected them to be "special" and a cut above the buffet restaurant but in our opinion that was far from the fact. The only al la carte items were for the main course where there were 3 options with the other courses all just being one set item. The standard of food was not as good in most cases as in the main restaurant and in the main it was cold when it reached us. Sadly not the dining experience we were hoping for. Our main complaint though was the fact that all of the spirits were watered down to such an extent it was like drinking a watered down mixer. Neither of us are big drinkers but I had been hoping for a gin and tonic in the evening before dinner and a maybe a whisky or brandy or cocktail after. We tried every bar and every type to establish if it was just a one off.....most definitely not. Our family and friends assured us this had not been the case on their previous visits. We expected local brands but even they are the statutory 40% proof or thereabouts. The only alcoholic beverage that was drinkable was the lager. The wine served was pretty dreadful as well so we ended up drinking water most evenings, whether intentionally or not! We complained to the rep who basically did nothing and certainly didn't feed it back to Thomas Cook as we found out when we sent a letter of complaint. It was only on our last night that apparently things changed in one bar when a guest became very vocal to the manager and the vodka suddenly became full strength in that one bar. The management apparently blamed the bar staff but that degree of dilution throughout the hotel cannot happen without collusion from a higher authority. Thomas Cook have been no better as the offer of compensation has been derisory and they have constantly ignored correspondence. This was the first package holiday we have taken in over a decade as we generally book independently. It will certainly be the last.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here with the family, booked through Thomas Cook, when we arrived we are told that our rooms had been doubled booked, something the hotel do in case familys dont show up, and we had to spend the night in a hotel opposite this one, which wasnt even fully built. When we arrived back the next day we were placed in rooms at the arsalik, the staff are rude and avery unhelpful. As compensation they offered us a free massages in the spa.

The spa to be fair is nice especially the pool.

The beach is nice and the pool, the beach is about a 5 min walk, situated behind the hotel.

Bodrum its self was nice and a bus service which you hale and ride goes into town and to a shopping centre, this service was good

Not sure whether we plan to return anytime soon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Booked through First Choice and advertised as 5 Star this resort was filthy, the staff were surly and the food was laced with pieces of jagged metal. The place was infested with ants and roaches, there were blood stains on the sheets and the room didn't feel like it had been cleaned since the last guests had stayed there. We eventually resorted to buying cleaning products and cleaning the room ourself because it just didn't get done. When we complained to First Choice they refused to do anything about it. We went to investigate other 5 star hotels in the region to see if the standard was any better and there were some really lovely hotels around Bodrum for similar prices, so the area is certainly capable of producing better.

If First Choice had pitched it as a 2/3 star hotel then it wouldn't have been such a shock, and we're not above roughing it if that's what we signed up for. I used to be a travel journalist so have seen my fair share of hotels of all standards. But when the First Choice rep herself actually admitted that the hotel was not up to scratch and was being dropped next year we felt rather cheated. The gardens of the hotel were really beautiful and very well maintained which is worth mentioning.

Bodrum itself is lovely and the Turkish people are so great, so we were able to make the best of it, but it meant spending much of our time out of the hotel and we were hoping for a very relaxed stay. Gumbet isn't a great area so we had to travel daily.

We'll never book a package deal again and wouldn't touch First Choice with a giant cockroach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for the 2nd time last month and again we thoroughly enjoyed it, the staff are pleasant room clean and lovely sea view, i am a very fussy eater so didnt find the food great but there was always something for me even if it was chips/pasta or salad but it was so cheap to eat out we did a few night which was lovely. The location of the hotel is spot on with its own private beach this means you dont have to go to the more crowded public beach. We also did 2 boats trips and the turkish bath which i would highly recommend. Roll on next year as met some awesome turkish people also and cant wait to go bacvk to see them!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Asarlik Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Asarlik Beach

Address: Asarlik Mevkii, Advan Mendres Cad, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Gumbet
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Asarlik Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Asarlik Beach is a modern built seaside hotel overlooking Gumbet Beach, 3 km away from Bodrum city center and 35 km away from airport. With the belief of " away from noise but close to the fun " it is waiting to fulfill the guests' holiday expectations. Royal Asarlik Beach is a modern built seaside hotel overlooking Gumbet Beach, 3 km away from Bodrum city center and 35 km away from airport. With the belief of "away from noise but close to the fun" it is waiting to fulfill the guests' holiday expectations. 7 Days a week the animation team will liven up the guests' holiday with daytime activities, shows, competitions, sketches and special themed show night. 4-12 Aged mini club is waiting their children. Water sport possibility on the beach. The guests will definitely find something fitting to their enjoy. In a 6 story main building there are 353 rooms. Modern and classic style decorated rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, safe box, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Asarlik Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Asarlik Beach Gumbet
Asarlik Beach Hotel
Royal Asarlik Beach Hotel Gumbet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Asarlik Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.