We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bodrum Beach Resort” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bodrum Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Bodrum Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bodrum Beach Resort
Gumbet, Gumbet 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 116 hotels in Gumbet
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bodrum Beach Resort”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The tour operator recommended this hotel to myself, my daughter and grand-daughter. I have been to Turkey five times and this was the worst place I have stayed. The hotel itself was clean and some of the staff were helpful, however there was no children's menu and the food itself was very poor. This is an all inclusive hotel but we ended up eating out four out of seven nights because the food was so poor. Nor could you get a decent cup of tea! One morning I asked if there was any sugar for my tea and was told no they only had sweeteners! Pretty poor for a so called 4 star hotel! There was no entertainment at the hotel and the kids mini disco was only on once during the entire week. The staff at the pool bar were busy making up their own drinks and seeing what they tasted like before they got round to serving you!
The location of the hotel was lovely which was just as well as there was nothing else to do during the evenings. We walked along the beach to the shops and restaurants every night so pass some time.
Our room was located on the ground floor right in front of a really busy road where the cars, coaches and mopeds bibbed constantly throughout the day and night!
We will return to Turkey but will certainly not be returning to this particular hotel nor would I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    84
    66
    11
    18
See reviews for
114
69
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We were at this hotel from June 4th till 11th, all in all it was a lovely new, clean hotel, no faults at all with our room, cleaned daily, fresh towels, balcony and even a kettle. There could be a problem if you have mobility problems or have young children in pushchairs as there are steps everywhere with no lifts. Pool area clean although you have to arrive early if you require a sunbed as they go very quickly, not enough to go around. Night time entertainment a bit disappointing, they had a Turkish night on the Monday night,which seemed to be the night the the majority of people were leaving, so perhaps it would of been better if it was on a Friday or Saturday night. Not a big area around the pool for evening entertainment quite often we had to go up to the restaurant to locate chairs. The biggest tip we can offer is to take a good looking young female with you when going up to the bar you will definately be served immediately, even if you had been standing there for ages waiting to be served, the bar staff have no concept to whos been there waiting etc and with only two bar staff on you could be waiting awhile, with the bar although fully inclusive they don't have a local equivillant to rum or barcardi [only a minor moan].
The A la Carte restaurant was a disappointment waiters in blue polo shirts [same as the main restaurant] no menu, just got given bread roll, 4 different cold veg stuffed with rice, some salad, then we were asked if we wanted meatballs, grilled fish or chicken, followed by cheesecake. All of this could be found downstairs. Also I asked for some wine which I was charged for, so take some with you from the downstairs bar which is free in your all inclusive as its the same wine.
The local beach was disappointing with dogs roaming freely and very little sand, but walk along to Gumbet and they get better.
The 10 min walk to Gumbet was lovely with lovely bars and restaurants on the way with lovely views and Gumbet was very nice. Bodrum about 10 mins by Dolmus was worth a visit. We had a trip to Kos by cateraman only cost 16.00 pounds a good day out and easily done. Another good day out was a lazy cruise on a wooden boat, but do an organised one by First Choice/Thompsons rep as they are not crammed and you have room to get around and they stop off at different bays for a swim etc.
All in all lovely hotel, good area and definately would return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I don't usually use tripadvisor as peoples opinions and experiences vary so much that you can never really tell how you're personally going to find a place and it can sometimes put you off! But, on returning from a 7 night holiday in this hotel on the 15th of june, I read some of the other reviews and as I've said - other peoples reviews who have also stayed here vary from ours so I think it will be helpful for people to have a few different perspectives.

The hotel is only 30/40 mins transfer from Bodrum airport on an air conditioned coach. We flew with thompson/first choice and a rep was on board pointing out the sights i.e the island of kos which you can get to via a boat. On check in, the hotel staff are very helpful and their english is at a good level.

The apartments are quite spread out (ours was the farthest away from the reception!) and there is a cool underground tunnel that takes you from one side to the other.. The side that we were staying on had its own big pool and bar and lots of sun loungers and it was the quiet side - we chilled out for 7 days without any hassle or screams from children which is what we were after! There is however, the other pools which have really good water slides and music playing all day - this is a much more lively area. We did sunbathe here one day but if you aren't down there by 9.30am at the latest you will struggle for a good sunbathing place, which is why we decided we'd stay round the quiet pool. We also did have a go on the water slides which are pretty impressive for a hotel!! There is also a photographer who walks around each day taking photographs and you can book him for a photoshoot as the sun is setting on the beach! We done this and got some really nice photos and they are quite reasonably priced too. Also, he doesn't push you into buying them and you don't have to buy any if you don't want to. As well as this there is a turkish bath/spa place on site too. We got our turkish bath on our first day and we loved it although you must barter with the man as every one we spoke to all got charged different prices - including us!!!

Our room was spotlessly clean and we got fresh towels and bed linen every day. Beach towels are included - nice big blue ones which can be exchanged for 2 euro each at reception when they get dirty. The air con wasn't brilliant in the room but we slept with the balcony door open. If you're going to go to Turkey in June-September you should be expecting it to be really hot 36+ through the day and 24+ at night, so you can't really complain about heat at night in the rooms! However good an aircon is I don't think you'd be able to get the room completely cold!! We had a decent sized balcony with table and chairs and also a mini fridge which was great for keeping water in through out our stay. The shower was a big walk in and was really powerful and we absolutely loved the stonework of it! There is also a hairdryer in the bathroom but I had my own with me which I would recommend taking as the one that is provided isn't very powerful! But, again - things like this should not be seen as a negative - just take your own hairdryer!!

All of the communal areas in the hotel are kept immaculately clean - the pools, bars, tables, floors - EVERYWHERE! It really is in great condition as it is a brand new hotel. The bars all serve efes beer which is nice to drink all day and a range of cocktails, wine and spirits, tea/coffee, soft drinks - there really is something for everyone. The food is okay. I am quite a picky eater so I was always going to struggle finding something I liked but I did!! There is a variety of things cooked each day. There are chefs that stand and cook the specials infront of you such as omlettes, sweet pancakes, pizza. There is fresh bread you help yourself too, a toasting machine etc, there is a huge salad/pasta selection with various cheeses too.. And every day there are different types of meat such as burgers, kebab meat, chicken nuggets, chicken breast, turkey legs, lamb chops, fish... as well as pasta with different sauces, potato, potato wedges, chips, potato croquettes.. What's on offer changes from day to day! My personal favourite was a cheese pie they done most days with carrots and peas in it, it was really really nice. If you struggle figuring out what things are, there is normally a sign next to it telling you in various different languages and if there isn't - you just ask the chef or a member of staff and they are more than happy to help you. You find your own table in the restaurant and if there is no cutlery on the table, we found that it only took the staff 2 or 3 minutes maximum until notice and bring it over to you. It is better if you get there earlier rather than later but we went really early some nights and really late and there wasn't much difference apart from the tables weren't laid out as nice and some of the things had run out - but still, you definitely won't go hungry! It is exactly what you would expect from an all inclusive, not better and no worse, if you don't like it/get bored then it is cheap enough to have a few meals out at night like we did. Also, there is an A la Carte restaurant which you can visit once during your stay for free. This is on top of the main building with beautiful views. However, although the attention and service of the waiters is nice the food there is pretty much the same as what is served in the main restaurant but only presented on your plate a bit better! It's still nice to do one night though, but it isn't anything to write home about.

The hotel is literally 5 minutes from the beach front and 10 minutes from the main bar strip of gumbet. Along the beach front there are various cocktail bars and places to eat which we went too and thought were really good - the locals are really pleasant and we made friends with a few. If you sleep in for breakfast at the hotel you can go along the beach and get a full english for 5 lira each which is roughly about £2!! Also, we found a steak house called Mistral on the beach front which done 2 starters, 2 fillet steaks and a bottle of wine for 50 lira!! That is about £20 for 2 people a really good meal and it was absolutely gorgeous - we went a few times. The nightlife is there if you want it up on the strip and there are a lot more places to eat at all times of the day. There are the usual shops selling fake designer stuff but the shop owners don't torment you really badly to go in, usually a 'no thank you' sends them away..

I was worried about Gumbet being the same as Marmaris. I went to Marmaris a few year ago and absolutely hated it - it was dirty, the food was awful and the men were pervs and pestered you continuously. GUMBET IS NOTHING LIKE THIS. It is really clean - even the beach front and main bar strip, literally spotless. Gumbet is so chilled out, all the locals are friendly and leave you alone most of the time. Of course you get the odd shop owner or excursion seller trying their hardest but at the end of the day, this is how they make their living!! It is not over powering and it doesn't put you off leaving your hotel as it did in Marmaris. We are going back in September we enjoyed it so much! :)

Overall we had such a great time and we really cannot fault the hotel personally. However, the only thing I noticed is that there are 3 floors (we were on the third floor) and stairs up to the restaurant and reception but there is no lift. I can imagine this would be a nightmare for families with children in pushchairs and the elderly. BUT most of the people we saw and a family we met with children under 5 had all been given ground floor accommodation which obviously resolves the issue. I'm sure if you do have children in pushchairs/wheelchairs or do have trouble taking the stairs, if you contact the hotel or first choice before you arrive you will be allocated a ground floor room!! ALSO, don't worry about having to carry your own suitcase to your room as a bellboy does this for you and does the same on check out - wherever your room is :)

I'd recommend this hotel and gumbet in general. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We returned from The Bodrum Beach Resort on tuesday . It was our first time to Turkey and we loved it !!! We arrived at the Bodrum beach at about 1am , check in was quick as there was quite a few of us and our bags were delivered to our room by a porter which was appreciated . Our room was lovely we had a bedroom and a lounge and a very nice bathroom , so it started well :) The hotel was spotless with staff keeping it that way every day our bedroom was cleaned daily with new towels each day . We were also provided with beach towels which was a bonus ! Meals were provided in the main restaurant ...there was plenty of food available and we found it varied and interesting . Breakfast was different but we got used to it , after all if you want a fry up stay at home or go for a wander a find one .!!!! We did the a la carte which was lovely and the views from the terrace are beautiful .
The staff were all very friendly and happy to help and we loved the fact that the manager (in his red shirt ) was always readily available to sort any niggles !!
The pool area was very clean and tidy and there was plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas to go round , if you found the children and music too noisy there was also the relax pool on the other side of the hotel which was very relaxing again with great views :)
Overall we had a great time and would have loved to stay another week :)
The resort of gumbet was also really nice , lots of nice restaurants along the sea front and plenty of shops to barter in . We did bar street too and enjoyed the nightlife ... we would definitely go again :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Just returned from a holiday at bodrum beach resort last night and had a fantastic 7 night/day stay. The hotel is in gorgeous condition as it is new. The first night was dreadful though. We arrived on the 7th at about half 2 in the morning. By the time we checked in ect it was about half 3, we got to our rooms and it wasn't what we expected in the slightest. We travelled in 2 couples so had 2 seperate rooms. There were twin singles in the room and unable to push together due to plug in phone in the middle. The aircon didn't work and the door on the other couples room was also broken. Complained in the morning and got upgraded to the most amazing room ever. Open family room for both couples. Sofa/table,chairs/kitchen area/seperate bathroom to bedroom. Was gorgeous. We spent most of our time up by the pool up top in the other part of the hotel.
Food was nice (what you'd expect from a all inclusive) chips/pasta/pizza ect..got a little freaked out by the uncooked chicken i had (didnt eat) but went to cut it off the bone and was bleeding. BE CAREFUL.
Breakfast was ok, just stuck to the freshly made pancakes.
Night life didn't happen in the hotel, entertainment was bad so went out for drinks/bars. The strip is about a 10min walk from the hotel.
We had a lovely time and staff are lovely. ENJOY.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Ok so let's overlook the fact that upon checking in I was greeted by a local mozzie who bit me good and hard on the knuckle of my big toe, rendering it purple for several days, I will do my best to give an utterly honest review of this new hotel for you all.

Room - lovely big walk in shower that was powerful and worked, ground floor room was lovely, not a problem, full aircon. Beds hard but fine, tv with lots of channels, clean linen and new towels each day. Immaculately clean. Safe is available for 25 euro per week. Lots of space and fridge in room. Some guests were complaining about their rooms at check out - er well why didn't you sort it out earlier?!

Hotel has 3 floors and no lifts. Reception, restaurant, bar etc are up stairs not so good for those unable to negotiate these but fine otherwise. Bell boy takes your luggage to your room but please ask for a hotel leaflet upon arrival, we didn't get one and had to take a guess at breakfast times.

Staff - friendly and courteous and good language abilities.

Reception - friendly, courteous and helpful. Needs aircon, like now.

Bar within hotel is ridiculously hot at all times - sort the aircon out guys!!! All drinks provided if all inclusive, again service friendly and tv in bar and gorgeous view out over bay.

A la carte restaurant - we ate here once as part of all inclusive and it was a gorgeous view and the food was lovely but the soup was cold. You could choose the rest of your meal other than the soup which was absolutely lovely.

Main restaurant. Like a free for all unless you get there at the beginning of meal times, if you go later to find a table then you have to hunt out cutlery and glasses yourself. Waiters not very quick at replenishing tables for other guests. For an all inclusive hotel, instead of 50 ways to cook mince (take a bow Egypt) I found this to be varied at all meal times although sometimes you had to take an educated guess at what it actually was you were eating....! Food was absolutely lovely and varied, as were the drinks and for once, nice coffee machine!!! Yay. The manners of the staff far outweighed that of the other guests. Personal preference would be to please make this non smoking, it was so disgusting to have a face full of cigarette smoke over breakfast particularly. You will never go hungry at this hotel, they are constantly replenishing food and there are five meal times a day!!! Hats off.

Poolside. Childrens and adult pools... definitely more water wings than bingo wings in the adult pool so fine if you don't mind kids jumping on your head..... then if you dare.... Entertainment during day zero. Music varied and usually not that good but area was clean and well maintained and enough sunbeds to go round. Slides were great and very popular!!! The poolside is not peaceful, if you are looking for a chill out round the pool forget it, it is entirely family orientated. Go to the beach which is quieter and more relaxing, I would suggest. You get one beach towel from the hotel which you keep all week.

Cannot comment on entertainment during evening, we went out every night for drinks. Local area again is lovely, bars along beach are quieter but still fun and the main bar scene is also good and very lively. Bodrum is a 10 minute ride away on the dolmus, which costs 3 TL per person and well worth a trip.

There is a little shop on site, a hairdresser, a photographer (just let him take your photo!) a Turkish spa and a pool bar too.

I would definitely come back - the hotel is absolutely fabulous! If you book with Thomson/First Choice too the rep, Tor, is an absolute hoot.

Hope this has helped!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just returned from a stay at this hotel today, as others have said it is clean modern and in an excellent location. We found the food to be average, we went out for food a few times. We didn't bother staying at the hotel for drinks at night because we didn't find the staff as friendly as others have, I think if you are a young woman you would get better service. Often when you went to the pool bar the waiters were standing talking in a group and eventually one would start serving and this happened even if there were several people at the bar. I think that this was poor service for a 4 star AI. We had to check out of our room at 12 o'clock but we were not due to leave until 21:30, we asked to keep the room on but the receptionist advised they needed the room. They advised us where we could store our luggage and that we could shower and change in the spa. The spa has 1 shower and there were at least a dozen people waiting to use it. Once you have used the shower you then need to go into the spa reception where there is a changing room to get dried and changed so there isn't much privacy.

Room Tip: We were in room 1702 which was near the gym/pool room opposite an high wall with the main road above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bodrum Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodrum Beach Resort

Address: Gumbet, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 116 hotels in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our personnel, specially trained to give you all that is expected of an unforgettable holiday, promise you tranquility, fun, happiness and comfort. You can bask in the sun and relax in our private beach only 100 meters away from the hotel.Our hotel has a modern design consisting of a main, and 11 separate buildings, offering you two alternatives for 4-star comfort:• Standard Room Standard rooms with a maximum occupancy of three guests offer a double bed or two single beds, and an extra folding bed on request. Features include parquet floors, bathroom, LCD TV, mini bar (water at check-in), direct dial phone (at charge), split system air conditioning, balcony, and safe box (at charge).• Large RoomSpacious rooms with a maximum occupancy of four guests offer a double bed or two single beds, and a bunk bed. Features include parquet floors, bathroom, LCD TV, mini bar (water at check-in), direct dial phone (at charge), split system air conditioning, balcony, and safe box (at charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bodrum Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodrum Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.