We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stop boat trip - like sheep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bodrum Daily Tours

Bodrum Daily Tours
Sirinevler Mah. Adnan Kahveci Bulvari Karanfil Is Merkezi No:51/1 Kat:4 D:6 | Bahcelievler - Istanbul, Gumbet 34400, Turkey
009 0 2125297708
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 16 Attractions in Gumbet
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“5 stop boat trip - like sheep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We bought our boat trip from Harry at the Hotel Baba on the beach. All the boat trips cost the same. We got picked up from the hotel and took to the harbour which is walking distance if your staying in one of the beach hotels. Got to the harbour and found that our boat was one of at least 20 others all doing exactly the same thing. Carrying lots of people, on the same route around the same islands all at the same time. We didn't realise this at all. We really thought the trip was going to be special to our boat alone. Anyway it seemed that we had picked a fairly good boat to travel on, because there were plenty others that had awful loud music booming out of it all day. So no chance to relax. Harry's boat is mostly filled with late 40's early 50's people. We were the youngest.
They play the same CD over and over and its all awful 80's and 90's music, the type you would find in a 'phoenix nights' discotheque. But like i said it was a lot better then most of the other boats. The captain is lovely and the food on the boat was some of the nicest food on the island.
The boat stops off in bays and other parts of the island that all look the same, they aren't pretty to look at, they are all brown and baron of vegetation. And just when you thought you could relax, along comes another boat with awful music blaring out. You look around and there are 20 others coming in to drop anchor.
They stop at camal beach, called that because of the two poor camels that get subjected to having to stand up, walk in a 3 metre circle with heavy people on and sit back down again, literally every 10 minutes. We did get off the boat and went and sat under an umbrella on the beach, but it was packed, the sand was ridiculously hot to walk on, the umbrellas were tiny to sit under to get any shade and i felt really sorry for the camels. So we went and sat back on the boat.
The boat trips are worth doing if you want a change of scenery for the day or if the weather is so hot you need a breeze. But watch you don't get burnt. The boat was full of English people and typically most of them were like lobsters when getting off 'ouch'.
Our captain also was scared to dock the boat at the end of the day for some reason so we had to wait for ages until everyone else has parked up and gone home... very strange??

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“1 Day boat trip around Gumbet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I loved this day out! We got on the boat at 10am and stayed on it till 5pm lunch is included for less than £20.

The boat makes about 5 stops around the coasts and islands and its the perfect chance to swim and snorkell and sunbathe. We bought some cheap snorkel gear from a local shop for around £7 and I highly recommend it as the water is so clear its worthwhile.

You stop at camel beach and you can ride a camel, I opted just to sunbathe on the top of the boat. Below the top deck is a shaded seating area where lunch is served.

If you like swimming and sunbathing then a 1 day boat trip is for you I highly recommend it and really enjoyed myself, just keep slapping on the sun cream! You can go all inclusive for 15 lira otherwise a coke is 5 lira just depends on how much you think you will drink I didnt go all inclusive as the all inclusive drinks tend to be the cheaper stuff.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Forgot to pick us up”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We paid to do the 2 day Ephesus Pamukkale tour. It began with us not being picked up for the tour and we had difficulties in contacting someone to find us what was happening. Over two hours later we were thrown onto a local bus which dropped us off in the middle of nowhere despite being reassured that we would be looked after the first error. After waiting again someone picked us up in a private car and drove at crazy speed to get us to Ephesus where we joined a tour that had already started. The tour was informative but was difficult to enjoy because we had no idea what the plan for the day was and where our luggage was. We were then put on a non-english speaking tour bus with no further explanation until after lunch where we initiated the need for information. We spent more time going to showrooms for local products than at the advertised sites. Also there was no option given for lunch on the final day you had to pay for a buffet or go hungry. I would recommend going to these locations on your own without a tour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“daily boat trips gumbet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

choose a boat that is not overcrowded 1.for sunbathing and leg room.

check prices extra fot drinks 2.

check menu.3.good turkish food saled.chicken.melon,drinks cold,teaa,coffree,not just meatballs,[pasta,

all baots leave about 10.30 am.to 5pm.5.30 pm.

good day at SEA.

5.LOCATIONS INCLUDING CAMEL BEACH.

LOTS OF STOPS AND SWIMMING.

GOOD TURKISH HOSPITALITY.

exsperienced captain.fully insured.

CHECK OUT EXTRA DRINKS,ETC,AND PRICES BEFORE STARTING TRIP.

HAVE PLENTLY OF SUNCREAME AND PLENTLY OF WATER.FOR DAY TRIP.

BRING YOUR OWN.JUST IN CASE.

GOOD DAY OUT PLENTY TO SEE AND ENJOY.

LOCAL BUS TAKES YOU TO GUMBET.

check out boat before your trip/and menu/nad what youa re going to see on the day?rabbit island,and landscape

a cool day out to enjoy a good family day put.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic Kos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Fast catamaran was worth every penny quick transfers. Also a second chance to visit duty free both ways. Plenty of history in the harbour area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodrum Daily Tours also viewed

 

Been to Bodrum Daily Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodrum Daily Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.