We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but not Bad !!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Aqua Gumbet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Club Aqua Gumbet to your Saves list
Club Aqua Gumbet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asarlik Menkii Adnan Menderes | Cad No 85, Gumbet 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 116 Hotels in Gumbet
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Basic but not Bad !!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

You will read the reviews and think that this place is the worst place on earth ... well it just isnt true... yeah it could be better but then you could pay more to stay somewhere better. The hotel is generally in a good state and the rooms are clean the shower/toilet room is a little on the small side but its not the end of the world. The staff at the hotel are fantastic. the food is a little samey but is of good quality as for the drink the alcoholic measures are generous. The hotel is in a good location and has a free shuttle bus into town of a night. if you are someone looking for somewhere cheap allowing you to spend a little more money on day trips etc then this is an ideal place for you. If you are looking to be pampered and enjoy a luxury hotel then it is not. I would also add that its not the best for a family with young children as there isnt a lot for kids to do. so All in all I agree this is no way a four star hotel but it isnt a one star either like i say its basic but its not bad !!.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    19
    26
    170
See reviews for
52
97
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Like most of you, we read the reviews AFTER booking this holiday and were very wary, but we thought we'd see for ourselves........ Honestly....I don't know where these negative reviewers had been staying.

This place is not the Hilton, but then, none of us booked the Hilton.

The room was basic and clean, but it did its job (which was to provide us with somewhere to sleep). It was cleaned and replenished when we requested. The food was very adequate, yes we got the same things most days - but i dont remember specifically asking for my meals to be prepared by Marco Pierre-White. The drinks were all inclusive how can you compain? The Vodka was toxic, but the measures were very generous (thanks Chamo!)

The staff got friendlier the longer we were there, but weren't exactly rude to start with.

My advice is to go with an open mind - if you expect the worst then you'll arrive looking for faults and you'll ruin your own holiday. If this place was that bad, travel agents wouldn't use it. People are more prepared to write a bad review than a good one.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

stayed at the club aqua gumbet for one week in may when we arrived we were taking to our room first impressions were not bad clean we were quite impressed after reading all the bad reports but that was to be short lived as the week went on your room was not cleaned for 4 days its as if we had been forgotten about dirty towels and a bin full of dirty toilet roll sometimes there was no water and the food aghh meatballs meatballs and meatballs chips were reheated every day they were like rocks at the end and breakfast was boiled eggs we ate out for 5 days none of the staff spoke english be warned do not go to this hotel

Room Tip: speak turkish
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

A group of 9 of travelled to what was supposed to be the aqua in Torba,this hotel has shut down so we were put here with no prior warning.Our group ages ranged from 9 weeks to 67 years old,it was the most awful experience EVER! I would urge anyone who has already booked in here to swap to a different hotel,dont attemt to stay here.There are really too many problems to count but but here goes,no hot water,showers in most rooms not working,no empty mini fridge(for bottles for baby),slimy pool,filthy EVERYWHERE,damp in all the rooms with bed bases dumped on the floor,balcony from reception to lower ground with 15ft drop with no glass in it our 3 year old was running around there,we were all inclusive but told there was NO food!!!!bare elecrical wires in the bathroom,rusty old metal cot which was flaking off into cot,couldnt put baby in it.Everyone who arrived with us got transfered to another hotel the following day,if we couldnt have transfered we would have flown back to England that day.Not normally a moaner but this place should not be open.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

having stayed at this hotel and booking it online at £7pppn I could not complain yes it was basic but a hotel can only do so much for £7.
I centainly would not book this hotel for a honeymoon like previous commentators have I would have paid a lot more for a special hoilday.
Top tip if you do not want to spend the money do not expect quality

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

I dont want to waste too much more of my time on this hotel so I will keep it short ,rooms ,staff and facilities awful . Food is the worst i have ever had in any hotel and was almost inedible , we ate out every day and couldnt wait to leave the hotel if it hadnt been for the royal restaurant we wouldnt have had enjoyed this holiday at all. Might be a cheap hotel but for an extra £2 - £3 per night you could stay at ayaz aqua ,compare reviews. Do not stay at this hotel. But do try the royal , great staff ,good food and good prices , you even get a free taxi to and from the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This was a very special holiday for myself and my husband as it was our wedding anniversary, we had saved for nearly a whole year for this holiday!!!
This was supposed to be the holiday of our dreams…. Instead it turn out to be our worst nightmare!!!

It was stated that the accommodation was 4star…. I can assure you it was anything but……
We arrived in the early hours...When we 1st got off the coach we thought it seemed okay, looked quite nice from the outside with its wooden front and orange writing. So we was surprised to be greeted by other travellers telling us to turn around as it was disgusting they had been there only an hour and was already waiting to be transferred,
The place looked as though it had not been cleaned properly in months! The stair carpet – I think it’s meant to be red was absolutely filthy this leads from the main reception area to the pool. This communal area is just a taster of what lay in store for us when you get to our room.

We were taken through an ally, that smelt of sewerage, along broken paths covered in weeds to a building with steep steps and no lighting.
After arriving at 4am the first thing we were looking forward to was a shower. However, what we found was very different. The 4 sprays which came out of the shower head were supplying us with a cold and SALTY trickle of water! yes salty water... we had to buy bottled water to wash our face, sensitive areas and to brush our teeth! Then there was the Dirty bed linen / towels - walls & floors which haven’t seen a mop in months (and which were never cleaned during our stay) – filthy toilet / broken floor and wall tiles covered in black slime - broken shower that was rusty and covered in lime scale.
The room was filthy with one very small window and bare, flaking walls and had only 1 small bin
Which turned out to be the resounding response from every person that we spoke to.
The staff were extremely unhelpful and rude and fought with each other and the guests all the time.
The lack of hot water, inability of the staff to provide clean towels / bedding - even toilet paper (which is rationed) is not just an inconvenience – it is a health and safety hazard.
In common with most Turkish hotels - used toilet paper cannot be flushed down the toilet, but placed in the 1 bin supplied. You can imagine the smell and the hygiene issues when the rooms are partially cleaned only every 2 – 3 days!
Without being able to wash your hands in hot water you substantially increase the risk of bacterial infection. I assume the hotel staff don’t have access to an independent supply of hot water / soap (if they do someone needs to show them how to use it – a few of them have such bad BO my husband and I had to leave the restaurant mid-meal as the smell made us quite nauseous). Food served and prepared in such circumstances - and your own inability to wash your hands properly before eating - dramatically increases your chances of picking up some very nasty bugs.


Lunch and dinner were like feeding time at the zoo – largely I think because the hotel owned 22 soup bowls (for approx. 200 guests when full). If you weren’t in first (which meant queuing for over half an hour) – chances were not only would there be little food left – there would be no plates / cutlery. I know this because one of the waiters told me. He was ashamed that he only had 22 bowls which he had to constantly rinse and reuse.
You are served the same “meat” – we had chicken twice at every meal time. Best described as processed kebab meat - it looks and tastes similar to a cheap supermarket own brand meatball. It is boiled / fried / barbequed / grilled and presented in different shapes and sizes at every meal with a combination of either chips (every 2 – 3 days) or more likely rice / pasta. It’s basically the same meat every day for every meal. So no choice at all - salad was passable - no deserts - no ice-cream.
One meal consisted of a chicken kebab - cooked in the dark by the poolside it had to be removed as we took some to our room ( as there was no space in the restaurant) and discovered it was basically raw. How half the guests weren’t seriously ill is a mystery.

The pool is small - but deep. If you’re less than 6’6” you won’t be able to stand anywhere in it - bar the separate paddling pool which is about 1’ deep. It was never cleaned and constantly littered with plastic cups, tissues and leaves & small branches from the surrounding trees. Occasionally it would get a dose of chlorine which I assume is what made my eyes sting.
Around the pool - which had several missing tiles around its edge – were the dirtiest sun-bed covers I think I’ve ever seen – but the biggest problem was the advertising stand for a local photographer. This wood and glass structure was already broken when we arrived and the remaining shards of glass just left. The broken pane about 3’ from the ground (an ideal height for children) was never removed / replaced. Anyone unlucky enough to slip near it (which was likely as the floor around it was constantly wet from the pool) – or kids playing near it - ran the risk of serious injury.
I pointed this out to both the staff around the pool / bar area and reception - they all simply shrugged their shoulders and never took any action. Apart from the glass that I removed to a safer place - this potential hazard was never fixed for the remaining two weeks of our stay.

During our stay the hotel also ran out of toilet roll, milk for 2days, their equivalent to coke, diet coke and fanta orange, vodka, gin and beer, guests our selves included had to go to shop and buy our own drinks as there wasn’t any available at the hotel for hours.

My husband and I gave up on the hotel as I’m a diabetic there was not even a basic balanced diet provided. Therefore we had no other choice but to eat out every meal time, we also went elsewhere for drinks at night due to the lack of beverages and entertainment as stated at time of booking, all of which were supposed to be covered in our all inclusive holiday, we spent 98% of our spending money on this which came to £1200.

please don't stay here AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Aqua Gumbet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Aqua Gumbet

Address: Asarlik Menkii Adnan Menderes | Cad No 85, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 116 Hotels in Gumbet
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Aqua Gumbet 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Club Aqua Gumbet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Aqua Gumbet Hotel Gumbet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Aqua Gumbet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.