We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not even for a free holiday would i go back!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ugur Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ugur Hotel to your Saves list
Ugur Hotel
Ismet Inonu Caddesi | Gumbet, Gumbet, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 116 Hotels in Gumbet
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not even for a free holiday would i go back!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

terrible terrible terrible, every thing about the hotel was terrible, the staff rude and unhelpful, the manager appered to be on a high all the time and his sons prayed on young woman as me and my friend found out when staying at the ugur hotel. the only positive was the room was very clean on arrival but on the whole duration of my stay my towels and sheets were never changed!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    5
    6
    12
See reviews for
5
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

just came back from a week stay at the ugur hotel was brill --- (room) basic but clean !! (brekfast) basic turkish..... but they do full english brekfasts at a small charge which the food was nice ... the manger gill was nice n helpfull made lots of friends !! the hotel is a 5 min walk from bar street which was gr8... the buses run outside the hotel every 5 minz into bodrum !!!! we are booked back up to return to this hoet in may x coy n sam x

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

just home from a weeks holiday in gumbet and staying at this hotel. the room was very very basic and tiny with no balcony, it only had one plug which wasn't very ideal for three teenage girls. The bathroom was not the best it was just a wet room, with the shower hose hanging on the tap, it didnt clip on the wall so we had to hold the shower hose and wash with one hand. the water went from boiling to freezing instantly and the pressure would vary also. but we expected this for what we paid.
The pool area was very nice and the owner was very helpful. although we did have a problem with the night time manager and found him very 'creepy' as we were three teenage girls we knew how 'friendly' turkish boys can be but we did not expect him to bang on our door most nights for quite a bit of time, and if we got walked home from anyone he would have something to say about it and give us dirty looks.

The hotels location is good, close to the nightlife about a 5minute walk to bar street, but far enough away that you cant hear the music at night.
All and all we had a fab holiday but i dont think we would book back at the ugur hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed at the Ugur pronounced "uur" in Turkish from 2nd till the 9th of august 2011. Had an amazing holiday thanks to the staff and the friends we made whilst we were there. The room we had was basic with a balcony, but very clean and both of us were very pleased with it.

The hotel is situated on the edge of town which is very handy if you like night life, or you can stay in the hotel for a quiet and relaxing drink. The hotel put on a barbeque night when we were there and it was an amazing night with the food being excellent and an ice breaker to meeting and getting to know other people. The food in the hotel is very nice and the breakfast is good if you like Turkish food. I didn't so i had a roll and bacon every morning and you can get a full English breakfast if you wish at an extra cost.

Gill the manager is brilliant, nothing is ever too much and always glad to help no matter what. In saying that i found this to be the case with every member of staff. They all go out their way to make sure you have an enjoyable holiday. We will be using this hotel again next year and can't wait till we go back. Thanks to Gill, Mustapha, Ali, Syatt and Herron for a brilliant stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony as Turkey is very warm. Get the air conditioning as it's luxury getting out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sørumsand . Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The keys to the rooms are in the reception, and anyone can take them whenever they want, because there is not always somone looking after the keys.We los some money.Thei only change the sheets once during our two weeks stay, and the towels werw not changed either, only when we asked for it. Staff at the hotel is wery friendly, but the owner dont care about her guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Had an absolute grat time at the hotel.Just far enough from the clubs not to be kept awake at night. But the clubs and Bar street are only a short walk away.Gill and her husband mustapha are great noting to much trouble. the BBQ night was great.
The turkish Dolmush runs right past the hotel on the hotel side it takes you into bodrum to the bus station and its only a short walk to the harbour past all the great shops and the other side of the road it takes you in to Gumbet and only cost 1.75 TL per person and the run 24/7

We stayed the 11th till the 18th.I have stayed at a few places in Turkey and I always go budget as I have always found I get better service and here the service was great.
Gill gave us plenty of tips on good places to eat and shop we at at the hotel several times and the food is great they have a good cook and his chips are proper chips no frozen chips all hand pealed and deep fried

I have found a few places in the past try to rip you off on the price for Aircon and safety deposit boxes. But here they give honest value only cost me £10 for my safety box and £25 for my aircon for the week.It might go up during later in the season I dont know. But it is still a bargin I have paid triple in the past for them and at end of seasons
The food was great. Standard traditional turkish breakfast. though they do other food for breakfast including a full english breaky with proper sausages and bacon and heinz bean .
You do have to pay extra for that but still very cheap.
The room was basic and clean the bedding and towels where changed several time we where there. The pool was kept very clean saw the lads every morning cleaning the pool. even during the day if a leaf fell in the pool they where there to scoop it out.

I will be going back to this hotel I had a great time and the pool area is one hell of a suntrap from first thing in the morning to last thing at night you had sun around the pool


Extra info nothing to do with hotel
For you excursions I shopped around and got some better deals than the rep was offering.but do shop around and ask what your getting and what is included in the Trip

We did the Turgutreis Market trip on the satuday we had about 3 hours there at the markey and Bizzar then a trip to bodrum gold center afterwards bagged some good bargins in the bizzar

Did scuba diving with crystal diving. but do check out how many dives you get with any diving trip.
non qualified divers only get one dive and lunch wiht loads of time to snorkle.I paid extra for a 2nd dive after lunch . Qualified divers get 2 dives for the same price.SO shop around.It work going to the harbours in badrum and gumbet to chat with the dive boats you could get a better price than using the excursions sellers.

We also did the Kos trip on the slow boat and you get in about the same time as the fast boat anyway so dont bother paying extra you prob only gaining an extra 30 min in Kos for it as it leaves Kos after the slow boat and get back about the same time.
Though the trip took only about 45 mins it took us nealy an hour to get through passport and customs getting in because 3 boats all got there at the same time.

For anyone into geocaching there is a cache at bodrum castle.

To top everything off we had a great time at the hotel could not want for more. the trips we had where great thogh we have been to Turkey many time before we like to shop around and haggle for trips

the map on here shows the right street but its a little off wiht the exact location of hotel
here is a short link to bing maps wiht its right location
http://tiny.cc/zw7bp

Room Tip: go for a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

lovely familly run hotel,close to local aminities,staff couldnt do enough to help,would recommend this hotel to anyone.gill and her husband mustapha were lovely and couldnt do enough to help us,our first two days were disturbed by a group of girls who didnt give regard or consideration to other guests,but were delt with by staff and holiday rep.our holiday was fab,the boat trip a must as was our day trip to kos,we went to two markets,just be carefull what you buy here as a lot of the so called brands are fakes but you can haggle a good deal .what i would say is travellers cheques are not easy to cash in and wouldnt be doing that again,cash machines are easily accessable and rates were good.
the hotel was kept very clean and food was amazing and good value for money.2 bbq nights,a fish night and meat night,sadly we never managed the meat bbq due to time of arrival and departure,but the fish bbq,lovely and so relaxed.we found a lovely resturant down to the right of the hotel called nazir pide,amazing food and the owner was just lovely.
did not want to leave but cant wait for next year,thank you to all the staff for making our holiday a great one.

Room Tip: a warm welcome is extended here and the staff are brilliant,a quiet hotel which is what we were look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ugur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ugur Hotel

Address: Ismet Inonu Caddesi | Gumbet, Gumbet, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 116 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Ugur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ugur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.