We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kuum Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kuum Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Kuum Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Menemene Mah. Ataturk Cad. No:150, Golturkbuku 48400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Golturkbuku
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Horrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I originally was planning to stay at KUUM for four days but cut the trip short. It was the most horrible time I've spent at a hotel. I think they've misunderstood the term "resort".
I was staying in room 54, ground floor. It supposedly was a junior suite with a sofa bed but there was no sofa bed !

The pros:
Beautiful scenery and architecture

Cons:
No one spoke English
The was no pool
The room service menu is limited and they don't pick up the tray till 48hours since we've called them.
The extra bed was uncomfortable, noisy, squeaky and folds with you in it
Our VIP car service never showed up at the airport and yet they still charged saying "it is your problem for not waiting and the car service is part of an agency, not the hotel responsibility" even though I've requested it via the hotel's website
When I asked for a car to drop me off for the airport at 9am two days in advance. The car never showed up (surprise, surprise) because acceding to the reception "no one is picking up".
No one speaks English
The hotel concierge told me the city center is 45min away and failed to inform me about the walk and public beach which was 5min away.
The main restaurant is open at 8,30-11am for breakfast and that's it.
Two other restaurants open at 8pm for dinner only (Italian and seafood)
Horrible guest relationship service and extremely rude
There are no activities other than "beach club", where a dj is present at the swimming are from 4pm-6pm

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    21
    13
    10
    12
See reviews for
15
47
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I've stayed in Kuum Hotel & Spa this past weekend and I really enjoyed every moment of it... It was a really comfortable hotel with all the details thought. It has a very big dock for sunbathing. The food is good but their open buffet for lunch is very limited, and you can just order a la carte instead of that open buffet menu.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view and balcony are fit for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

The rooms and beach club are very stylish. The most beautiful seaview from probably most or all rooms is absolutely gorgeous. During the day they play cool lounge music at the beach club which is visited by trendy young turkish guests from outside the hotel. They reserve most sunbeds at the nice beach places. As most beach-club waiters don't speak well English, it's the best way to contact anybody English speaking for reservations  like for example the very nice lady in duty as manager of food and beverage. Don't get angry if there will be some language problems - relax and enjoy the nice place.
The bar and Italian restaurant are especially nice at night. In general there is some room for improvement of the service if the hotel wants to have matching service qualitiy to that beautiful design hotel. But we have noticed that they try their best and will get better from year to year.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a very beautiful modern property right on the water. Rooms are large, very clean and very attractive. Mine had a beautiful water view and I think almost all the rooms would have water views. Food was very good. There were only 2 drawbacks: The staff were mostly in training mode (it was June 1 - some parts of the hotel were still being set up for the season) and while they were very nice and trying to do their best, they clearly were not polished and only one or two of the many staff spoke useful English. It is a long cab ride into Bodrum (EUR90) so don't stay here if you really want to be in Bodrum.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Kuum is aimed a the high-end domestic holiday-makers. The prices are similar to that of the luxury resorts on the European rivierias. The hotel does live up to what it promises. Rooms are lavishly decorated in a contemporary fashion. The beach area has comfortable indivual seating units from where you can dive straight into the water. The cuisine of the hotel is inspired by that of mainland Europe. The breakfast provided plenty of choice. Staff are very attentive and eager to serve - although most are not comfortable with English.
Note that I review this as a hotel guest. If you visit the hotel to only use their beach area, your experience might be different. Furthermore, the hotel is not optimal for families with kids as there are no pools and only one small beach with shallow water.

In general, Kuum is a nice luxury resort that caters to clients who are not cost-sensitive and wants to experience Saint Tropez on the Turkish shores. This they do very well!

Room Tip: The main difference between the different classes of rooms seems to be the size. We had a standard r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Beautiful getaway beside the sea with spectacular service

Room Tip: We asked specifically for a room above the ground level, we had incredible views of the sea. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We had been in kuum last weekend with my wife for our anniversary. We had our wedding also in kuum last year. Everything was great ; especially service quality of the staff , design of the rooms, and the beautifull ambiance of the hotel. I recommend everyone, who wants to have quality vacation in an excellent environment with friendly staff.

Room Tip: lall romms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kuum Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuum Hotel & Spa

Address: Menemene Mah. Ataturk Cad. No:150, Golturkbuku 48400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Golturkbuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Golturkbuku
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Golturkbuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kuum Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuum Hotel & Spa Bodrum is situated on the Bodrum Peninsula. This designer hotel offers luxurious rooms with a private balcony featuring panoramic views over the bay and the Aegean Sea. Facilities include an extensive SPA.The rooms at Kuum Hotel & Spa Bodrum are decorated with handmade designer furniture and carved natural stones. All rooms have free Wi-Fi, a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, and an iPod docking station.Guests can get a relaxing massage at the spa, which also features an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a Turkish bath. Kuum Hotel’s wooden deck covers an area of 2000 metres and has direct sea access.The Kuum Restaurant offers international gourmet cuisine, including fresh seafood dishes. Guests can enjoy a tropical cocktail at the Lounge Bar.The city centre of Bodrum is 18 km from Kuum Hotel & Spa Bodrum. Free private parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Kuum Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuum Hotel & Spa Turkey/Golturkbuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuum Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.