We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing value for money holiday. Janet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manuela Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Manuela Hotel to your Saves list
Manuela Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pomelan Cad. no:28,Bitez Yalisi Sahili HacI Ahmetler Mevki Pomelan Cad., Bitez 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Bitez
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great relaxing value for money holiday. Janet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

When we arrived we were allocated rooms 101 &102 in the basement, as my daughter was on her own she wasn't happy with her window being on the ground level as she would not have been able to even open her curtains, we spoke to the Manager who couldn't have been more helpful and we were moved the next morning to rooms on the first floor.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and very good value for money, the power in the shower was a bit hit and miss and sometimes we didn't have any hot water, but this was a small price to pay for the overall enjoyment of the holiday.
The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, the Al a Carte restaurant has great views over bay, good food and excellent service.
The Temple Bar at the front of the hotel has a great buzz about it with lots going on, themed nights for those who want entertainment. The Temple Bar Manager Ergie couldn't have done more to make us feel at home and was always available to ensure everyone was enjoying themselves, a very well run bar with great staff.
Our room also overlooked the bar but the music never went on after 1am and we didn't get woken up early in the morning.
We will definitely be returning and couldn't recommend this hotel more highly.

Room Tip: As previous review rooms 101 & 102 are in the basement and not to be recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    44
    19
    7
    12
See reviews for
77
56
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Arrived in the small hours and was shown to dark and dingy room 101 which happened to be in the basesment next to the bar with a "view" of peoples feet when they walked by. We immediately asked for a change which occured the next morning as the hotel was full. Much better room on second floor with a tiny balcony but at least light and airy if you like the smell from the kitchen! On the positive side the staff were very helpful in moving our rooms, the cleaner was excellent with clean towels daily and tidying up and the location is right on the beach. I cannot comment on the food or entertainment as we ate at our usual haunts in Bitez and did not attend any shows!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Spent a week, half-board, at the Manuela this September. Overall, g/f and I did like the place but we had probably the worst hotel experience ever on the first night.
We arrived late...was shown to a room where someone was still in it. We were then shown to the worst room I have ever seen! Room had twin beds and when pushed together (we are adults, after all), you revealed a lot of dirt where the beds used to stand. The room also smelt of concrete powder (for some reason!). The bathroom floor was also completely water-logged... Remember this was around midnight. No safe either, in spite of website claims.
The worse thing was the noise. It was fairly near to the bar and at the end of a ground-level corridor which only served to increase the noise from outside. Neither I or my g/f managed to get to sleep until around 4am because of the noise from the bar. We were then waked around 7am because of the movement of furniture outside. Simply horrible...we were considering leaving the hotel and would have done if I didn't managed to get a glimpse of a tour rep. He managed to change our room for us...back to the original room, as it happened. This second room was fine. Bit of shower leakage and the aircon was temperamental but the room was perfectly adequate. Room tip... if you get shown to the room 104 (or I guess anything like this) run a mile!
Positives:
The hotel grounds are very nice. Very close to the beach, large amount of sub-loungers.
Wi-fi is not hotel wide but pretty close.
Quality of food is good. Some of it, excellent. And good value for money, too.
Entertainment is also regular - while not always to my tastes. Not sure the charmer actually had the express permission of the snake! They show a lot of sporting events, too.
Breakfast coffee machine made surprisingly good coffee!

Negatives:
(Like other hotels in Bitez)...
Bed linen is minimalist and fairly coarse.
Shower pressure and temperature is based on the spin of a roulette wheel!
Evening buffet lacks choice. Decent food (as mentioned above) but there should be more than two choices of "main".
Alcohol prices are a touch high.

What else? There are many staff. Almost all are happy to help...some very friendly. Only a few have a good grasp of English, though...and strangely they seem to never be on the reception.

Overall, I would consider returning to the Manuela, in spite of the first night problems.

Room Tip: There is a ground floor corridor near the bar. Noise from the bar echoes down through the corridor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have been spending my summer holidays with my family in Manuela for five years now. If you like to feel at home and stay away from the chaos of the city, Manuela is probably the best place in Bodrum. The staff are so cheerful and welcoming and their friendly and peaceful attitute never changes from the beginnning to the end of your vacation. As the most important thing for me is the food, I guarantee you will also fall in love with the food as I did. There are two restaurants in the hotel and you will enjoy eating your meals right next to the sea with a beautiful view of Bitez Bay. The other beauty of the hotel is that you never fall apart from the sea. You're always right next to it since the hotel is kind of located on the beach. And if you like to dance and enjoy some drinks by the sea, there's the famous Temple Bar on the beach as well. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We didn't stay in the Manuela Hotel but relaxed and ate there 3 days out of the 7 we were in Bitez. Brunch and turkish coffee in their seating area, dinner in the Terrace restaurant, drinks and entertainment in Temple bar and all outdoors just feet from the ocean. Countless beautiful sun filled hours reading on their beach sofas in between trips into the sea. Of all the hotels and bars along this gorgeous strip of beach this was our favourite. The staff were friendly and attentive and full of jokes and fun. The food was lovely and the bar was the most popular due to the great entertainment; different every night. We saw belly dancers, fire eaters, traditional dancers and a great cuban band. And I can't say enough about the staff, genuinely great people. Will definitely be back to Bitez and will stay in the Manuela next time. I have no hesitation recommending this place to anyone and in fact my parents will be in Gumbet next month and I'm insisting they take a day to spend in the Manuela. Kisses to all there from the girls with the books xx

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel is close to the sea with a very clean sandy beach, the resturant and food are excellent, as is the service. The staff are some of the most helpful and smiling people we have ever come across, almost nothing is too much trouble for them, so full marks for making our stay such a pleasure. For once we find the hotel entertainment to be a pleasure not a bore, same with the hotel music being pleasant not intrusive. İ and my family can highly recommend a holiday at Manuela Hotel, Bitez.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Been going to Bitez for 8 years but 1st time to the Manuela Hotel. Most reviews seemed positive, so all looked good,
Arrived early so couldn't book in until 1400. We decided to go on to beach and have a drink, Temperatures were in the high thirties. Waited nearly 15 minutes for a waiter, totally unheard of in Bitez, gave him our order. waited another 10 minutes, still no drink, gave up, left and went to the Mayflower, drink in hand in about 1 minute. Not a very good start but we just shrugged it off as a minor glitch, Booked in, hotel staff very friendly, Went to room, total disappointment, I've seen bigger broom cupboards, and the room was very dark, with a tiny balcony out to the back yard. If we'd been staying longer than 3 days we would have certainly complained and asked for a room change. Good points were the room was clean and the towels were changed every day, and the bedding was turned every day. Bad points, the fridge in our room had a plate bolted across the ice box door to stop you using it, They obviously wanted you to drink at the bar, The toilet cistern leeked constantly even after complaining about it, nothing was done.
But it was the service that was the real problem. We went back onto beach after unpacking and we waited ages to get served. We had breakfast the next morning, we've eaten in most of the restaurants in Bitez over the years, but this was probably the best breakfast we've had in any of them, Pleasantly surprised. Went on beach next day, still the service was awful until we finally complained to one of the waiters and the service did improve slightly. We gave up and went to another restaurant on the third day. Overall very disappointed with this hotel.
Possibly since taking over the Moby Dick hotel next door, they've under estimated the amount of people their and haven't laid on enough staff. My wife and I certainly won't be staying here again. A tired looking hotel with tired looking staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manuela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuela Hotel

Address: Pomelan Cad. no:28,Bitez Yalisi Sahili HacI Ahmetler Mevki Pomelan Cad., Bitez 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bitez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bitez
#3 Family Hotel in Bitez
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bitez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Manuela Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manuela Hotel has been professionally run by the same family for 20 years and is a friendly, welcoming hotel located in Bodrum's most beautiful resort of Bitez. 40 Km from the airport, 7 km from Bodrum town centre and 2 km from Gumbet, many of our guests return year after year. Bitez is the prettiest place in the Bodrum Peninsula. It is fortunate to have a constant cooling breeze and low humidity which makes your stay more comfortable and the heat more bearable! The local population of 3000 people live mostly in the town centre which is approximately 800 m from the beach and the Local Council has determined to provide the beach-front area with all the necessities that tourists could desire: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Manuela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manuela Hotel Bitez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuela Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.