We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrosia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambrosia Hotel to your Saves list
Ambrosia Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Haci Ahmetler Mevki, Bitez 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bitez
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was the 2nd time we had stayed at the Ambrosia and after a great first trip in Sept 2011 I wondered if this could live up to it. My concern was shortlived as it was as good if not better. The hotel facilities and location are excellent, the food at both breakfast and dinner is good with plenty of choice and the rooms are pleasant and cleaned well on a daily basis. What sets the Ambrosia apart though is the staff! I truly have never known such warmth and friendliness from staff at a hotel. Everybody goes out of their way to make your holiday as enjoyable as it could be. It's like being embraced by a family and I hope that in the not too distant future we will be able to make it 3 trips!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    159
    66
    38
    27
See reviews for
101
249
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mayo, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent a week in Ambrosia at the end of May. I cannot speak highly enough of the hotel & its staff. We arrived at 5am in the morning tired & hungry & within 10 mins of getting settled we were sent a salad roll & juice to our room. We met the owner most days who was very friendly & helpful. Tahir, Simon & Richard made us feel at home & looked after us so well . We always felt we could ask them anything & they would do anything for us. Even the staff who had little English made such a big effort even though they were busy. Our room was clean & comfortable & the food was lovely in the restaurant.The beach was lovely so close to the hotel with really comfy loungers!!!! I cannot fault this hotel - we had such a lovely time!! Thanks everyone :)

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

just had 2 weeks at this hotel after booking in we went to our room no117 which was like a dungeon dark and dismal after a long chat with receptionist got moved to another room we were half board food was not bad but i would say 50% of the staff need retraining other than that weather was hot

Room Tip: try and get a pool veiw ie rooms 127 to 130
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clonmel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel was of modern design, spacious with wide bright corridors, rooms were sufficient and comfortable, cleaned daily. we had a great view from the balcony of both the pool and Bitez bay which has an allure all of its own, especially at early evening.
somehow the design of the hotel was very attractive and well laid out, not sure how many rooms, would guess about 80. The pool was excellent, maybe a few more umbrellas needed.

the staff were mostly friendly and helpful, though the D.J. gave the impression he was playing at a teenage disco with his choice of music which he played through "happy hour" much to the annoyance of most guests. though he was very personable apart from his boom boom taste in music.

I have passed this hotel for over 10 years, this being the first year we have stayed, I will certainly return. The hotel has improved its grounds each year, could probably improve the beach area a little, but must not nit pick.

My one concern not about the hotel but about taxes laid upon alcohol, which is getting out of hand with the rate of increase, also gather that laws are changing to a more Muslim fundamentalist attitude rather than the secular rule enjoyed for the past 100 years.

outside of that had a truly enjoyable holiday. thank you Bitez and Ambrosia. don't change to much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

It was great to be warmly greeted on our arrival by the attractive and charming Dilek and Jill on the Reception Desk. A nice way to start a holiday.
We have been coming to the Ambrosia twice a year for the past three or four years. It has fabulous location right on the beach with a great view right across to Kos and beautifully kept gardens.
The bedrooms are spacious and kept scrupiously clean by a very cheerful and charming cleaner called Muzeyyen. She tried to each us a different Turkish word every day.
All staff were very efficient and friendly. I always find a thank you goes a long way to make people happy.
The food was good, varied and freshly prepared. There was always a wide choice of food. Some people complain because it is not ENGLISH but we are in Turkey and there is no reason for anyone to go hungry. It is very pleasant to eat outside and also to see the owner also dining three or four times a week. He also makes a point of talking to guests and he does listen to their comments. Last year comments were made about the wooden decking around the restaurant and pool area. This has all been replaced and is a great improvement.
Lastly it would be unfair not to mention Danny the Thomson rep. He is one of the nicest and most helpful people you can meet (along with Dilek and Jill - but not as attractive). If anyone has a problem or query he will try to sort it out straight away with no fuss or bother. He is very partial to chocolate HobNobs so if anyone is going to the Ambrosia I a sure he would appreciate a packet or two from England.
We had booked another 2 weeks this September and today we have booked another 2 weeks in May 2014 And also September 2014 - we cannot recommend the Ambrosia more than that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed at the Ambrosia during last week in May. As in keeping with other reviews must compliment the Reception staff as they were execellent. Nice room by Turkish standards and clean. However cleaning of the room was always late in the evening as if there was only a few staff to clean all rooms and it took them the full day to get around. Buffet was OK but very repeditive and not much choice of hot food. The major bug bearer was they certainly khew how to charge for water, wine other drinks and basic tea and coffeewith your evening meals. Also one evening when we came up off the beach we sat in the snack bar for a drink and was shocked when i got the bill. The drink was more expensive than Dublin prices and that saying something. Needless to say did not make the mistake of stopping in smack bar any other night but instead went to supermarket and also went outside of hotel in evening for a drink.

Bitez resort in general has gone very expensive since my last visit in 2009 and also the continual hassel and bullying by all restaurant around the bay to get you into their restaurant no matter what time of the day you pass by. This kind of bullying tacticts become very tiring and gets in on even the most easy going of people. The jury is still out on weather i would return to Bitez or other Turkish resort if the restaurants are allowed to keep up these tactics and if prices continue to rise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rock in preston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

this is really my first negative review, we have been going to bitez for a few years now and always called in @ the ambrosia and said we would stay one of these days there,well we booked for easter and was looking forward to it, we upgraded to a sea view and what a view it was, only trouble with it was all the sand on the beach was banked up to the path that runs passed the hotel, then we went for a walk and for those who know bitez you would not believe the state of it off peak, it was like a bomb site, as for the hotel staff no problem reception and cleaners brill, especially on our third night there was a thunderstorm of hell,balcony doors banging and shaking,
water coming into room, quite eerie really being early morning, but come morning all was back to normal apart from water everywhere even outside it was hard to get anywhere cause with potholes in the roads it was difficult to walk, we had to change rooms but finding one that the rain had not got in was a nightmare, but the reception and cleaning supervisor sorted it ok, a big thanks to them, the food was ok if you like chicken, i know what you must be thinking [out of season and all that] but we did expect a little variation, and we came down one night to find all the lights off and when we asked if the diner was opened we were asked what we wanted to eat fish or yes the chicken ha! so we went out, same thing happened the morning after @ breakfast apart from the chicken! we did go to reception and were told there would be more people coming in that night, sorry to go on but just had to tell on the OUT OF SEASON beware bit, would we go again, to bitez no prob. to ambrosia, maybe? but not off peak time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambrosia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Hotel

Address: Haci Ahmetler Mevki, Bitez 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bitez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bitez
#5 Family Hotel in Bitez
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bitez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambrosia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Features: Consists of 82 Standard Rooms and 8 Suite Rooms, in which you will find Mini bar, Telephone, Digital Safety Deposit Box, Air Conditioning, Hairdryer, and Balcony. General Features: Half board, Worldwide Kitchen, indoor/outdoor restaurants, Ala carte restaurant, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar and Beach Bar. Outdoor Swimming Pool, Outdoor Children’s Swimming Pool, Entertainment, Children’s Play Area, Gym, SPA, Laundry/Dry Cleaning, Currency Exchange, Baggage Room, Doctor. Meeting Rooms: 450 person Meeting Room, 350 person Ballroom, 60 person Workshop, and 14 person VIP Business Meeting Room. All are equipped with the necessary equipment and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambrosia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Hotel Bodrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambrosia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.