We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good holiday, shame about hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Art Bodrum Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Art Bodrum Hotel to your Saves list
Art Bodrum Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adnan Menderes Bulv. No:1, Bitez 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Bitez
Liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good holiday, shame about hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

me and my boyfriend have just returned from a 10 night stay in this hotel. Arrived early hours tue morning and where shown to our club room- room was like a prison cell, no terrace or balcony, just a small square window and a door. room wasn't even plastered, stains everywhere and bathroom sink was dirty. Went back to reception and advised we were not happy with room to be told hotel full come back in morning. We asked reception if there was anywhere we could eat he told us we could order a domino's pizza for 30tl. we agreed to this. Pizza was freezing and horrible, we think this is a scam as the pizza is less than 20tl from domino's! We returned in morning after a horrible nights sleep and manager said come back at 12 when people have checked out! we returned and shown another room which was better but tiny, we were then reluctantly shown a third room which was much better and had a balcony! we decided that this was adequate and the best we were going to get!

FOOD- was ok if you like salad, bread, olives and pasta! same food repeated daily! if you went to breakfast after 9 then no bread for toast just French bread! evening meal was sometimes ok as they had a chef making fresh food! Ended up eating out a lot as nothing to eat on most occasions! at the end of the ten days I was really fed up of the food! Cleanliness of restaurant not very good, dirty floor and table cloths turned over to hide stains!

DRINK- soft drinks good although always seemed to run out of diet coke! vodka definitely watered down, we got a bottle of vodka from the airport and ended up drinking this instead, no choice, no cocktails boring drinks!

HOTEL-lovely setting and view, needs a lot of TLC and could be a great hotel. 3 pools spent most of the time at top pool, around the pools were cups from night before and never really seen anyone cleaning up! lots of steps but didn't really mind this! tables and chairs are plastic and need updating. could do with a lick of paint and a tidy up and it would be a lot better! if you go to bitez beach and go out of the back of the hotel be ready for what you will see, it is very dirty, rubbish everywhere, bottles, glasses and rubbish! there are also staff quarters that look 100 times worse than the hotel! The beach is lovely and spent a few days down there and had breakfast a couple of times.

STAFF- had a turkish bath when we arrived and the staff are really good especially Fabio who was very friendly and gave us good information about gumbet/bodrum! only about a handful of staff who are friendly and helpful! reception staff miserable and unhelpful. some bar staff smile once and a while!
restaurant staff awful, one member of staff very sleazy towards girls on there own or in a gang, will go out of his way to flirt, get them drinks and harras them! watching him was embarrassing as he thinks he is gods gift! overall view of the staff is very unprofessional, uncomfortable to be around and if your with your partner do not expect them to help you in anyway they only bother if your a girl in a group or turkish!

After reading other reviews I thought people were being to fussy but I now understand what they mean! this could be a lovely hotel if they cared about what their customers thought and wanted, talking to other people they had many of the same views!
Great location but would not return to this hotel, Im just glad that me and my boyfriend got a good deal at the begin of the year because other people had paid a lot more than us!

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room tell them straight away and make sure you get moved!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    174
    117
    85
    120
See reviews for
136
253
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We came back from Art Bodrum yesterday.
Firstly we were quite disappointed with the personal - the reception works slowly (we were waiting in a quelle for an hour!) and then we came to the room and the guy who took our baggage asked for tip very impolite. We had a club room just next to the restaurant (about 5 steps off), next to the animation theatre and close to the pool with the snack bar - luckily.... our friends got room on the other side of the hotel, so the way to the resto took them about 10 minutes....
Rooms were clean, the cleaner was there every day and for a little tips she worked really hard. Once we found one roach in the sink, but i think, that the hotel cannot avoid it, cause it came from the sinkhole...
What was the best there it was the food.... really fantastic. A breakfast was every day same - cakes, eggs, baggettes..... During the lunch and the dinner there was the great choice of vegetable. Every day there was chicken and some other meat, potatos and so on. During the dinner they grilled meat, fish and vegetable and every second day there was a kebab (great!).
Weitres in the snack bar was a little bit selfish by our oppinion, but we used to their habits and finnally we stopped to solve their behaviour...
animation program was every day expect sunday. Nothing special, just like as at every other hotel. But in the presentation of the hotel we read that there is a hotel discoteque inside the areal - it is not true, there is possible to take a shuttle bus and go with the animation team to gumbet or bodrum, but it is quite expensive.
Hotel's beach was shared with the beach of Ambrosia hotel about 5 minutes walking from the hotel. Sunbed was free. The beach was sand - pebbled, clean. To the beach and from the beach the shuttle bus takes clients to the hotel every hour for free (included to AI). Second day we found amazing beaches about 20 min. walking from the hotel, but really soooo beautifull and visited by noone else.
Bodrum is very nice destination and Art Bodrum is very good hotel according to the price, we did not go to the 5 star hotel, so we counted with some little problems. Finnally, we were really surprised and satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

overall the hotel wasnt bad it looks nice from the outside and very appealing one point about the location is, its on top of a hill. The beach is not too far from hotel by a bus service but if you decide to walk then be prepared to get sweaty as you will walk down side roads which are very steep and long but its only a ten minute walk but worth it. The beach was standard with lots of seating areas such as sun lounges and cushion style sun beds. If you fancy going on excursions there are a few reps who sell excursions such as a turkish bath, boat trip to five diff islands, travel to kos island, aqua park and many others prices are pretty decent as they will try to strike you a deal by offering a free turkish bath if you buy any excursion. The rooms are decent enough, and come with standard furniture single beds, tv, ac, shower, safe not free, wardrobe, bedside lamp and a balcony. There are three swimming pools which are close together one on each floor. The hotel has a restaurant and a snack bar, personally the food was pretty bland with no flavour or spice but edible just might need to add salt pepper and a bit of sauce just to flavour it. Staff are friendly and will try to communicate. If you fancy having a bit of fun then the animation team normally play volley ball and during the evening after dinner there is the theatre were events will go on such as karaoke and dance nights. One other thing about this hotel is be prepared to do alot of walking as there are lots and lots of steps. Other than that the hotel is okay and decent enough also just to mention laundry service is not free. Thank you for reading my review

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our second stay at the Art Bodrum. We returned mainly due to it's superb location - easy access to Bitez, Gumbet and Bodrum. The bus service that passes the hotel is amazing. For around £1 per journey and every 5 mins you can hop on and off and rarely need a taxi.
After staying in a club room on our first visit we upgraded to a room in the main hotel that had fantastic views over Bitez. The room was clean and spacious with a handy fridge.
We ate out most evenings as the food in the hotel was rarely hot and quite boring. We found a brilliant restaurant in nearby Gumbet - Jack's Place - that was great value for money. The snatch bar served burgers daily and these kept us going.
The hotel entertainment wasn't really our cup of tea although Froddo aka 'Derek ' was quite amusing. Daily volleyball was enjoyed by lots of guests.
We spent pleasant days at the top pool and met some great people - 'you mugs!' Araz, Yasim and Ali deserve a special mention as their customer service was of a high standard. Some staff were miserable and unhelpful but the above mentioned more than made up for them.
We took full advantage of the on site Turkish Bath and massage services, they were great value and quality. Fabio was reall helpful in arranging this and is most helpful in all ways.
I have no doubt we will return to the Art Bodrum and after hearing the nightmares other travellers had at other hotels we feel "it's better the devil you know." If you are going for 2 weeks you will need enough spending money to eat out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

No sound proofing at all – we had some young girls opposite who frequently got in at 4am and sat talking loudly for hours and we heard every word.

The sheets had quite a few suspect stains, and some easily identifiable as blood.
The air con broke, and kept dripping on my head. It took them 2 days to fix it, and then they just put a bucket under and told us to only use for 30mins at a time – which isn’t really ideal with the temperature is in the 30’s.
The food was ok. We only ate there for 2 nights which was enough. Not a huge amount of variation, but there was always lots of salads and bread to fill up on. They did really have much ‘real meat’ – it was mainly processed chicken and beef which I am always suspicious of.

The spirits were a joke. The first full evening we were there, we were both drinking ‘vodka’ and lemonade, after 7 each, both still as sober as a judge. I think the beer was the only real alcohol there.

The pool areas were great, we were early in the season so probably wasn’t that busy. We were always able to find a sun lounger and found it quite peaceful. The views were spectacular.

The local buses run all day and into the early hours which take you right into Gumbet and Bodrum, so it’s easy enough to get out and about for food and drinks, and its all reasonable prices in the towns.
Despite all the bad points, a holiday is what you make of it. We only went to the rooms to sleep and change and just stayed optimistic about it.

I wouldn’t go back, but it wasn’t an awful holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Arrived in Bodrum on a beautiful hot sunny afternoon. Transfer fine etc. Arrived at Art Bodrum. Exterior of hotel looked promising but that's where the positives end.

Reception staff on the whole unhelpful and only able to speak English when it suits. As soon as we complained about our room they all suddenly lost the capacity to communicate in even basic English. No one wants to handle your complaints and will always refer you to the manager who incidently isnt always on site.

Rooms

Well what can I say? Mould encrusted showers, air con that either doesnt work or is inefficient. Club rooms have no fridge. You had to make like a crab and walk sideways in the club rooms that we were allocated. The rooms if clean would be suitable for 1 person only. The club rooms that we were shown resembled hostel rather than hotel rooms

We were given a Club room with side sea view. The curtain was hanging off the pole and didnt even cover the window, bedding was stained and burnt by cigarettes. The bathroom was mouldy and dirty. We returned to reception and asked to be moved but was informed that the hotel was full. We spent the rest of our afternoon in the hotel reception trying to get the matter resolved with the local agents, the manager - via the phone- and our booking agent in the UK but to no avail. Returned to reception the following morning to hear similar tales from other guests who had found the rooms not to be of a satisfactory, fit for purpose condition. One family had camped out in reception over night until they were moved to a more suitable room. Having spent so much time in reception it was clear that many guests were complaining about the state of the rooms and we witnessed numerous room changes during our first 36 hours at the hotel. Finally we were offered a slightly better room and were able to at least take a shower and go in search of something to eat.

We upgraded to a room in the hotel when one became available . This room had better furniture and was more spacious as well as a mould free bathroom but had to pay for the priviledge.

Food

Even if you are not a fussy eater - as I am not - you will struggle to find a sufficient meal. Food very repetitive with limited choice unless you are prepared to eat salad every day. To give you an idea the buffet only carried 2 meat dishes. There is no food choice for young children what so ever. The buffet food was often cold or luke warm - which is no surpise as we often noticed that the hotplate was not even switched on! To avoid any stomach upset we re heated our food in the microwave. I wouldn't have minded had I been staying in a 2* rated establishement but the hotel describes itself as a 4* AI which for me meant a little more that salads with chicken stew or kofta on a daily basis. The only fish I encountered was at lunch time one day when there was a small anchovie salad on offer.

Most of the food would be gone within an hour of the restaurant opening particularly in the morning and I didnt see any evidence of much replenishment. At breakfast time there seemed to an abundace of eggs and salad but not sufficient bread. When you ask for more bread you get a simple " finish" from the staff! Needless to stay we had to spend additonal money eating out.

Bars

Bars serve only Raki, Vodka, Gin, Beer, Red and White wine in plastic party cups as part of the AI programme. If you drink dark spirits then your out of luck as you will have to pay for them. Each guest is limited to only two drinks at a time - a problem if you are in a group of more than two! Beer is served in slightly larger beakers. I asked to have my pepsi served in the larger beaker but was told firmly that this was not possible. Incidently although the bottles indicate a 35% alcohol content, this is not the case at this hotel. Both the Gin and Vodka that I was served thoroughout my stay was most definately watered down. Many guests resorted to buying their own alcohol off site.

Service

What service?

I have travelled widely and this is the only hotel that I have ever stayed in the world where the staff really seemed to fail to deliver even the basic customer service. The bar service is so slow it's beyond a joke. Also there is only one bar serving the hotel in the evening and this is situated by the pool. There are no chairs here which deters one from frequenting it as regularly as one might!

Maid service was basic - sheets straightened, dirty towels rehung rather than replenished but that's about it.

General standard of hygeine in the communal areas of the hotel - poor

This is the first time that I have ever stayed anywhere and not tipped bar, restaurant and cleaning staff.

Pools

All quite deep with no life guard. Insufficient sun loungers

Entertainment

Friendly entertainment staff who do their best. No activities for children as advertised

General

Health and safety is a real issue here. Lots of stone steps - more than anticipted, which at night time are very poorly lit. In one area behind the pool bar there is a steep drop with no sign to warn of the danger, just a few sun loungers startegically placed. This in an area where young children play in the small pool. Poolsides were very slippery when wet and no attempt made to mop up any water. Poor lighting generally throughout the hotel. Often found myself walking down darkened corridors. The hotel is run down and in need of some serious TLC. I saw very few maids and one maintenance man about the place so this gives you an idea of the standard of hotel you are paying for.

In Summary

This is definately not a Four star hotel - maybe a two . It's a shame as the hotel has huge potential and is in a beautiful location - on top of a hill overlooking Bitez beach. Do not expect 4* accomodation or food as you will not get that standard here. If you like quality alcohol and food go down to the beach bars and restaurants at Bitez where you will most definately get what you pay for. We spent most of our days down at the beach and ate and drank there. There are lots of other four star hotels on the same road as the Art Bodrum which we had a look at when trying to change hotels that were of a considerably higher standard than the Art Bodrum. However due to it being high season all were fully booked.

Fabio from the Spa and Kameron from the photoghraphy hut were a breath of fresh air and genuinely warm welcoming people. We didnt use either the Spa or had our photographs taken but spoke to many people who had and their feedback was always really positive.

On a positive note the we met some fantastic people from various parts of the UK all brought toether as a result of such an awful experience.

My advice - avoid like the plague

Room Tip: Club rooms are ok if you are going to spend most of your day and night elsewhere. Hotel rooms are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We booked as a family of 6 (5 adults,1 child) for a 2 week stay. Arrived early hours of the morning to half dead members of staff. Eventually shown to our rooms which were not in main building and we was disgusted! We shared 3 in a room. First room had 2 beds, non working tv, bathroom in need of work and smelt, some poor excuse for a balcony. Having spoken to lifeless staff at reception about the bed situation, their attitude stank and I was told there was nothing they could do and that I had to wait until the morning to speak to a manager. That night I shared a single bed with a toddler very uncomfortable. Room 2 was even worse bathroom smelt horrible and looked rusty and un hygienic, shower head was broken and the door locked with a battle. The general attitude of the staff was poor and rude through out our stay. A fault or issue had to be reported several times before someone came out. The rooms bedding and sheets were not changed for several days, just turned over and creased out! There was no entertainment for children. The evening entertainments were dull and repetitive. The food was boring and repetitive and food was recycled from lunch into their dinners. In summary its definitely not a 4 star hotel, the selling of it is deceiving and I will not recommend anyone staying here especially if you have children. Apparently the hotel is up for sell part of the reason why they are reluctant to carry out any maintenance work. I could rant on but I am very annoyed having chosen here, don't make the same mistake!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Bodrum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Bodrum Hotel

Address: Adnan Menderes Bulv. No:1, Bitez 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bitez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bitez
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bitez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Bodrum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Art Bodrum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Bodrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Bodrum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.