We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit and it's a good family holiday hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vera Club TMT

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vera Club TMT to your Saves list
Vera Club TMT
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Icmeler Mevki Kumbahce Ataturk Cad. No:134 Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 115 Hotels in Bodrum City
Guildford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Return visit and it's a good family holiday hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We went back to the Vera Club TMT about 5 years after our last visit. It's a nice family holiday hotel, and we got extraordinary value for money for our week's break. However, the hotel has grown (and we were in the most distant rooms from the main area) and has become a bit impersonal as a result.
The food was perfectly acceptable, especially given the volumes for which they were catering, and the entertainments team worked hard to keep everybody involved.
It's about a kilometer from Bodrum itself, but it's an easy walk along the seafront, and while Bodrum has also grown and as a result become a bit more down-market, it's still fun.
Overall, given the price, we felt that this was a very good holiday, and the facilities were certainly worth what we paid. Would we go back? - yes.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want - the newer rooms are over the bridge and up a lot of stairs, but as a resu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeraTMTresort, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Vera Club TMT, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that we welcomed you in Vera TMT Resort and we thank you for your comments about your vacation. We are happy to hear that we were able to contribute to your happiness.

In our management of Vera TMT Resort, which is part of Vera Hotels & Resorts, our first objective is the satisfaction of our customers and that's why your comments are noted and studied carefully.

Vera TMT Resort exists since around 40 years and this is the reason why we started and planned a renovation in spring 2014. Unfortunately, we did not have enough time early in the season, so we started new renovations in October 2014 and we plan to complete these before the start of the 2015 season. The entire complex will have a new look and we will change the entire maintenance system. All this from the perspective of will offer you a better service in the future.

Your opinion is important and we inform the departments concerned. We hope to see you soon in our resort under our new name: Vera Miramar Resort. For questions or information, please contact us.

With our attention,

Team of Vera Miramar Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    143
    78
    73
    58
See reviews for
165
152
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had a lovely family holiday with my parents and brother at Club Vera. The location was superb and was near to the marina and Bodrum town in terms of walking. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful- maintained to a high standard every day by a team of gardeners.

The pool was spacious and there was the option of sea swimming and water sports. There were a good amount of sun loungers and umbrellas available though you had to wake up early to reserve them.

There was a huge variety of foods at breakfast and dinner and the chefs did a wonderful job.
My family particularly liked the fresh barbecue meats and fish at dinner.

During our stay, most of the staff were helpful. Among them there were a few with exceptional positive attitudes and kind personalities which really gave the Hotel a good vibe.

The only negative point regarding our stay was the rooms and the state of them. The rooms definitely need some updating in order to raise the standard of the hotel to maybe a 5 star. Our rooms were very basic and outdated. The bath shower curtain/rail did come loose one night and crashed down, however, maintenance were quick to fix it.

Overall, the grounds and location definitely make this Hotel stand out. We had a lovely time and would definitely return. Updating the rooms would really raise the bar though!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeraTMTresort, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Vera Club TMT, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that we welcomed you in Vera TMT Resort and we thank you for your comments about your vacation. We are happy to hear that we were able to contribute to your happiness.

In our management of Vera TMT Resort, which is part of Vera Hotels & Resorts, our first objective is the satisfaction of our customers and that's why your comments are noted and studied carefully.

Vera TMT Resort exists since around 40 years and this is the reason why we started and planned a renovation in spring 2014. Unfortunately, we did not have enough time early in the season, so we started new renovations in October 2014 and we plan to complete these before the start of the 2015 season. The entire complex will have a new look and we will change the entire maintenance system. All this from the perspective of will offer you a better service in the future.

Your opinion is important and we inform the departments concerned. We hope to see you soon in our resort under our new name: Vera Miramar Resort. For questions or information, please contact us.

With our attention,

Team of Vera Miramar Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Vera hotel is no way a 5 star hotel. More likely 3 and that's just for its location. We arrived at midnight and were shown to our room or should I say cell miles away from reception up hills steps lift There was a balcony with room for 1 chair the garden view was a lonely piece of ivy dangling down a wall the other two windows both faced walls no view at all. Was supposed to be a family room. Walk in door there was a filthy bathroom still had previous occupants hairs on the floor sink and bath. Bedroom to left bedroom to right mouldy ceilings damp on walls. No where to sit. We complained and were moved to a different room the next day a little better than the first.
Air conditioning was really poor we did complain on numerous occasions but still same when we left. They turn all electricity off for a minute or so around 2am because when it comes back on the air con doesn't. The bath and toilet leaked. Spoke to other English people and they all said they had similar experiences. Try find a different hotel would not recommend at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just come back from Club Vera with my family and we had a fabulous time ! Undoubtedly a lot of the rooms are shabby and in need of updating but how much time are you going to spend in your room ?? The area around the pool and bars is so pretty and the staff are especially lovely and helpful. Only 20 percent or so were english with mainly dutch, russian, turkish etc but I actually prefer it like that as it feels more authentic. The food is very good and plenty of choice for everyone, all through the day there is something to eat and a couple of times a week they make fresh doughnuts and bring out icecream by the pool. As a wine drinker the wine is not half bad for an all inclusive deal but local spirits don't taste the same as english inspite of the very generous measures !
Take advantage of the free Hamam down in the Spa area where you can use it yourselves for free or pay to be treated by the staff who are also lovely. No need to take beach towels as they operate a card system and you get fresh towels on a daily basis to use by the pool but I'm afraid a lot of the towel bagging chairs goes on to secure the best spots each day ! However he guys that work around the pool will always help you find beds and parasols.
All in all it's that staff that make this hotel, from the DJ to the entertainment staff to the waiters and barmen. Some people will never be happy but ignore the dodgy reviews and go with an open mind !!

Room Tip: The family rooms have 2 separate rooms with doors but are quite a long way up from the pool, depends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeraTMTresort, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Vera Club TMT, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that we welcomed you in Vera TMT Resort and we thank you for your comments about your vacation. We are happy to hear that we were able to contribute to your happiness.

In our management of Vera TMT Resort, which is part of Vera Hotels & Resorts, our first objective is the satisfaction of our customers and that's why your comments are noted and studied carefully.

Vera TMT Resort exists since around 40 years and this is the reason why we started and planned a renovation in spring 2014. Unfortunately, we did not have enough time early in the season, so we started new renovations in October 2014 and we plan to complete these before the start of the 2015 season. The entire complex will have a new look and we will change the entire maintenance system. All this from the perspective of will offer you a better service in the future.

Your opinion is important and we inform the departments concerned. We hope to see you soon in our resort under our new name: Vera Miramar Resort. For questions or information, please contact us.

With our attention,

Team of Vera Miramar Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Don't get me wrong here. The Vera is in a great position, only 10-15 mins walk along the beach to the main beachfront area which is buzzing at night with great restaurants and bars and shopping. The grounds are really lovely and well kept. The beach front is very pretty. We arrived late PM and signed in. Everyone was very friendly but, in a typical Turkish way, slow. We were asked to wait in the lobby and have a drink while they did 'something'. No idea what as they knew we were coming, along with about 4 other families but we all sat and waited, and waited.. Eventually I went back to the desk and they seemed amazed that I'd returned to get my room. The guy then spent another 10 mins faffing around, filling in bits and pieces of paper and eventually we got our keys. Turkey seems to be stuck in the 70's when it comes to admin! Out rooms were, OK ish. They were of a reasonable size, a bit grotty round the edges but had air con, a good shower and a TV with BBC world news on it. The bed was hard and we had 1 small blanket and 3 pillows but a trip to reception and more form filling in solved that. Please people, remember, 5 stars in Turkey is not 5 stars in the UK. I'd put the rooms and reception at 3 stars but the outside areas at 4. We were all inclusive which I've never done before. It works well. You get a wrist band, orange for over 18, green for under, much to the disgust of my 17 year old daughter and her boyfriend, food is plentiful and of a reasonable standard, there's always a BBQ going on at lunch and evenings and finding somewhere to sit, even at this time of year, was ok. Drinks are free until midnight and the 2 younger ones were able to have a beer or wine with their meals. It's a bit like going on a cruise, there's pretty much food available at any time somewhere. The pool is a busy place, get there early if you want beds anywhere near the pool and there are activities going on during the day. Not to be missed are the donuts they cook occasionally by the pool area, very nice. To sum up. I'd say go for it. You're not in your rooms that much, the beds are firm but fine, there's air con and a good shower. The rest is lovely and the staff are great and it's close to town and all inclusive.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here 29th July to 5th August and got off to a disastrous start. The rooms we were first shown were horrible. One room was like a dark smelly cave and the other had a horrible dirty old shower. We went down to complain and had the good luck to meet a lovely lady duty manager who gave us two further choices. We ended up with the furthest possible room away from the complex but although old it was bright and airy and had fantastic views across the bay. The food was a bit hit and miss for the first couple of days but actually as the week wore on got better and better and there is always something you can find to eat on an all inclusive break unless you are a complete fuss pot. The drinks were of a really good standard as well. I found the service to be mostly good. Our dining room waiter was exceptional and always greeted you with such a lovely welcoming smile. The complex itself is kept beautifully clean and tidy. Although there is no sandy beach it is lovely to sit down by the sea on a comfortable sun bed with clean towels provided every day at no cost. The main swimming pool is absolutely gorgeous with the mountains providing a lovely backdrop. The Animation or Entertainment Team are exceptional. My sister and I travelled with three 17 year old boys and they took them out clubbing in a really safe environment and really looked after them so that their first experience was a great memory which will stay with them. All in all this hotel could be so much better with a bit of money spent on it to bring the accommodation up to date and some of the staff could at least look as if they like their jobs a bit more. I would not go back, but I would not say never go there either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Having just returned from a 2 week stay at the Vera Club TMT, we had a lovely holiday overall. The hotel was in a beautiful location by the sea and the weather was hot, hot, hot! The food was plentiful throughout our 2 week stay with lots of choice. Some of the staff were amazing, particularly the entertainment team...a very special mention to Ender and Burak who were extremely friendly. The spa is worth a visit...we had a full Turkish bath and massage experience at the start of our stay, which I would highly recommend. Again, the spa staff were very friendly and professional. Right next door to the hotel is Bodrum town, a 10-15 minute walk, which had lots of shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. We went there a few times and the atmosphere was always excellent. We did not feel particularly hassled when we went shopping, probably helped by the fact everywhere was so busy in the evenings. Our 20 year old daughter went clubbing in Bodrum quite a few times with some new friends she met at the Vera. Ender and Burak from the entertainment team, along with other hotel staff, escorted people to the clubs and stayed with them throughout the evening so all guests had a lovely time and felt perfectly safe.

Although poor in quality, the hotel bedrooms had free air con and free safes to store valuables. Sunbeds were free and came with cushions and umbrellas. Towels were supplied and easily changeable in the Spa. The bars served bottle water. Boat trips went direct from the hotel jetty which was handy. There was a young German lady by the name of Elizabeth who spoke perfect English and offered private boat trips. She did not work for the Vera but you will see her walking around near the jetty in the mornings, where the diving boat is moored. Easy to spot as she is not wearing swim wear. We went on 2 private boat trips and loved every minute...lunch and afternoon tea were included in the price.

The front of house service at the Vera, ie. the bar staff, chefs and waiting staff were all very hit and miss. Whilst some of them did speak English in varying degrees, we found the majority did not, or even worse, did one day and played dumb the next day...all very mysterious and confusing to us! Please bear in mind that most of the guests were from the EEC and also spoke English to the staff, without exception. We learnt the hotel prefers to employ non-English speaking staff as this is cheaper for them and staff are less likely to leave for a better paid job elsewhere. If we had travelled to a far distant non-English speaking land and stayed in the middle of nowhere then I would expect to struggle with communication...not in an International hotel located in Turkey!

The bar staff either spoke very poor English, if at all, or in one case (not mentioning names) understood and spoke some English one day and gave me a blank expression every time I ordered drinks from him for the next few days...only then to understand me perfectly again? The words Fanta, Sprite, Coca-Cola and Cola Light are exactly the same in Turkish. On several occasions we were queueing to be served at the bar, along comes a Turkish speaking guest to the front of the queue and they were served immediately. If we were really lucky, the barman would be in the middle of serving us and then pause to serve a Turkish speaking guest upon demand?

The chefs cooking and serving in front of the guests were mainly grumpy and unapproachable due to the language barrier, unless you were a Turkish speaking guest that is. If you had any special requests such as asking for your liver to be cooked rare then forget it. The response I got from one Chef was extremely rude to say the least, which in fairness the Hotel did address when I complained on this one and only occasion.

With the waiting staff, some were really attentive and helpful whilst others seemd more concerned about clearing tables rather than serving people. A special mention to Omaykan who was our main waiter for the 2 weeks and did an excellent job. He was very friendly and always went out of his way for us.

During our stay we sunbathed next to the sea as it was much quiter than the pool area. At 7pm every evening the pool staff would appear to straighten up all the sunbeds. My girls were very lucky on several occasions to go on a surprise sunbed ride whereby they would be physically relocated with the sunbed as the pool boys were clearly on a timescale...hilarious behaviour that I have never experienced before. We had a Turkish family next to us that had tipped the pool boys to reserve their sunbeds each morning in exactly the same location. One morning we happened to be encroaching on this 'reserved' location and upon trying to move us over my wife told them where to go...that's my girl :-) Tips talk in Turkey and you will see plenty of tip boxes around the Vera to remind you of this fact...I have never experienced so many tip boxes...EVER!

I was a Chef for 18 years and have worked in hotels that entertain guests from all nationalities. Whilst it is true to say that I am not multilingual, I always tried to understand the guests if they didn't speak English, I would speak in French or very bad German, or ask for help on behalf of the guests. At no point in my 18 year career did I ever experience one chef, waiter, barman or any other member of staff ignoring or being rude to a guest because they didn't understand them. I have always believed in treating people how I want to be treated, especially when they are paying good money for a good experience...the Vera is not overly expensive but for it's overall level of service it is certainly not cheap!

Based on professional experience in the industry, the crux of the issue is down to the hotel management. Whilst we saw managers everyday of our stay they do not get directly involved with the guests, with the exception of the entertainment manager. You will either see them walking around or sitting in one of the bars drinking, or in one of the restaurants eating. You will never hear a manager asking you if you are having a good time, either for fear of hearing any bad news or because they are indifferent. Upon checking out after a 2 week stay we were not even asked if we had a good holiday. If managers look miserable or avoid friendly interaction with the guests then it is no wonder that a lot of staff follow their example! They will see this as acceptable behaviour. The managers seemed more concerned about their status as managers rather than what they should be managing...ensuring the staff are doing their job properly along with ensuring all the guests are happy, irrelevant of what language the guests speak.

In many aspects the Vera Club is geared up to serve Turkish speaking guests. We did meet some amazing fellow guests at the hotel as well as some wonderful staff. Even though the overall experience of ordering drinks or interacting with the chefs was pretty dismal, we did not let this spoil our holiday. This is not our first time to Turkey and it will not be the last. We will certainly revisit Bodrum but the front of house service would have to dramatically improve for me personally to be persuaded to go back to the Vera Club TMT. If this was sorted out, along with the quality of the bedrooms and general maintenance throughout the hotel (fixing things that are broken) the Vera Club would be an amazing place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vera Club TMT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vera Club TMT

Address: Icmeler Mevki Kumbahce Ataturk Cad. No:134 Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bodrum City
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vera Club TMT 5*
Number of rooms: 362
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vera Club TMT reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Club Tmt Hotel Bodrum
Vera Hotel Bodrum
Vera Hotel Tmt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vera Club TMT, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.