We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aegean Gate Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bodrum City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aegean Gate Hotel
Save
You added Aegean Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Kumbahce Mah. Guvercin Sok. No:2 Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 115 Hotels in Bodrum City
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed 7 nights at this charming boutique hotel in the hills of Bodrum at the end of our 2 week trip to Turkey. The owners Gary and Rory are wonderful and provided a lot of great recommendations for restaurants and activities in the area. Mahmoud, who works at the hotel, is very personable and friendly and goes out of his way to help you with whatever you need and really makes you feel very welcome. The rooms are nice, more of an apartment than a basic hotel room, with stunning views of the hotel's pool, the town and Aegean cost from the huge balcony off the main living area.

One of our favourite things about this hotel are the "permanent" guests, being the street dogs and cats Gary and Rory have so lovingly adopted, they are all so gentle and such a joy to have around - bless your hearts Gary and Rory for taking in those animals!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
202
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at here in July and loved it. We had a modern room with a nice living room and large balcony for views and drinks and reading. Owners were superb. they were knowledgeable of Bodrum, very friendly yet they left you alone for peace and quiet.Pool and sunbed area were clean and relaxing, I felt like a Sultan (or Harem) under the blue tent with pillows. Mahmoud served a lovely breakfast and ice cold beers in afternoon heat. We had no issues with street noise, nor with the walk up from the bottom of their neighborhood hill (and we are in our 60's). Lovely, quiet, peaceful, with 3 wonderful three hosts, what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Bottom floor is shaded with a garden feel, perfect for summer heat, just walk out your door for a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We are loving our stay at the Aegean Gate hotel. The irish owners are super nice. The site is beautiful and clean. Our bedroom as also a small living room and big balcony. The view from our top floor balcony is amazing. The breakfast was good. There is free cats and dogs on the outside site, they are very nice. I highly recommand this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen, Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The pictures of the hotel suggests peace and tranquillity. Not quite so. The back of the hotel, where the bedrooms are, face a narrow street with three story apartments with balconies only 10 metres away facing your bedroom. Quite noisy, if they are occupied and people decide to have a good time at night. Sleepness nights for me I mean.
Other than that, the bell on the entrance is only meters away from your bedroom, so guests coming/departing//arriving to the hotel in the night wake you up by ringing that bell, at least in my case.
Do I recomend? Sure, Gary and Rory and Mahmout are great entertaing people and the cats and dogs are a welcome treat. Would i come back? Don't really know, if they left the place. They make the difference between a ordinairy stay and a very good one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

This was our third time at this fantastic hotel, we spent a lot of time and travel to get there after my sons wedding in
Italy and we were not dissapointed. Not that I thought we would be for one moment,Rory and Gary are the best
Mine host we have ever encountered and Mahmoud is just right to make your stay here excellent. We can guarantee that if you love animals, good company, peace and quiet, together with a holiday to remember this is the place for you. Will we go back, without a shadow of doubt, will we recommend to friends, you bet, there is no where better in Turkey. Once again guys many thanks. Brian & Mandy

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Thanks to the Trip Advisor community again for recommending this great hotel. The comments in the reviews below are as accurate as they are glowing! I don't have anything more to add - the service is well described as personal and friendly, the hosts are keen to make sure you have a great stay with some well chosen local advice, breakfasts are delicious and freshly prepared, situation is perfect - out of the bustle of Bodrum but easy to walk down and low cost taxi back up, if you don't feel like walking in the heat. Dogs and cats abound and are well looked after (also the tortoises in the scrub land beyond the garden come out to drink when Mahmut is watering the grounds). We liked our top floor room with amazing views, also liked that the aircon unit was in the lounge area of the suite, with a ceiling fan in the bedroom - the fan wafted the cool air over us in the night without the noise of the aircon. It's a professional operation, and you can see that in the attention to detail - decor, cleanliness, service. The boat trip of 35TL is amazing value (although the waters round Bodrum are crowded with these tour boats and I would have paid more for a less crowded itinerary - I am sure Gary would be able to recommend an option for this) and the 2 hour session in the Hamam (turkish bath) was superb and also value at 60TL each. Don't miss out on Bodrum castle - the exhibitions of ship wreck archaeology are fascinating and the castle itself is scenic and interesting. Strongly recommend this hotel for all the reasons everyone states!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the view, lower floor suites have shaded sitting areas - choose your own ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Myself and my daughter spent a much needed break at the Aegean Gate at the end of June and we certainly picked the perfect place to totally relax. Gary, Rory and Mahmut were the perfect hosts and you felt as if you were staying in their home as they were so welcoming. It has such a friendly atmosphere and we met some wonderful people from all over the world. The location of the hotel is perfect as it is set up on the hill overlooking Bodrum (with views to die for) but close enough to walk into the main area of Bodrum. Gary and Rory are a wealth of information and recommend the best restaurants and boat trips. I would also recommend the private transfer that they can book for you. It was so lovely to be met at the airport with our name on a board and whisked away from the madness of all the other package tours!!!
Special mention must go to all the wonderfully behaved stray cats and dogs that Gary and Rory rescue. Admittedly if you don't like cats and dogs this is not the place for you but I can guarantee that I think these cats and dogs would convert anyone......they were all so adorable and we still miss them all....oh and of course Gary, Rory and Mahmut!!!!
If you are looking for a small, quiet B and B with perfect hosts in an idyllic location and no pretentiousness then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aegean Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Gate Hotel

Address: Kumbahce Mah. Guvercin Sok. No:2 Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bodrum City
#2 Family Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bodrum's smallest boutique hotel set in unique natural grounds. Wonderful balcony views across the Aegean sea to the Greek island of Kos. Within easy access to Bodrum centre but far enough away from the bustling nightlife of Bodrum for a peaceful night's sleep. Irish owners/English speaking ensure European standards. A 'chilled out' location for the discerning traveler seeking that holiday with a difference. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aegean Gate Bodrum
Hotel Aegean Gate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aegean Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.