We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Turihan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turihan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Turihan Hotel to your Saves list
Turihan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Dalgicoglu Mehmet Celebi Sk.No:3 | Gumbet Beach, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 101 Bodrum City B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We loved Turihan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Having checked in about 10.30pm and going to find food on the main street, soon realised that Gumbet is 24hrs and Turihan is in a good spot - not too far away from nightlife when you want it but far enough to not be right in the centre of it, not sure how any sleep would be possible if you were staying more central. Room was nicely decorated and big balcony, hotel pool a great little suntrap with comfy loungers, beach and fab sea for swimming just a couple steps from the bar/restaurant also with loungers and umbrellas, staff will bring you food and drinks on the beach... bonus!! staff were really lovely and friendly. Sam, Uri, Mehmet and Smiler you were all amazing and added to our holiday :-) enjoy your winter. Sarah and Beth

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    83
    38
    14
    13
See reviews for
42
114
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Me and my friend stayed here 31st August to the 11th September and it was the staff that made this an enjoyable holiday especially Smiler and Uri they could not do enough to help.The hotel is basic but very clean, our maid came in nearly everyday to change the bed linen and towels the room was very big and the showers were great very powerfull the only problem we had was the air conditiong it was very tempremental and would sometimes just go off, also the pool area and restraunt was kept very clean but again very basic.
We also went to the turkish night at the hotel this was very good and the food was ok there was something there for everyone also the entertainment was great male and female belly dancers that got all the audience involved, we also went to the reptile night at the hotel and found it absoulty hilarious that it was a man dressed as a snake!!! we was expecting so exotic animals but it did make us laugh.
All in all i would deffinatly stay here again and will deffinatly recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Turihan is a small three star hotel situation right on the beach at the west end of the beach in Gumbet.  We stayed for two weeks in early September 2012. The first room we were put in was very small, we asked to be moved and got a much larger room on the ground floor. The small rooms could be improved if the were reorganised with wall mounted flat screen TVs and better and less furniture.  The second room we had was very nicely furnished.  Rooms have air conditioning at no extra cost.  Rooms have safes that cost £2 per day to use, I was a little disappointed to find that these safes are not attached to anything, so offer limited protection.  The daily cleaning was good, but needed a deeper clean to remove marks under the glass on the main dressing table.  We found that we had hot water in the evening but on luke warm at best in the morning, a side effect of the solar heating system. We liked the compact nature of the hotel with the rooms situated around the pool, leading onto the restaurant and bar which lead onto the beach. The pool and surrounding area is compact, a point to note is that the pool is a uniform 1.6m deep and therefore children need to be supervised at all times whilst in the pool area, for this reason, I would not recommend this hotel for small children, although we did see some children using the pool, but always closely monitored by their parents. The hotel has a small beach shop next to the restaurant, prices were quite reasonable. We opted for half board and found the both the breakfast and the dinner were very good.  Breakfast had the normal Turkish breakfast, plus cereals and bacon, eggs, beans and omelettes, overall the breakfast was very good.  The evening meal was a buffet style meal, with typical Turkish starters, a couple of main course options, dessert was fresh fruit and occasional baklava sweets.  We rated dinner as good, the food was tasty and plentiful.  We had lunch a couple of times and the food was good and well priced.  The restaurant is open and used by non residents for lunch and dinner and attracts customers, which is a testament to the quality of the food and price.  Bar, the bar service was very good, the draught lager was very cold, glasses are stored in the freezer and the beer is really cold, this is one of the very best places I have had beer in the Gumbet, Bodrum area.  A large beer was 5TL, which is about £1.85, which is good value.

The staff are really hard working and look after guests very well, they are quite happy to have a laugh and a joke with the British customers and most also understand that some guests do not want this interaction.  The head waiter / bar / restaurant manger was very hard working and professional.  

We have stayed at many hotels in this area of Gumbet over the last 18 years of visiting this area and know those closer the the main bar area can be very noisy, however we found that the Turihan was sufficiently far away from the bar area to not be effected by the music from Gumbet bar street, especially with the windows kept shut.  The main bar area of Gumbet is a 10 minute walk either along the road or along the beach esplanade.  Mosquitoes can be a problem in this area of Turkey and I would always recommend a plug in repellant, we did not have any problems as the Turiham, even when we forgot to use our repellant. In this area of Turkey you must not drink the water or wash your toothbrush or mouth out with the tap water, use bottled water at all times. Hotels, bars and restaurants all use separate tanked in water for cooking and ice, so ice and salads are safe.  

We plan to use the Turihan again, we thought it was very good overall, but be realistic in your expectations, it is a small friendly 3 star Turkish hotel, with some very small rooms. The pool may put off some parents.   The location is great and everything you want is close to hand.  

Top Tip, try a days scuba diving whilst in Gumbet, we dive with Motif Diving who operate a safe and professional dive programme for both qualified divers and total beginners.  You will not be disappointed the water is warm and clear and the locations they use teem with colourful fish.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was our first time at the Turihan but will not be our last, infact we have rebooked for next year already. The hotel is in a perfect location on the beach were there are lots of sunbeds, the sea is quite shallow and ideal for children. We were given two rooms one for us and one for our teenage girls and both rooms were furnished nicely, had free air con, fridge, hairdyer and spacious bathrooms, the girls even had a bath. We were given fresh towels and room was cleaned regularly. We stayed B&B and the breakfast was more than adequate with fresh fruit, breads, eggs, omlettes cooked to your liking, there was fresh juice, tea and a coffee machine. All of the staff are superb, Evren (smiler) is the most happiest person ever (he even taught me the macerena) and all of the others cannot do enough to help you, nothing is too much trouble they go out of their way to talk to you all of the time, they made our hoilday really enjoyable!! We did go on a trip, booked by the beach, to the water park, this was a really great fun day out. There are lots of water slides and pools to enjoy and it is not too pricey for food and drinks, i would recommend it. We also caught the dolmus at the end of the road to Bodrum costing 3TL each which took about 15mins, Bodrum was fab very busy full of sights and shops! Overall only been home 2 days and booked for two weeks next year cannot wait to go back, Gumbet is a good resort and the Turihan is fab.

Room Tip: higher floor rooms have a great view and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed at the Turihan for two weeks from the 11th August. Like others who have posted we had a room problem to begin with but the staff and the rep Sinead were understanding and we were moved as soon as possible to a much better room Room S1 is like a step back in time, dismal and in desperate need of refurbishment so beware of being allocated this room lol!! Once we had our room we relaxed and didnt stop relaxing the whole time. The weather was very hot and we found it to hot to sightsee/trip out. We took a full day boat trip which was beautiful. The area around the hotel has some lovely eateries and we didnt have a bad meal the whole time we were there. One restaurant worth a special mention is The Mistral, a steak restaurant with the best steak I have ever tasted and EXCELLENT value, give it a try. The 'Come and read my menu' from the waiters does get a little annoying some times but they are only doing their job and trying to make successful businesses.
We stayed on a B&B basis and found the breakfast at the Turihan perfectly fine, usual choices of cereals, breads, meats and hot options too, bacon, eggs, beans, tomatoes etc. Also omelettes were cooked to your own liking by Omelette Man! The staff were very accommodating and entertaining.
The beach is a step away from the hotel and the staff serve drinks and food to you if you wish. Pool area was only small and not many sun loungers available but we never had this problem at the beach. Its a bit shingly but the water is very shallow and gentle with fishes for the children to try and catch.
All in all we had a lazzzzzyyy holiday which was the order of the day!!
And we LOVED Toona, wanted to bring him home....he is such a hard worker.
If you want any more info drop me a line :)

Room Tip: Avoid Room S1!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here from the 13th to the 27th of august and arrived back today. We got there on the first night and didnt like our room so we said to the staff andf they changed us the next morning to a great room with pool and sea view room 110. The rooms are a bit of a lottery but if you do ask to move they will move you. The location of the hotel is amazing right on the beach. The bars and resturaunts are all over the place and it has a lively night scene 10 mins from the hotel. The best thing about the hotel is the staff This is a 3 star hotel with (5 STAR service) All the staff are great Sam, Yuri, Evran, Hamza Mehmett just to mention a few. They cant do enough for you always making sure you are comfortable well fed and watered. The maid comes daily to make the beds and a quick tidy up. could do a better job on cleaning the floors though. Me and my Girlfriend definately plan to return here in the future. If you have never been to Turkey before take plenty money as the shopping is really good and cheap. the food is really cheap its on average about £40-£50 for a 3 course meal for 2 including drinks you must visit AnnOlivia resturaunt as its amazing we went 5 times. Over all first time in Turkey was great and definately reccomend the Turihan and gumbet as it has everything you could want.

Room Tip: rooms 107 to 110 are all pool and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We changed our room on the second day as it wasn't good, however, we stayed in room 401 for the rest of the holiday and it was fab! It was extremely spacious and on the poolside. The air conditioning was free of charge and the rooms were cleaned daily, with the bedding changed twice weekly. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis for two weeks with four of our friends and we really enjoyed ourselves. The hotel is in a fantastic location, which was right on the beach and we ate in the hotel of an evening on lots of occasions as the food was great!!

We found all the staff to be really friendly, especially Sam, Tuna, Smiler, Sony and Mehmet and nothing was too much trouble for them. Thanks Guys for making our holiday so special!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turihan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turihan Hotel

Address: Dalgicoglu Mehmet Celebi Sk.No:3 | Gumbet Beach, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Turihan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Turihan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turihan Hotel Gumbet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turihan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.