We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I caught shingles from the dirty bedding and towels!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ambiance Resort Bodrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added L'Ambiance Resort Bodrum to your Saves list
L'Ambiance Resort Bodrum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buyuk Iskender Yolu Myndos Kapisi Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 115 Hotels in Bodrum City
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I caught shingles from the dirty bedding and towels!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

When me and my boyfriend arrived at the resort, we were allocated a twin room when we had requested a double. The hotel staff moved us to a double that had mould on the walls and exposed electrical wiring. The third room offered was filthy, but by now it was very late and we were tired so accepted it after we were told it would be cleaned the next day.
The next day we attended at the guest welcome meeting where I raised the issue of the dirty room. Despite being given assurances that it would be cleaned, this never happened. Furthermore, I reported being unable to use the balcony due to overgrowth, a broken and leaking fridge, a faulty hairdryer which gave out electric shocks and the lack of satellite television as advertised. We had to collect our own clean towels (which were usually damp), because there was no room service. Despite my continued complaining, none of these issues were addressed.
When we used the hotels turkish bath facilities the sauna did not work at all, the male staff who carried out the turkish bath (as there was no option to request a female) were perverts and very unproffesional.
The pool was too dirty to use, and the external lights surrounding the pool had exposed electrics. The sun beds were un-usable as most were broken, and there were missing and broken floor tiles. The public toilets were also filthy with used condoms left on the floor.
I now wish to draw you attention to the catering facilities and the all inclusive package that we bought. The eating area was infested with cats, and cat faeces were present on the floor throughout our stay, again despite drawing it to the attention of the staff. The food was monotonous and stale, and we both suffered from upset stomach and sickness. Additionally,
the bar constantly ran out of the all inclusive drinks. We therefore had to purchase other drinks and food, spending twice our budget.
On the second day i noticed a nasty rash had started on my back, this spread round onto my front side and got worse and very sore throughout our stay. I thought it was an innocent rash, maybe a heat rash so decided to wait until arriving back home to get it checked out. My trip to my GP revealed i had caught shingles! After discussing my stay in turkey with my GP she advised it is very likely i had caught the shingles from either dirty towels or dirty bedding.
My boyfriend had booked this trip for my birthday and we were sold this holiday as a 4star, however it was obvious the hotel was definately not a 4star. After speaking to our holiday rep, we were advised the manager of the hotel had recently passed away which has left the future of the resort unknown and it had also been dropped to a 2 star. I think it is ridiculas that this hotel is still advertised as a 4star holiday as i do not even think it is a 1star! Staying at this hotel is a big health risk, go elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    100
    83
    86
    217
See reviews for
138
201
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

this is our first visit to turkey and to this type of hotel. we have previously stayed in high rise spanish hotels. this hotel had a more rustic feel to it, with seperate 2 storey blocks. we found the hotel different but we enjoyed it. the pool was built around ancient ruins, and was cleaned every day. our room was cleaned every day. the hotel staff were very friendly and very helpful. althouggh some guests did not like it and left after one night we found nothing to complain about and are booking the same hotel next year. the food at the hotel was more mediteranian than english but there was plenty of choice. but would not describe it as bad. you get what you pay for and we had a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

hotel was 4 star but was down graded to 2 star rooms were filthy sheets dirty toilet disgusting food cold and had just been put out they ran out of drink cleaner did not clean when asked floor had not been cleaned in months i have put pics on so people can see how dirty it was no hot water for shower sick of complaining about room my husband cleaned toilet as it was so bad i would not recommend this hotel for a holiday at all staff incompetent we had plastic beakers i would give to a child with meals no glasses at all we paid for all inclusive but had to go else where to get drink and food so we paid twice for meals we paid for 4 star and got a crap dirty 2 star hotel it was that bad we had to leave and pay for alternative accomodation

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Staff lovely...pool lovely ....cleanliness not good our room was not cleaned the whole time we were there.....electricity tripped daily... But we had a fab time with the people we met and I guess we got what we paid for... Wouldn't recommend....

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were extremely disappointed and dissatisfied with the hotel and the service we received. We booked a double room and were shown to a room with 3 camping style beds when we arrived which we refused. Then we were offered a double room which seemed ok but it was late at night. The bed was rock hard and we both had sleepless nights. There was only a single top sheet which barely covered. When we booked it was classed as a 4 star hotel but the week we arrived the hotel had been down graded to a 2 star for reason which were evident throughout the resort. The staff were not very helpful and hardly spoke English. The food was of poor quality and lacking in choice and often food that was meant to be hot was cold and we had wild cats and kittens begging at the tables for food. The bar regularly ran out of drink but witnessed the barman giving very large measures of alcohol to young females. Our room and bed linen were not changed or no fresh towels provided during our stay. We ate out a few times and other guests were recommending Jasmin Gardens which was 10 mins walk away but worth it as the staff were very friendly and food was good. We only saw a rep on the first day at the so called welcome meeting and he was only interested in selling trips. We didn't even know there was a fitness room and sauna??? We only found out that there was a Turkish Bath on the resort towards the end of the holiday and the guy selling them didn't like it when we said we were not interested. The area's were the rooms are were very badly lit and the steps are dangerous as no lighting. I tripped up a step the first night on the way to the room. This has to be the worst ever hotel I have stayed in and would advise anyone thinking of booking to stay well away. This holiday was meant to be a nice relaxing romantic week for myself and new partner and a break away from stressful jobs but was ruined by the Hotel being such a let down. photo's to follow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Went there supposed to be for two weeks of being pampered.When we arrived it was like a run down complex full of shabby rooms.Overgrown shrubbery,poor service and dirty tables etc.
Sat down to a buffet meal which was like eating s***,only the dessert saved the day.Bees nest just off the main kitchen,numerous cats roaming about the dining area inside and outside.Staff like zombies,miserable and not so polite.
The pool area was much the same ,dirty tables,old fashioned leather sofas "looks like they came from the skip",all torn and fabric missing and manky.Requested another room as we had torn,dirty sheets,filthy toilet pan,broken shower base fixed with black silicon like substance,toilet brush full of S***,Wall sockets in room hanging off wall.Old fashioned furniture,non working fridge.Can go on for longer but will cut it short as we did with this hotel.PS .The balcony was out of this world.Seeing is believing.C **P !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Asked to be moved to another Hotel and eventually moved on the Monday to another Hotel which was more superior but food was all geared up to the Turkish palete.If you were taking your pet rabbit it would seem like heaven as most of the food options were salads.Enough said .DO NOT GO TO L,AMBIENCE in BODRUM.YOU have been warned!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here in July, booked thru low cost holidays. We arrived early hours and were eventually taken to our room, very basic and toilet absolutely filthy. been in room about 5 mins and member of staff knocked on the door and told us to follow him to another room which we did. Also very basic but cleaner than the first. Good job we packed towels as there were none provided, and had to repeatedly ask reception until we got some. No chairs on terrace either just a table, they never did materialise even though we mentioned every day. Safety deposit box didnt work, manager sent someone with new batteries ut that made no difference and he just shrugged his shoulders and said "its Kaput". They even tried to charge us for use of box on departure, you can imagine our response to that!!!! The air con was more of a water feature, was fine for 10 mins or so and then it would start dripping water, if it wasnt turned off then the drip would get worse and it would just turn into a constant stream of water! my husband even took the full bin full of collected water and dumped it at reception, they just wernt interested.
we were all inclusive, but the food was truly awful, so we ended up eating out most nights, the only meal we really eat there was breakfast. The water and fruit juice dispensers needed a good clean out, as bits were floating in the drinks. Just felt quite grubby and put you off the food and drink there. Too many cats and kittens hanging around for food also.
We attended the welcome meeting, the rep was quite surly, was only interested in flogging the trips. we never saw him again after that. The staff in general were not great, the waiters were friendly enough, just not very hygenic. Bar staff only seemed interested if you were female, young or one of the lads. Hairdressers were very good, our daughter had her hair braded which looked lovely and was done very well. Reception staff were rude, spoke very little english, and made you feel like an inconvenience. The guy who sells the turkish baths was very pushy, and was quite agressive when we said we wernt interested.
Having lived in Turkey before we knew not to expect fantastic standards, but having given nearly 20 years between us living there and returning on holiday you would have thought that standards would have improved and not declined!

Jasmine Garden for a place to eat was absolutely fantastic, great food and service, they even commented that the food at the ambience was rubbish and they have a lot of custom from dissappointed people staying there! says it all really!

Room Tip: Dont think there are any good rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Ambiance Resort Bodrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ambiance Resort Bodrum

Address: Buyuk Iskender Yolu Myndos Kapisi Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ambiance Resort Bodrum 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Ambiance Resort Bodrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Ambiance Resort Bodrum Hotel Bodrum
l Ambiance Hotel Bodrum
l Ambiance Hotel Yaliciftlik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ambiance Resort Bodrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.