We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mimosa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mimosa Hotel to your Saves list
Mimosa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Gumbet Mah. Buyuk Iskender Cad. 1513. Sok. No:1 Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We went to Mimosa at the end of June, a group of 4 girls looking for a lazy holiday. Mimosa completely exceeded our expectations, considering our package deal cost not alot more than £200 for a week the apartments were big, clean, with a great sized balcony to socialise on and enjoy a few evening tipples! The pool area is lovely, plenty of sunloungers, and it feels far away from it all. It's location is great though, with about a 15 minute walk to the beach, and about 5 minutes walk to the beginning of bar street.

The staff were so friendly and helpful. On our leaving night our transfer company (Resort hoppa which we would not recommend!!) had only booked two of us onto the bus, although our booking was for 4, the Mimosa staff were so helpful in finding us a taxi immediately which was actually a lot cheaper than our original transfer. Would certainly recommend Mimosa!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed here some time ago now but it stands out in our minds as one of the worse hotels we have stayed in in our time together. Dont get me wrong we werent expecting luxury as we did pay a rock bottom price but on first arriving in our hotel room we did have a laugh at what we nicknamed our "prison cell" for the week. The beds were hard and had what can only be described as a small thin sheet for cover. The curtains were pretty much the same. There were bars on the windows and ants everywhere! There was no tv, very little furniture, it was supposed to be a self catering apartment and granted there was a fridge, and some battered old plastic patio furniture in the corner for a dining area and a sort of padded bench but v little else.
In fairness we went with low expectations and really werent too bothered by the accommodation. The pool area was clean enough and the location was great - just a few minutes walk from restaurants and shops.
We couldnt really comment on the service as I dont think we ever really spoke to the staff, there were vey few about and we ate out everyday.
A word of caution - a group of 3 girls had booked an apartment for three of them as they are advertised as suitable for 3 but the third bed was actually the same as the aforementioned padded bench exactly the same as we had in our apartment. We could not believe the hotel could claim that was a bed and really felt for them. It was so bad they took in turns to sleep on the bench and dreaded their turn.
We are not fussy and will put up with basic accommodation so we had a good hol as Gumbet was lovely, great food & drink, beautiful beach and lovely people we just wouldnt recommend this particular hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

My boyfriend and i stayed at these apartments in October 2008. It was a fairly cheap (c.£200), last minute break and to be honest i wasn't expecting anything luxurious. These apartments are situated close to the main shops and bars. They were fairly basic as we'd expected but nonetheless clean. Our room was also quite large with a nice view over the pool. The only gripe I had about the room was the lack of toilet rolls...easily solved however by going to the supermarket which was close by.

The staff were all friendly, particularly the barman who was quite chatty and came up with some excellent suggestions for eating out in Gumbet - particularly the Columbia which did excellent, good priced steaks.

Gumbet itself was ok although i preferred the neighbouring resort of Bodrum with its narrow streets and picturesque waterfront cafes.

All in all a good holiday for the money we paid and I wouldn't put people off going at all - just don't expect 4 star luxury.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

I went away with a couple of friends from uni, we were on a budget and basically after anywhere hot and cheap!
We booked our holiday fairly early, in february so we got a decent price, we only paid £200 each for a package holiday to the Mimosa.

Considering the price we paid, we were preparing ourselves to be staying in a shed for a week, but were actually very pleasantly surprised!

When booking your holiday I would bear in mind that there are some more recently re-furbished rooms and some older ones. The more newer rooms are round the pool which is where we stayed, and the older ones are round the back.
Having said that, our flight was delayed on the way back and we were offered a courtesy room so we could have a shower which was one of the older hotel rooms round the back, and although it was a bit dated, it was still clean and well looked after.

Be realistic about what you pay for and what you get and you will be pleasantly surprised. Our room was clean, white and spacious, with clean decent bathroom. Our room was cleaned daily, and the staff were always very polite and helpful.
The pool wasn't huge, but considering we visited in peak season it wasn't ridiculously busy.

I would also recommend visiting some of the local travel agents, they offer a really wide range of trips very cheaply, a lot cheaper than booking through the reps.

We ate at a lot of the restaurants along the beach, and the food was fanastic and very cheap, especially the turkish dishes. We ate a few times at the magnific hotel's resturant (which was great!), and we visited a few times for lunch. We found that because we had been there a few times and spent a bit of money there they didn't mind us using their pool (which was a lot better than ours!). The head waiter there was lovely and always remembered our names.

They love a bit of banter and having a chat with you, and as long as you are polite and friendly you will get well looked after in Gumbet. We were always given free bottles of wine and drinks with our meals, and the staff could never do enough for you.

If you want a cheap holiday I would more than recommend this hotel. We ate out for lunch and dinner every day, and out drinking on bar street most nights, went on a boat trip, went to turgetreis market and the aquapark and I think I only spent about £250 in a week.

  • Liked — It was cheap, simple, clean and in a great location!
  • Disliked — It was very basic, but for the price you can't complain.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the mimosa for a week and were sadly disspointed after the good reviews. The apartment was spacious but very basic. The bathroom was very irritating the toilet didn't flush properly and and the shower flooded the whole bathroom after every shower. It was like living in a swimming pool which wouldn't have been so bad if the maid had come in each day but she only came once in the week we were there. The weather was great and the hotel location is good but overall would not go back to Gumbet, it is very commercial and everywhere looks like it needs refurbishment.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

There were a group of 6 of us who stayed at the Mimosa for a week between the 25th August and the 2nd September. We are a group of 19 and 20 year olds who were looking for a fun holiday. The hotel that we stayed at was a lot better than we expected when we arrived. We booked it for £300 for the week and expected a cheap hotel with not much to do. We found the hotel completely different to how we expected. From the moment we checked in until we left the staff did everything they could to help us. I got ill towards the end of the holiday and all of the staff we concerened and did everything they could to help me friends to get me back to the hotel safely. Tom and Eddie were great fun both in the day and in the night and were always fun to sit in the bar with.

There was not a lot to do at the hotel but just 5 minutes up the road was the main street with all the restaurants and shops then another 5 minutes further up is bar street which we took full advantage of for the whole holiday. One restaurant to mention is Millenium which served great food at a great price and all the staff there were friendly and were happy to talk to you.

If you are looking to book trips anywhere, there is a little shop that sells excurstions run by Ahmet and Karen who are really lovely people and you can get some great deals and great trips from them.

Anyone looking for nights out must head on up to bar street which comes alive at about 11pm. Mystery bar is one that was frequently visited by us and the guys in there would dance with us and let us get up on the bar. The Kareoke Cabin underneath was great and was never too packed with people so you could get up and sing to your hearts content without lots of people watching you. Other bars that were good were Shakers, Central Bar, Shamrock and Outback. All the staff are friendly and will try to get you in with free shots.

The only problems that we found we as there were 4 girls in our party we did get a lot of attention from guys in restaurants but as I had been to Turkey before, I knew how to handle them so as long as you are willing to play the game back, they will eventually get the message and leave you alone. We also had one problem at the hotel. When checking out, my friends got told there was a plate missing from there room and they were going to get charged for it. They let them back into the room to check where the plate was but obviously they hadn’t taken it. I had taken an inventory of what was in my room so we told them that this had been taken and they then let us leave without having to pay as the plate wasn’t really missing.

Overall though, it was an amazing hotel, the pool was great and the staff even better and the weather was amazing. It is somewhere that I may have to return to as it was so much fun!!!!!

  • Liked — All of it, It was amazing
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

i had never been to turkey before so i didnt know wot to expect
but it was great the rooms were really clean and the staff were really freindly i would recommend these appartment to anyone.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — not a thing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mimosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa Hotel

Address: Gumbet Mah. Buyuk Iskender Cad. 1513. Sok. No:1 Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Bodrum City
Hotel Class:3 star — Mimosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mimosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Hotel Gumbet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mimosa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.