We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Quiet Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salmakis Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Salmakis Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Salmakis Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Eski Cesme Mah. Bardakci Koyu, Bodrum City, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 115 Hotels in Bodrum City
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Relaxing Quiet Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Booked as Bed and Breakfast at a normally all-inclusive resort. Beautiful location and stunning views from rooms, restaurants, and pool. Very clean and tidy hotel. Stayed in an ocean-view room that had its own balcony. Great friendly service from the staff. Breakfast was great and good variety - although was much of the same everyday. Because the resort was changing over for low-season they were a bit unorganized with dinner. We did stay on site to have dinner one night and were not provided with a menu and the staff weren't fully aware of what was available. This may have only been because it was the first few days after shutting down all-inclusive service. Would love to return during high season so experience Salmakis running at full steam.

Room Tip: Its worth paying a little bit extra for sea-view rooms as the sunrises are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    246
    79
    33
    29
See reviews for
220
278
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for one week on an all inclusive basis. On the plus side the hotel is immaculate and the views beautiful. We had a sea view room with balcony, very well appointed room and bathroom. Daily the room was cleaned and towels replaced. It was a long long walk to the dining rooms and the beach....4 lifts could be used with little walks in between, good exercise! The food was just ok, it appeared that there was a vast array but not very interesting. Waiting staff just not at all professional in their approach. The dining area just lacked atmosphere. The pool areas were lovely and the small private beach was fine. The water taxi to Bodrum was excellent. One problem for us was that due to the positioning of the hotel there was not a convenient walk in the evening outside the hotels. There was absolutely no entertainment.........It was the first time I had ever checked out of a hotel not to be asked if we had enjoyed our holiday, despite us being very smiley and cheerful!!! British guests were in the minority and we did note that the local people were treated quite differently.

Room Tip: sea view rooms but check distance from restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Friend stayed here & sayed u must go its great for familys. what he didn't say was that we would need to take 4 lifts before we even got to the pool & restaurant & the 4th lift near the resturant was often out of order!This was our 1st family holiday with our 22month arrived @ 4.30day thought the front looked like a car park for a 5* expected better. Rooms was spacious in fact lovely clean & massive & a cot was already in there. Paid 40Tl for 8 days for the safe. Air con was pointless but luckily it wasn't hot. We asked to be moved as we realised there was a million steps to the pool & restaurant & was told sorry the bosses son is getting married and all the front is allocated for the family. After having a exhausting trip we ordered room service which took 2 hours + was waiting for my baby's milk when I rang reception I was told that I didn't provide my room number (which I did) so had to wait another half hour for the food & milk. After raining miserably which is no fault of the hotel and climbing a million steps b4 we realised all the lifts. we complained to the manager we just wanted to come home, he arranged for a beautiful fruit platter and a bottle of wine to our room. Which was lovely.
Food was amazing here every night there was something different. Waiters were slow to begin with but once they got to know u they were helpful. I did find that they reali do look after there own out there. Animation (what animation literally our night consists of eating ,1 drink then bed there was No entertainment for kids day/night was very disappointed even tho the animation man was there he would chase the blonde skirt in the day and drink at night. I'm only 27 and have a baby it was highly boring! The pool bars food was lovely to but not everything is all inclusive ie.. Named beers certain kebabs\foods. So even tho we was all inclusive not everything was free.
Had a great boat ride into bodrum which was 5TL each. Beach was cleaned every night but we did find glass on the beach on 2 occasions which is distressing for any mum. Would I go back no I wouldn't we payed just over a grand for the 3 of us and I would of rather have gone somewhere else. Beware we booked with olympic and had a nightmare with our transfers Even tho we payed for trasfer 2 & from the airport they came a hour early and we had to make our own way to the airport as they wouldnt wait and said we had to phone 2 days before to arrange transfer To hotel, if this was the case then why did they show up" i will pursue to get my money back on this! I'm not a moany person and love banter but I was bord the weather wasn't great and there was nothing to do then eat and sleep. company's shouldn't advertise hotel entertainment when there's not! Also they closed the pool the day we were leaving which wasn't good for new people arriving. & the ala cart chinese and italian was closed too! Out of season I would say this is more of a girls/boys or couples holiday and not for family. If you have children small in a buggy it's worth getting a pool view as u won't have far to go to restaurant and pool. We stayed in room 803. Was a treck with a baby/buggy!

Honest review.....but wouldn't go back!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Western Finland, Finland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed for 1 week here with my family including parents, 3 and 1 year-old children and grandmother. Tourist season was just about to end so the hotel wasn't very crowded. That was good because the outside areas are not very large but still there was room enough for the kids to run, play and "swim".

Restaurants were clean and food OK+. The main restaurant buffet had a good value for money and the number of choices and variation of the menus were satisfactory. We had all inclusive and used the main restaurant mainly for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was very good. In the main restaurant there were always an outside grill, too. There you could have specialties at dinner time and made-of-order omelettes at breakfast, among the other. We also used the beach restaurant/snack bar after kids woke up after the nap time. There you can have pizza, burgers, salad etc. Not very healthy :)

We had quite a small room, but it every room can be small wit the kids. We had a standard double room with a view to the sea and the extra for the view (80 e/week) is the only true choice! What a magnificent view! The balcony had two "compartments", one in the shadow and one in the sun.

Drinks: with all inclusive you can have unlimited soft drinks, (local) beer, wines, Raki-booze. International brands are available but they are very expensive. Local wines I usually had one class with the dinner, it is not so good. Well, I don't care because with the kids 1-2 alcohol drinks per day is my maximum. International wines are not available at all.

The hotel is good for just relax and enjoy. We tried massage and treatments at the spa and we recommend it for everyone. Bodrum marina and city center is reached by walking, taxi, bus or taxi boat. Please try taxi boat, 2,5 Euros per person and marvelous scenery.

One negative thing to be mentioned: We were disappointed that very many of the staff didn't know even the basics of the English language. If You work in the restaurant, you should learn words like spoon and fork! However, LOL for that, as always :)

Room Tip: Pay for the view, you won't regret that. During the high season they might be noisy because all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotelbuildings, surroundings, pool-area, beach, room - was impeccable. But the service...terrible, it needs improvment on all levels.

The check in took over 40 minutes, and than we found out that our room wasn´t ready ( this was past the check-in time). When we finally got the keys to the room we found out there was no sea-view that we had payed for, but as we travelled with a baby and the trip had taken long time we didn´t have the energy to ask for the new room, especially not since the experience during the check-in.

We stayed at the all-inclusive basis and the food was good, but once again, the service was very poor. During lunch and dinner the waiters are bringing drinks and this usually took forever. It constantly seemed as they were undermanned. I wouldn´t have mined to bring my own drinks, but that wasn´t possible during lunch and dinner.

Close boatride to Bodrum, don´t miss it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Having stayed at Salmakis for two weeks at the end of September begining of October we would like to say what a loverly hotel. We arrived about 2130 and when we walked into the reception area it was absolutely beautiful and spotlessly clean. The receptionist was very pleasant and arranged a porter to take our cases and show us to our room which overlooked the harbour. What a loverly sight at night. The room was a decent size and very clean, there was plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space but one drawback was the safety box which was at the very bottom of the wardrobe so you had to get on your hands and knees to access it (not good for elderly people). The bathroom was fine with clean towels every day, but could have done with a separate shelf to put things on, also the bath was very high which could also present problems for older people. Our room had twin beds which were pushed together, but only one person could read in bed as the main light was to one side instead of one both sides. Our balcony overlooked the pool area as well as the harbour. there were plenty of sun loungers and umbrella,s also beds. Also the pool was very clean. You got the usual problem of people putting towels on the loungers first thing in a morning but we never had a problem getting one. The pool towels were a bit past best but served the purpose. The restaurant was very clean and the selection of food was very good. The staff we found were also very good clearing the dirty dishes as soon as we had finished with them. And there was always someone with a brush and dustpan cleaning all over the hotel. Karem the restaurant and bar manager seems to have a good team under him and is not afraid to roll up his sleeves and help out when they are very busy, Whilst we were there they had a turkish wedding which went off without a problem, well done Karem. The water taxis to Bodrum were very reasonably priced 5tl and if you wanted a taxi from reception to Gumbet, (much more touristy) the receptionist would ring for you and a taxi would arrive within 5minutes, the fare 10tl which we thought was reasonable also the dolmas buses were very cheap.There were quite a few cats but they were no problem and the hotel looks after them through the winter months. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and the stairs did not present a problem as I used the lifts and my wife tended to use the stairs. We would recommed this hotel to anyone and would use it again.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just returned from a eight night stay and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms were kept very clean, the food was great, we stayed half board which provided ample choice but would possibly choose to stay full board if we returned. All of the staff were helpful and extremely hard working and the food and the pool and restaurant staff were always cheerful and happy to help at any occasion even after long shifts. The hotel is perfectly situated only a short boat-taxi away from Bodrum which is ideal for visiting but also far enough away to make the stay very relaxing. The Spa facilities which we used every day were excellent and again the staff here were always helpful and polite.
However, food needs to be more varied and better selection of fish and more sea foods need to be served. Juices at breakfast are not good. I found hard to have to pay for squeezed orange juice in Turkey and a spa resort. Bathrooms need a refreshment and lamps to be fixed in the suite. Technical team is not very efficient after any problems reported.
Overall great time and we would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salmakis Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmakis Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Eski Cesme Mah. Bardakci Koyu, Bodrum City, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bodrum City
#3 Spa Hotel in Bodrum City
#3 Business Hotel in Bodrum City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bodrum City
#6 Family Hotel in Bodrum City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Salmakis Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Salmakis Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salmakis Beach Resort And Spa
Salmakis Beach Hotel Bodrum
Salmakis Hotel Bodrum
Salmakis Bodrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salmakis Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.