We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room with no view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mavi Kumsal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mavi Kumsal to your Saves list
Hotel Mavi Kumsal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bardakci Koyu No 29, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 116 Hotels in Bodrum City
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“room with no view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked this hotel thru lastminute.com. The room was described as "Promo with View Room" but when we arrived we were so surprised to find that there was no view at all.
The shower did not drain properly and the water overflowed onto the bathroom floor. They sent a couple of plumbers and after half an hour they said the problem was fixed and left. To our horror they hadn't done anything; still, the water did not drain. We were offered a different room, but with exactly the same problem.
The wifi is not free and was completely useless...
But we didn't let all this spoil our holiday.
This hotel is set in magnificent surroundings. Beautiful landscapes and the sea view from the restaurant is breathtaking. The swimming pool is really nice and very clean. breakfast is buffet Turkish style which was good enough.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room with Sea View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    51
    29
    17
    25
See reviews for
25
60
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We've recently returned from a week at the Muvi Kumsal. Our first trip to Turkey. Hotel is in a stunning location and bigger than what I imagined. We had a sea view view room overlooking Bodrum bay. We loved sitting on the balcony watching all the activity in the bay. Our room was spacious and the friendly cleaner kept it spotless every day. She even made special shapes with the towells and laid them on the bed! Very efficient air conditioning. The pool is big and clean and also overlooks the bay. There are plenty of sun beds around the pool. I am a beach lover but at this hotel they have sun beds set in the rocks and you literally drop off your sun bed into the sea! There is a fridge in your room and there is no charge for using it, only if you take an expensive hotel drink out of it! The safe is also provided FOC. The other reviews are right, the reception staff are not at all friendly. They can understand English, they're just rude! You can always find something to eat in the restaurant but it is not of a very good standard I am afraid. There is a guy who cooks omlettes in front of you for breakfast and he makes delicious pancakes! In the evening they cook meat on an outdoor grilll. The drinks in the hotel bar are very expensive. Someone told us they were charged T Lira 46 for 2 vodka and cokes! This explains why we hardly ever saw anyone in it! There is no entertainment provided at the hotel which we found strange as they have the facilities. They should consider perhaps a Turkish night one evening. The hotel sits on a headland and the hill to the main road is known amongst the tourists as cardiac hill! There's nothing at the top of it anyway, the area is a little remote.The boat taxis run all the time from the hotel jetty into Bodrum from 8 in the morning until midnight and cost 5 T Lira each but it's an extremely novel way off getting into Bodrum and it only takes 5 minutes. We loved Bodrum. The people are very friendly and the Bazarr is quite an experience. You can haggle and unlike a Turkish market we visited they are not too pushy. There are a lot of restaurants in Bodrum and it can be pretty expensive. The hotel is situated halfway between Gumbet and Bodrum. You press a button outside the hotel and a taxi comes down the hill within seconds. It's cheaper in Gumbet but we found it tacky. Lots of come into my restaurant, come into my shop! If you sit outside you have to listen to the loud music being played by all the other bars and restaurants! Bodrum beach is very small but you can have a sun bed for as long as you want at no charge. Each restaurant behind the beach has its own beach patch but they don't pester you. They bring a drink or something to eat to you on your sun bed! We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Bodrum. High thirties every day. Had a lovely relaxing time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Have read reviews of Andrea P and Kevin R -. I largely agree. Hotel has great views , really good pool , buffet supper was wxcellent and good room for me . I disagree about the water taxi , at 5TL the trip to / from Bodrum harbour , specially at night time was an experience in itself -and I used whenever possible. Shame about the reception staff who were not English fluent - were not prepared to be at all helpful and in my experience I had to be very persistent to get them to be helpful. Perhaps if you are German or can directly communicate then there my be no problem.
My tip If the communication / reception is better than at least 4 stars or even an Excellent review.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed recently with my boyfriend. The hotel was ok, certainly not 4star. The hotel staff were really quite ignorant and very unhelpful. They claimed they couldnt understand what we were saying and when we tried to explain they just shrugged their shoulders and walked away. They couldnt even tell us about the taxi boat that picked people up outside their hotel. We were also one of only two English speaking couples in the hotel. We had to have maintenance on the first day our electrics kept tripping out, the maintenance guy just cut a wire ! not sure it was very safe but it did the trick. A TIP for anyone staying at the Mavi - the boat trip into Bodrum which takes 5 minutes or less is 5 euros each so really quite expensive and Bodrum is VERY expensive to eat out and drink. We only ventured into Bodrum one evening the remainder of the holiday we got a taxi into Gumet which was about 8 euro in a taxi and a much more pleasant experience. TIP - Outside the hotel there is a little guards box with a red button on the outside - press this and a taxi will pick you up immediately. We personally would never stay at this hotel again nor would we recommend it to friends !

Room Tip: if you have an aversion to steps of which there are many - dont stay in rooms around 410 - there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was concerned about booking this hotel given all of the negative reports about the hotel. My travel agent assured me that trip advisor reviews should not be taken seriously and they had received no poor reports.
On arrival lots of unlit stairs to the accommodation without handrails . Room was ok but not with the sea view promised. Fantastic views from the pool over Bodrum Harbour and the sea taxis were fantastic straight from the hotel.
The hotel boasts 10 minute walk to Bodrum centre but it is around 10 minutes taxi ride which makes walking around 1 hour once you have negotiated a 400 metre 1 in 4 climb to the main road from the hotel.
Food was very disappointing so we ate out most nights having paid for half board. Forget breakfast unless you enjoy bread,meat,cheese and salad first thing in the morning.
Very little English spoken but not too much of a problem
Would not return as no atmosphere and not very friendly staff.
Be aware that all drinks and extra food are charged to your credit card on departure.

Room Tip: All rooms do face the sea but you need to ensure that your view is not obscured by concrete building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This Hotel has the potential to be a 'great' holiday destination - as it is, it is a 'good' destination.

The location, over looking the bay with great views, is a real asset. The rooms are adequate but not luxurious. It has a great full sized pool with plenty of sun lounges and terraces and steps down to the sea which is clear and clean.

We stayed here on a bed and breakfast basis. Taking a water taxi from the hotel jetty (5TL) into the harbour for dinner was a romantic start to the evening. It takes about 5 mins and you get a great view of Bodrum and the castle as you come into the harbour.

The reception staff are unhelpful and apathetic. The waiting staff by the pool and in the breakfast room were friendly enough but not too efficient.

The breakfast buffet had all the usual stuff - breads, fruit, cereals etc. etc. and a man cooking omelettes or pancakes.

The food in the pool side cafe is good basic fare with pizzas (Italian and Turkish) being made from scratch in the pizza oven.

If you are expecting European standards for a 4 star plus hotel then you will be disappointed but if you can shift your mindset and accept that Turkish four star service is not quite the same then this hotel will give you a great base for your holiday in Bodrum.





If you

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for a see view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We passed one week, and big problem from the very first moment. AC not functional in the room and the answer: "Look, if you want, open the window!" 40 degrees outside...
No English, bed smell in the room, food served the samefor 3 consecutives days (ex: fried frosen fish) and in our opinion, expensive (40TL). They clean the room only if they feel that they are going to be paied by you. In one week, they never changed the sheets.
Very good placement but no beach. Good possibility to take the small boat over the wooden bridge, serving as the "Beach", in the mean time.
The owner, provocative and arrogant.

Room Tip: Ask to be served by Husein. The only professional person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mavi Kumsal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mavi Kumsal

Address: Bardakci Koyu No 29, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Bodrum City
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mavi Kumsal 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mavi Kumsal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavi Kumsal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mavi Kumsal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.